We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, fresh, and a great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Columbus Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Columbus Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Rates
Ranked #3 of 141 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Modern, fresh, and a great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

I stay in hotels frequently for business travel and have to say this was a very nice stay. The feeling of a car, home, or clothes comes to mind. As soon as you walk in you can feel the fresh carpet and can smell that unique brand new scent. Attention to detail was impressive and quality materials and furnishings throughout. I

I self parked in the parking garage. It was not crowded and and getting to the hotel was simple, safe, and quick. I chose the stairs and went two levels down to street level and took a covered walkway less than thirty feet to enter the hotel. There is a small fee to park and you need to let the staff know if you plan on leaving and returning frequently during your stay to keep charges to a minimum.

I stayed on the tenth floor in a corner suite over looking downtown Columbus. Great views and made the room feel larger. Not all rooms have the great view, however I noticed most rooms on the interior had a view of the restaurant and lobby area via a wide open center atrium of the hotel.

The room was clean, comfortable, and had a traditional/modern feel to it. Beautiful decor and plenty of room for business or pleasure. Great value for the current rates.

I only had one night here so just had the breakfast buffet. Food was fresh and the service was excellent.

Definitely will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColumbus, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. While we appreciate all feedback, we certainly enjoy the complements all that much more! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    203
    63
    14
    9
See reviews for
167
191
36
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
PORTSMOUTH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Perfect location, brand new, excellent staff and service, good food....what more does one need? If you stay anywhere else in Columbus you have lost an experience. Large convention and banquet space as well as a fine restaurant.

Room Tip: All rooms very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColumbus, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I couldn't agree more! Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Location is right downtown and very convenient. The building is State of the Art when it comes to "going green", style and decor. The art work through the entire building was amazing. I was there for a convention and our meals were very good. The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Another reviewer commented on extra costs...I have stayed in many downtown hotels in other cities and you have to pay for Wifi, Parking, Breakfast, etc. I think this is expected in downtown cities. The one thing that I would critcize is being able to get a good night's sleep. In spite of down comforters and pillows, there is an air return that never shuts off all night. I woke up at 2:30 a.m. and could not go back to sleep due to the loud blowing noise from the air return duct. There is a convention center across the street with some construction going on and the construction noise that started early morning added to my not going back to sleep. I don't know if this is typical of all of the rooms or if we had a broken air return because I chose not to say anything to management.

Room Tip: There are rooms that face the indoor courtyard and those that face outside. Some outside rooms face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColumbus, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write of your recent experience. We were honored to host your group. I apologize that you did not get a good night’s sleep; certainly not our goal. Our HVAC system provides guest complete control of the heating, cooling and fan options. Sounds like something was not working properly and regret we did not have the opportunity to address it immediately. There is still some construction going on in the area both across the street at the convention center and next door at the new park; both projects should be completed very shortly. Yes, urban hotels due tend to charge for extras such as parking and wifi in order to contain our costs and provide competitive pricing. As not all guests utilize these additional services, you only pay for the ones used. The prices charged for these additional services are quite competitive for the market and appreciate your understanding of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This neat hotel is brand new, and the staff is making it a wonderful experience. I stayed there last month, and I really liked how new and fresh everything is. The decor is modern and very pleasing. The beds are sooooooooooo comfortable. My job has me traveling a lot, and these were the MOST comfortable hotel beds ever.

Room Tip: The market across the street from the hotel has so many options for food, go check it out. Everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColumbus, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write of your recent experience. While we appreciate all feedback, certainly we enjoy the compliments all that much more! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here three nights on business. The rooms are brand new, very modern. I had a room facing the parking garage which was sunny and had a huge window. The modern lighting, plenty of outlets for all the stuff I needed to plug in and very comfy bed. The desk was very nicely laid out and functional. Close to LOTS of restaurants. Parking is $17/day selfpark or about $25 for valet parking. I only had two complaints: the conference rooms were FREEZING, and the entire conference area has TERRIBLE cellular coverage. The meeting rooms were DEADZONES and ran all of our smart phones dead searching for service. You could stand near the windows in the front to "catch" a cell, but that was it. Otherwise a GREAT experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColumbus, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincerest apologies for any difficulties. The state of the art heating/cooling system provides infinite adjustment possibilities both from the central system and by the meeting planner within the room. I regret that we were not aware of the problem so that an immediate adjustment could be made though sometimes meeting planners like the room on the cool side. We recognize that there is poor cell coverage on the lower levels and have been working with the carriers to improve their signals which regretfully is not within our ability to control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

OK, maybe because it's new. Or because I was upgraded to a suite and might have been the first to stay in the suite. Or the location, great service (high fives staff as I checked out :)...etc. that make this one of my favorite hotel stays in a very long time. VERY nice touch with the local art, including on the key card!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColumbus, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. While we appreciate all feedback, certainly we enjoy the compliments all that much more. We have just finished installing a web based app that will provide a tour of the art collection and further details about each piece. Be sure to come back and give it a try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I cynically stayed here for a few nights they've only been open for 2 weeks really clean and comfy modern and cozy hotel the beds were great I will say ask for a pillow menu and get a pillow that suits u I don't like the feather pillows but that's just me the bathroom is fresh n sleek n really clean n new huge TVs great for watching a movie .. I will say room service is really expensive I'm my opinion u just can't go wrong with dominos haha


Jus a little side note the rooms are a tad bit small but perfect for a couple or couple n child


Really great


Also it's n a great spot around a lot of night life restraunts and bars lots to do at night within walking distance it is a bit expensive in terms of parking and almost 30% total in tax all includes for anything off the menu too much if u ask me but everything else was amazing and the nightly rates I believe are really well priced ... Definitely suggest this to anyone visiting Columbus .. Check out my pictures I tried to take a lot n show everyone how the hotel is and all it had to offer...


Hope u like the review don't forget to click like if ya do... As always safe happy travels ... :D

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColumbus, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write of your recent stay and for sharing your pictures. As part of the Hilton Bed, all rooms include Firm, soft and hypoallergenic (in the closet) pillows. I agree that the hotel is situated right in the middle of everything including the Short North, North Market, Arena District and downtown. We continue to add details everyday and so glad you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
2.5 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#1 of 141 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#31 of 141 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
1.1 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#61 of 141 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Columbus Downtown

Address: 401 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Columbus
#2 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#2 Family Hotel in Columbus
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Columbus Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Columbus Downtown offers a contemporary presence in the eclectic urban hub of Columbus, reflecting the spirit and energy of the area and is within walking distance to over 300 dining and entertainment venues. The hotel features a stunning art collection comprised of over 150 original pieces by Central Ohio artists. The artwork is displayed in function space, guest rooms and public areas of the hotel—it sparks the imagination while enhancing a distinctive cultural experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Columbus Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Columbus Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.