We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Columbus Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Columbus Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WiFi & Breakfast for 4!
Ranked #3 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed last night at the Hilton. I have found my go to place in Columbus. Staff were amazingly friendly and had great senses of humor, rooms are outstanding; I had a king suite and cannot say enough about it. Breakfast was great all the way to valet having my car ready as soon as I checked out. Great job on this hotel and great location!! I will be back

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you! Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    135
    37
    10
    7
See reviews for
117
128
21
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our family stayed one night at this brand new property just before Christmas. We loved the modern and very classy atmosphere. Each and every associate was very welcoming and helpful. Our teenagers enjoyed the HBO movies (a nice change to not have to pay for the movies!) and next next morning we all enjoyed the workout room and the pool and hot tub. Breakfast service was a bit slow, but I think everyone was eating at the same time! This evening before we really enjoyed happy hour at the beautiful bar - the food was outstanding, very unique and perfectly prepared.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your note and glad you enjoyed your stay. Your kind and gracious compliments of the staff are sincerely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Columbus was in need of a new hotel. Although the Hilton is still working out some bugs from being new, it is by far the nicest hotel in town (not that there is much competition). I look forward to when it is 100% open and the amenities on the Hhonors floor is fully operational.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for the note. Yes, we are still completing the HHonors Lounge and the coffee shop but getting there! Look forward to your feedback following your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Excellent hotel. Nice facilities. Room was one of the best appointed and best "functionally designed" rooms I've had in a long time. Plenty of electrical outlets.

Staff was courteous and helpful. Made you feel at home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for the note and glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was not impressed my first time here, but thank goodness for second impressions. I try not to write Hilton hotel reviews, being that I am a Hilton employee, but I was so impressed on my second stay at the hotel that I had to comment about it. The hotel is very beautiful, chic, and modern. The decor looks like like something out of an interior decorating magazine. I normally don't like staying at full service hotels, any brand, because the staff usually is not that friendly. That is not the case here. Anything I needed they supplied. Staff was very friendly and always greeted you which is very important to me and the gentlemen were well groomed(even the bellmen). Sure it was a little more expensive than the some of the other hotels, but I'd say it was worth it and the fact that it is located with in walking distance of the Arena District and the Short North Area. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Great job, guys! ONE NOTE THOUGH: if you use a delivery service for food do not use D.P. Dough. The worst service ever, ghetto is the word that comes to mind and the food gave me the runs. Their service of this pizza place does not align to the image and service of the Hilton Columbus Downtown. ANOTHER NOTE: If you don't have a car and don't want to walk North High Street, the #2 runs frequently as is $2 each way.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a view. My room was facing a brick wall. Not that I'm complaining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your note and glad you enjoyed your stay. Indeed I am most fortunate to work with such a team of service-oriented professionals. I also appreciate your feedback on the outside pizza delivery. I am sorry you didn’t completely enjoy your first visit but see it was just shortly after we opened. The team has made remarkable strides as we mature and become more familiar with the building which takes some time. I am confused about the heading, however. It appears you were impressed with the hotel and the staff. Any way of correcting that as it is a bit misleading? Thank you and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Beautiful new hotel. Rooms were comfortable with wonderful pillows. Staff was very friendly and always offering to help and say hello. Meeting rooms were very nice. Decor of hotel, rooms, meeting rooms and common areas was outstanding. Two small complaints: As usual, the more expensive the hotel the fewer the services. For $200 a night you should get wifi in your room like they do at a Comfort Inn. Also, the heat in our room did not work well. With the fan setting at "Lo" or "auto" it continuously blew cool air in our faces while in bed. Had to get up twice in the middle of the night and finally had to turn "off" to stop it. Should work better at a brand new hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comment on the heating system and sorry we did not have an opportunity to address it during your stay. We are still adjusting and tweaking new systems. We also do provide complimentary wifi service within all public areas of the hotel including the Hilton Connectivity Station on the second floor which features four terminals and printing free for guest use though there is a charge for the convenience of in-room connection. We sincerely appreciate your kind words regarding the attentive service from our team members and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband surprised me with an overnight stay for New Year's Eve at this beautiful hotel. All the staff from the valet and front desk personnel to the servers and bartenders in the onsite restaurant are very attentive and super friendly.
This is not your typical cookie cutter convention hotel. The design and decor of all the public areas makes it stand out. The collection of artwork is outstanding.
I loved that the guest rooms have more of a boutique feel, like a W or an Andaz but half the cost. These rooms would be great for a longer stay. There are plenty of drawers for storage including drawers under the window seat which is a nice touch.
The Gallerie Bar and Restaurant on the 2nd floor has wonderful, inventive cuisine and a very nice wine list. We also had the breakfast buffet and it was good as well with cooked to order options in addition to the standard buffet fare.
This place is great for a romantic staycation and I would love to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay. We are honored to be part of the New Year’s Eve activities in the Short North and bring a new destination dining option to the neighborhood. Gallerie Bar & Bistro has just been recognized by “Columbus Monthly” as one of the best new restaurants! We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Columbus Downtown

Address: 401 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#2 Business Hotel in Columbus
#4 Family Hotel in Columbus
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Columbus Downtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Columbus Downtown offers a contemporary presence in the eclectic urban hub of Columbus, reflecting the spirit and energy of the area and is within walking distance to over 300 dining and entertainment venues. The hotel features a stunning art collection comprised of over 150 original pieces by Central Ohio artists. The artwork is displayed in function space, guest rooms and public areas of the hotel—it sparks the imagination while enhancing a distinctive cultural experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Columbus Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Columbus Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.