We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Columbus Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Columbus Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WiFi & Breakfast for 4!
Ranked #3 of 141 hotels in Columbus
Lakewood, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was not impressed my first time here, but thank goodness for second impressions. I try not to write Hilton hotel reviews, being that I am a Hilton employee, but I was so impressed on my second stay at the hotel that I had to comment about it. The hotel is very beautiful, chic, and modern. The decor looks like like something out of an interior decorating magazine. I normally don't like staying at full service hotels, any brand, because the staff usually is not that friendly. That is not the case here. Anything I needed they supplied. Staff was very friendly and always greeted you which is very important to me and the gentlemen were well groomed(even the bellmen). Sure it was a little more expensive than the some of the other hotels, but I'd say it was worth it and the fact that it is located with in walking distance of the Arena District and the Short North Area. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Great job, guys! ONE NOTE THOUGH: if you use a delivery service for food do not use D.P. Dough. The worst service ever, ghetto is the word that comes to mind and the food gave me the runs. Their service of this pizza place does not align to the image and service of the Hilton Columbus Downtown. ANOTHER NOTE: If you don't have a car and don't want to walk North High Street, the #2 runs frequently as is $2 each way.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a view. My room was facing a brick wall. Not that I'm complaining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your note and glad you enjoyed your stay. Indeed I am most fortunate to work with such a team of service-oriented professionals. I also appreciate your feedback on the outside pizza delivery. I am sorry you didn’t completely enjoy your first visit but see it was just shortly after we opened. The team has made remarkable strides as we mature and become more familiar with the building which takes some time. I am confused about the heading, however. It appears you were impressed with the hotel and the staff. Any way of correcting that as it is a bit misleading? Thank you and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    406
    127
    33
    10
    8
See reviews for
114
119
19
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Beautiful new hotel. Rooms were comfortable with wonderful pillows. Staff was very friendly and always offering to help and say hello. Meeting rooms were very nice. Decor of hotel, rooms, meeting rooms and common areas was outstanding. Two small complaints: As usual, the more expensive the hotel the fewer the services. For $200 a night you should get wifi in your room like they do at a Comfort Inn. Also, the heat in our room did not work well. With the fan setting at "Lo" or "auto" it continuously blew cool air in our faces while in bed. Had to get up twice in the middle of the night and finally had to turn "off" to stop it. Should work better at a brand new hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comment on the heating system and sorry we did not have an opportunity to address it during your stay. We are still adjusting and tweaking new systems. We also do provide complimentary wifi service within all public areas of the hotel including the Hilton Connectivity Station on the second floor which features four terminals and printing free for guest use though there is a charge for the convenience of in-room connection. We sincerely appreciate your kind words regarding the attentive service from our team members and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband surprised me with an overnight stay for New Year's Eve at this beautiful hotel. All the staff from the valet and front desk personnel to the servers and bartenders in the onsite restaurant are very attentive and super friendly.
This is not your typical cookie cutter convention hotel. The design and decor of all the public areas makes it stand out. The collection of artwork is outstanding.
I loved that the guest rooms have more of a boutique feel, like a W or an Andaz but half the cost. These rooms would be great for a longer stay. There are plenty of drawers for storage including drawers under the window seat which is a nice touch.
The Gallerie Bar and Restaurant on the 2nd floor has wonderful, inventive cuisine and a very nice wine list. We also had the breakfast buffet and it was good as well with cooked to order options in addition to the standard buffet fare.
This place is great for a romantic staycation and I would love to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay. We are honored to be part of the New Year’s Eve activities in the Short North and bring a new destination dining option to the neighborhood. Gallerie Bar & Bistro has just been recognized by “Columbus Monthly” as one of the best new restaurants! We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very nice, new hotel located by the convention center and just south of the Short North area. The decor and green technology were super cool. I would definitely recommend this hotel to other visitors.

Room Tip: Get a exterior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for the nice note!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I was staying @ the Hyatt &this chic sexy hilton opens the same weekend great bar food &location. I'll be back in February so will stay there with my honors pions. Loved the location to restaurants bars & attractions!

