We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did its job” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Columbus OSU

Motel 6 Columbus OSU
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Motel 6 Columbus OSU to your Saves list
Motel 6 Columbus OSU
750 Morse Rd, Columbus, OH 43229   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Did its job”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while attending a music festival nearby.

The Bad:
First thing I noticed was the mounted lights were "plugged" into AC with bare wire. Not a good sign.. The air conditioner didn't work well. Set it at 60, slept all night with no blankets. We had no shower curtain, and toilet had trouble flushing. We had two TVs, but only one worked. Railroad ran directly behind the motel causing a little trouble sleeping at night.

The Good:
No bed bugs (in our room at least)
Indoor plumbing
Cheap

Overall, the motel did it's job.. Gave us a place to crash at night for cheap. Not very clean and the guy in the lobby wasn't the most friendly guy I've ever met.

Would I stay here again? ONLY in a pinch. Next time around, I'll opt for paying a lite more a night. I don't know how this place stays open. Other than the price and location, not much to write home about.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
1
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Amazing loved this place.People was very freindly and so helpful.Loved this Motel.Motel 6 is my favorite motel to stay at when I'm traveling or just trying to have fun with my family.Must stay at this Motel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

That rating should be considered a negative one. First of all, the motel really is not close to OSU. The neighborhood is not pleasant at all. Please understand that I am not terribly picky as long as the room is clean and I feel safe. Well neither of those was true. The bed spreads were disgusting and the floor was dirty. There were other issues as well. The AC unit was set at 60 degrees and barely worked which was a major issue because it was in the 90's during the week. The toilet did not work very well either as it took multiple flushes to work. I barely slept as I was concerned about my car in the parking lot and wondering if there were bed bugs (I do not think there were any thankfully.) Needless to say I was very disappointed in this motel. I had hoped with the new renovations it would be a good, affordable place. Spend the extra money to stay somewhere safer and cleaner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Nice enough hotel that is inexpensive and refurbished. BUT, it sets within 50 feet of a set of railroad tracks and the windows rattled most of the night from the train traffic. Won't make that mistake again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed in this property about year and half ago. When I entered in the room...I was surprise with the wood flooring, new bed, drapes and room was very clean. It was great room for the money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Having stayed at the Americas Best Value Inn next door last time I was in this area, I decided to try Motel 6 this trip. Not expecting much since this is a questionable after dark, I was extremely surprised to find brand new rooms! From new "imitation" wood floors, to new beds, drapes, furniture, I was stunned not knowing that this will become Motel 6's new look. The only thing I found wrong with the room was the bathroom door didn't close (too large for the door-frame). Oh-yea, the TV remote didn't work either, but it was gross....didn't really want to touch it anyway!

As for the exterior of the motel, I hope they have some plans for that as well. You can't have new rooms with a marginally maintained exterior. Paint is needed, especially on the stairs. During my stay, the rear parking lot had a dumpster filled with old mattresses and a shipping container both of which work crews utilize during the day as they refurbish the rooms. Both were an eyesore, but I'm sure it’s only until the construction is finished.

Next door to the Motel 6 is an out-of-business restaurant, homeless people seem to live or hang out behind it. Although it didn't bother me since you can't see that property from the Motel 6 due to bushes/trees, I did happen to catch some unclean individuals cutting through the motel's parking lot. However, they kept to themselves and went on their way.

All in all, I would stay here again. I'd recommend it to anyone on a budget. For those who have not been to this area in Columbus in a while, this is the former Red Roof Inn motel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

I arrived around 3am and they did not have my reservation! That was fine because the desk clerk that I spoke with through the bulletproof glass told me that he could get me in. I get to the room and there is no Security latch on the door! It appeared to be ripped off by someone. The clerk gets bulletproof glass and I cannot get a security latch for the door.

To make matters worse, the room was not very clean and I called the desk and the guy says I will have somebody look at that over the next few days.

I woke up a few hours later to come to find that they or place next door have people living there. Not safe, Not clean, Not worth your money.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everyhing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Columbus OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Columbus OSU

Address: 750 Morse Rd, Columbus, OH 43229
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 Columbus OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Columbus
Motel 6 Columbus OSU Ohio
Columbus Motel Six
Columbus Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Columbus OSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.