We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 89 Fish & Grill

89 Fish & Grill
89 E. Nationwide Blvd., Columbus, OH 43215
614-586-4585
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
89 Fish & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 1,971 restaurants in Columbus
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Nationwide Blvd. / High St.
Transit: There is a Taxi Station across the street from the restaurant.
Description: 89 Fish & Grill uses only the freshest seafood, meats, dairy and produce available. Our menu is prepared daily in our scratch kitchen with an emphasis on locally sourced ingredients. At the bar we offer hand crafted cocktails with fresh squeezed juices, micro brewed beers, & a wonderful wine selection from around the world.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was our first time dining here. Having read mixed reviews, we were still optimistic as so many people just talk about negative. Upon arrival, we were greeted openly and politely. The server, Whitney, was very friendly, knowledgable, as well as very attentive. From appetizers to salads to main course, everything was outstanding. Wines and martinis were top notch. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Can't wait to come when there is live entertainment.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    56
    24
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I booked a table for six, based on recommendations online. None of us had been here before. I warned the staff it was someone's birthday and they birthday girl got flowers on arrival which was a nice touch.
The food was excellent and Mark, our server, went above and beyond to find us wines that didn't come from California. If you're lucky enough to get him at your table, don't be afraid to ask if he has any wines not on the list.
Appetisers were great - we shared calamari, crab dip, and something I can't recall but it had loads of mushrooms.
Our one party member who can't eat seafood was more than happy with his chicken and steak combo main meal. Most of us had a lobster combo of some kind.
Portion sizes were very generous.
There really wasn't anything to fault about this place. Definitely on the "must visit" list when in Columbus

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Court House, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful evening with some of our adult children. We all loved the menu and the wine and beer selections. Everything was excellent! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone that enjoys great seafood. We didn't realize they had a patio but will ask to sit there next time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Best seafood in Columbus! Awesome patio, free valet and live music on Friday nights. New oyster themed happy hour...will be back. Soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service; pricy but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

89 Fish & Grill was next door to my hotel (Red Roof Inn), so the convenience and the promise of good seafood was inviting. What a great choice! I had the seared scallops with truffle oil risotto & asparagus, a rich and filling plate of food, with a glass of wine well-recommended by the waitress. Excellent service, too-ask for Whitney.

I went as a solo woman at the beginning of a busy Friday dinner time, was welcomed in a friendly manner, and given a prime table by a window. This doesn't often happen, as many restaurants "discount" the value of solo female customers. That treatment contributed to my appreciation of this place.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 89 Fish & Grill also viewed

 

Been to 89 Fish & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 89 Fish & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.