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We look forward to your return in February! The Gallerie Bar & Bistro has burst into the Columbus dining scene with rave reviews and was just featured as a Best New Restaurant by "Columbus Monthly."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed with my husband at the Hilton Columbus Downtown from Friday December 28 - Sunday December 30, 2012. This is a brand new hotel that just opened in October 2012. Our room was beautiful but a little on the small side. We had a room that opened onto the inner portion of the hotel. You may want to request a room with windows to the outside for a better view. We could see directly across into the other rooms! In addition, the bathroom did not have an exhaust fan nor did the very large shower have a bench. Our king bed was extremely comfortable and had several different pillows from which to choose.

Breakfast buffet was $18 and was nothing exceptional--you could have eggs and omelets cooked to order. Internet was also extra unless you are a higher level Hilton Rewards Member (I am Blue) and of course parking is extra. On the positive side, this hotel is located within walking distance of many bars, restaurants, the Arena Grand Movie Theater, Nationwide Arena, Huntington Park and the North Market. My husband and I ate at Rodizio Grill-The Brazilian Steakhouse, visited the North Market and walked to the Arena Grand Theater. It snowed the weekend we were there and I can say that the sidewalks in the area were nicely plowed!

The staff that we encountered were very professional and helpful. However, we were away from our room for about five hours on Saturday late morning/afternoon and when we returned our room had not been cleaned. Within 10 minutes of our return a card was slipped under our door saying they could not clean our room because it was not available. I was a bit disappointed by this.

I would definitely recommend this hotel because it is beautiful, new and clean with a wonderful location that allows you to be within walking distance of much of what downtown Columbus offers.

Room Tip: Ask for an exterior view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your note and glad you enjoyed your stay. While there is not an exhaust fan switch, all bathrooms have a centralized exhaust system exiting to the roof that is part of the overall hotel ventilation system and should not be noticeable if working properly. Housekeeping will not enter a room with a “do not disturb” hanger on the door, but if this was not the case, my sincerest apologies and appreciate you bringing it to our attention. Of course, there should be daily housekeeping service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the new Hilton Columbus Downtown for one night. The hotel is gorgeous. The lobby is sleek and welcoming, with great artwork everywhere we looked. Due to my husband's diamond status, we were upgraded to a suite, which was great - in addition to the standard bedroom/bathroom, there was a sitting room and an extra half bath. The decor in the room was very contemporary, with several pieces of art from local artists. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The bathroom was large, and I loved the shower. Because the hotel is so new, everything just seems really clean and fresh.

We had some drinks and a cheese plate down at the bar - and even though it wasn't really publicized anywhere, when we got our bill we were thrilled to find out that it was happy hour and prices were half off! All drinks, and all appetizers and half off (I think from 4 until 7?), which is great! I would just recommend publicizing it somewhere. The next morning, we ate at the breakfast buffet, which was very good.

The location of the hotel is perfect. It's just across from the convention center and right next to the North Market. You're within steps of some of the best dining Columbus has to offer, and within blocks from tons more. The amazing location, the beautiful rooms with an emphasis on local art, the sleek and modern decor, and the freshness that comes along with being brand new, all combine to make the Hilton Columbus Downtown the nicest hotel in downtown Columbus. We will certainly be back the next time we're looking for a hometown getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write of your recent stay. We were honored to be your host and glad you enjoyed your stay. We have been trying out a number of ideas in the restaurant and now that we have begun to lock in on the specifics will start promoting more internally as well as externally. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Columbus Downtown

Address: 401 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Columbus
#2 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#4 Family Hotel in Columbus
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Columbus Downtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Columbus Downtown offers a contemporary presence in the eclectic urban hub of Columbus, reflecting the spirit and energy of the area and is within walking distance to over 300 dining and entertainment venues. The hotel features a stunning art collection comprised of over 150 original pieces by Central Ohio artists. The artwork is displayed in function space, guest rooms and public areas of the hotel—it sparks the imagination while enhancing a distinctive cultural experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Columbus Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Columbus Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;