We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good city to raise kids.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Columbus

Downtown Columbus
Columbus, OH
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 59 Attractions in Columbus
Type: Neighborhoods, Cultural
Attraction details
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good city to raise kids.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was so disappointed when City Center Mall died and was torn down. Now there are many new residential building DT and no shopping. All the High St.shoppes are gone. It killed me when Lazarus left DT. The only reason I am giving my town a 4 star rating is because of The Ohio State University, James Cancer Hospital, Arena District, new baseball stadium and the numerous good surrounding suburbs.Oh, well, I still have my memories of the past.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    7
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Clean City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great City to work, eat, and grow up. Lots of restaurants, Cameron Mitchell Restaruants are the best. Easy to get around. downtown 'dies' at night..except for a show at the Ohio Theater or some restaurants.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Downtown Columbus is a great place to walk around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

There are tons of good restaurants you can walk to. You can basically walk to any cuisine you want and enjoy some good food. Everything is so close together. When events are at the arena its really a great atmosphere. There are open air bars by the arena which really enhance the atmosphere. Great place for families or couples.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good City!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Whether it be Katzinger's, or Lindey's or the Short North, there are many reasonable priced options and good attitude everywhere.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marion, ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Scioto Mile Interactive Fountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

It has been years since we took a walk along the riverfront.
We only live 40 minutes away but like many havent treated what is close as special.
This is a simply stunning system of parks and bike paths and pedestian trails leading from one well maintained and CLEAN area to another culminating for us in a joyous sit down to laugh and watch the children playing in the fountains.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Columbus also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Columbus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.