We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite hotel in Columbus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Columbus Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Columbus Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast!
Ranked #3 of 139 hotels in Columbus
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Favorite hotel in Columbus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I am a hardcore Starwood member and I usually stay at the Westin...however I stayed here with my mother for Christmas and I must admit I was quite impressed. At check-in I was immediately greeted with smiles from all of the staff that I encountered. I loved the lavender blouses and belts worn by the female staff. It makes them look so fashionable and unique. The decor though out the entire hotel is very urban chic and sophisticated. I was pleasantly surprised by the Peter Thomas Roth products and the painting on the ceiling. The whirlpool was gorgeous because it illuminates from the bottom. For breakfast we dined in the restaurant and the lemon pancake with fruit compote was absolutely delicious!! During this stay I opened up a Hilton honors account and and extended our stay. In the future I will consider staying at more Hilton hotels in addition to Starwood hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
How wonderful! We look forward to many return visits! Your feedback particularly regarding the attentive service you enjoyed and breakfast in Gallerie are sincerely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    106
    26
    7
    6
See reviews for
90
96
17
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pickerington, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This new Hilton proprety is ideally located downtown. The rooms are cofmortable and well appointed and the bed is the most comfortable I have ever experienced in a hotel. Perhaps the best part of the Hotel is the Galeria Bar and Bistro. The food and the service excellent. Be sure to try the Amish Chicken which is the most moist cheicken breast I have ever had. Congrats to Hilton for opening an outstanding property that is very well managed

Room Tip: This was our second stay and both times we chose the one-bedroom suite. Well worth it. The bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for the note. While we appreciate all feedback, we certainly do enjoy the compliments all that much more! Gallerie Bar & Bistro was just featured by “Columbus Monthly” in their story on Best New Restaurants in Central Ohio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed last night at the Hilton. I have found my go to place in Columbus. Staff were amazingly friendly and had great senses of humor, rooms are outstanding; I had a king suite and cannot say enough about it. Breakfast was great all the way to valet having my car ready as soon as I checked out. Great job on this hotel and great location!! I will be back

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you! Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our family stayed one night at this brand new property just before Christmas. We loved the modern and very classy atmosphere. Each and every associate was very welcoming and helpful. Our teenagers enjoyed the HBO movies (a nice change to not have to pay for the movies!) and next next morning we all enjoyed the workout room and the pool and hot tub. Breakfast service was a bit slow, but I think everyone was eating at the same time! This evening before we really enjoyed happy hour at the beautiful bar - the food was outstanding, very unique and perfectly prepared.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your note and glad you enjoyed your stay. Your kind and gracious compliments of the staff are sincerely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Columbus was in need of a new hotel. Although the Hilton is still working out some bugs from being new, it is by far the nicest hotel in town (not that there is much competition). I look forward to when it is 100% open and the amenities on the Hhonors floor is fully operational.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for the note. Yes, we are still completing the HHonors Lounge and the coffee shop but getting there! Look forward to your feedback following your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Excellent hotel. Nice facilities. Room was one of the best appointed and best "functionally designed" rooms I've had in a long time. Plenty of electrical outlets.

Staff was courteous and helpful. Made you feel at home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for the note and glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was not impressed my first time here, but thank goodness for second impressions. I try not to write Hilton hotel reviews, being that I am a Hilton employee, but I was so impressed on my second stay at the hotel that I had to comment about it. The hotel is very beautiful, chic, and modern. The decor looks like like something out of an interior decorating magazine. I normally don't like staying at full service hotels, any brand, because the staff usually is not that friendly. That is not the case here. Anything I needed they supplied. Staff was very friendly and always greeted you which is very important to me and the gentlemen were well groomed(even the bellmen). Sure it was a little more expensive than the some of the other hotels, but I'd say it was worth it and the fact that it is located with in walking distance of the Arena District and the Short North Area. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Great job, guys! ONE NOTE THOUGH: if you use a delivery service for food do not use D.P. Dough. The worst service ever, ghetto is the word that comes to mind and the food gave me the runs. Their service of this pizza place does not align to the image and service of the Hilton Columbus Downtown. ANOTHER NOTE: If you don't have a car and don't want to walk North High Street, the #2 runs frequently as is $2 each way.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a view. My room was facing a brick wall. Not that I'm complaining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your note and glad you enjoyed your stay. Indeed I am most fortunate to work with such a team of service-oriented professionals. I also appreciate your feedback on the outside pizza delivery. I am sorry you didn’t completely enjoy your first visit but see it was just shortly after we opened. The team has made remarkable strides as we mature and become more familiar with the building which takes some time. I am confused about the heading, however. It appears you were impressed with the hotel and the staff. Any way of correcting that as it is a bit misleading? Thank you and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Columbus Downtown

Also Known As:
Hilton Columbus Downtown Ohio
Address: 401 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#2 Business Hotel in Columbus
#8 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Columbus Downtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Columbus Downtown offers a contemporary presence in the eclectic urban hub of Columbus, reflecting the spirit and energy of the area and is within walking distance to over 300 dining and entertainment venues. The hotel features a stunning art collection comprised of over 150 original pieces by Central Ohio artists. The artwork is displayed in function space, guest rooms and public areas of the hotel—it sparks the imagination while enhancing a distinctive cultural experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Columbus Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.