We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Columbus Commons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Columbus

Downtown Columbus
Columbus, OH
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 216 things to do in Columbus
Attraction details
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Columbus Commons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We went to Columbus Commons which is a park in downtown Columbus. We took our granddaughter for a kids day and free movie night. We paid $5.00 for the bounce houses and other activities. It was wonderful. It was hard to believe it was in the middle of downtown. Parking is easy in the garage right next to the park, it was only $5.00 also. She enjoyed it very much. We of course ate at the pizza place and ice cream place right on the grounds. Both were very good.
The weather was great which made it even more enjoyable. My only complaint has nothing to do with the park or the staff handling the event. It is directed to all the visitors - pick up after yourselves, don't just leave your trash for others to pick up. We did not stay for the free movie but only because our granddaughter was ready to go home.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    10
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“We are almost there.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Downtown Columbus will never be a New York or Chicago but lots of changes have been made over the last five years. There are two downtown parks where there are constant activities and concerts planned. I love to walk around the Scioto Mile, a park by the riverfront. The park has a resident restaurant, Milestone 229. Food is pretty good but the scenery is even better. There is also the Columbus Commons but it is covered in construction currently. It has less activity than normal.There are plenty of places to dine all over downtown. One of my favorite places to eat is De Novo. If you are coming to visit, the State Capitol Building does tours all week. If you run out of things to do, downtown isn't far from the Short North where there are even more restaurants and places to shop.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Miss Columbus OHio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Woww my kids were born there, i miss easton mall, all the parks areas where you can walk and play.
If you go must Visit the museum, easton mall, downtown, pig iron restaurant, parks and more.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Top Contributor
1,510 reviews 1,510 reviews
422 attraction reviews
Reviews in 357 cities Reviews in 357 cities
666 helpful votes 666 helpful votes
“Nice Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The downtown Columbus area is a very nice place to spend some time. We based ourselves here for a long weekend last year and discovered a nice, though somewhat quiet, place for a fun retreat. There are several shops and restaurants in this area though it was surprising how little was happening in the core downtown district on the weekend (we were there during colder weather which may have had something to do with that observation). We were within walking distance of the North Market (to our north) and the German Village to the South. There were also a handful attractions to which we could walk including the State House and the Art Museum. We greatly enjoyed our visit to the downtown area. It was clean and relatively safe to wander about. The major observation I could make is that this area has quite a lot of potential yet to exploit. I look forward to what this community will do in the future. This is definitely the nicest city in Ohio.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Terribly underrated...So much to see & do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Columbus has such a clean & beautiful downtown area. Along with the historic sites, there are also numerous new attractions as well as ongoing development.

Check out the State House, Supreme Court (free tours), the Columbus Commons park with concerts & food truck fairs, the Scioto Mile, COSI, see the Clippers play at The Huntington Park, or the Blue Jackets at Nationwide Arena...don't forget the gorgeous venues such as the Palace, Great Southern, or Ohio Theatre (which plays classic films on the majestic screen in the summer).

Whew! That's just the beginning! I haven't even touched on the great eateries all around, nor the various Districts (German Village, Brewery District, Arena District, Short North, Victorian, Italian & then of course all that the OSU campus area has to offer (granted, I wouldn't consider that last one to be downtown).

Also, not to be overlooked are the following: topiary garden, museum of art, various foodie tours, bar nightlife, gallery hops, stunning architecture, & the franklin park conservatory.

I am certain that I have only scratched the surface. Spend some time and explore for yourself! You'll be glad you did.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Columbus also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Columbus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.