We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackwell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Blackwell to your Saves list
The Blackwell
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2110 Tuttle Park Place, Columbus, OH 43210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
New York, NY
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Amazing value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We stayed here when passing through Columbus, and it was a tremendous value for the price. For around $100/night, it was a real four-star hotel with all the amenities we could ask for. Check-in was easy and pleasant--we opted for valet parking at $15/night.

Our room was spacious, with a flat-screen tv, iPod dock, bathrobes, and nice toiletries. Perhaps our only complaint was that the rug was a bit sticky in one spot--otherwise, the room was clean and comfortable. The free wi-fi was also very useful, and there was a nice oversized desk to sit at.

The location is right on the Ohio State campus at the business school (to which the hotel is attached). We were not really there to see Columbus and ended up relaxing in the room since we found it so comfortable. We ordered room service, and the food was very good--exceeded expectations. Breakfast the next morning offered a pretty complete buffet or a la carte options.

Overall, if you need a room in Columbus, especially if you're visiting OSU, you can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    63
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
72
59
20
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

I stayed at the Blackwell for one night as a business traveler -- solo female. The room was sparkling clean, very spacious, excellent work spaces, comfortable bed, quiet, and a great location. The hotel was fairly empty though -- school was not in session. I really enjoyed the service -- the young staff were friendly, efficient, and eager to please. It's a great location for downtown business -- easy to get to, lots of food options nearby, and taking a run around the beautiful OSU campus early in the morning was really enjoyable. Valet parking was very reasonably priced and efficient. One thing I really appreciated was that the climate control in the room actually worked. I've paid far more for fewer amenities and a less pleasant venue. The only two quibbles (and they are really minor) is that I forgot my shampoo and had to use their complimentary products -- and they had a pretty weird scent. So I'd ditch that brand and get another. The second suggestion is to have one of the bedside lamps include an electrical outlet -- my bedtime reading now requires recharging! But the Blackwell is now my hotel of choice for Columbus trips.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Great hotel right on the campus of The Ohio State University. Have stayed there 4 different weeks over the past 3 years. Service, quality and value haven't changed. Very clean, numerous extra amenities, large rooms with amply work area space, quality beds and linens. Would stay again if in Columbus. Great for business meetings, family staying over. Only drawback is not close to downtown and nightlife.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

I've stayed in motels and hotels from Red Roof through the Waldorf Astoria, as well as facilities in Europe. To date, the Blackwell ranks as the only one that has met and/or exceeded expectations in every category. The staff not only understands customer service, they deliver with a smile. They act as if they're truly happy to have you as a "guest" and go out of their way to show it. Immaculate well equipped spacious rooms. The restaurant offerings are somewhat unique but delicious.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

I love the accommodations here - the rooms are spacious and comfortable, the decorations are tasteful and the service is pleasant. However, I stayed there on a Saturday night in wedding season. The music was so loud I thought it was coming from one of the neighboring rooms. Instead it was in one of the banquet rooms in another part of the hotel. Not something I would expect from a hotel of this quality. I would recommend requesting a room far away from the banquet halls if you plan to stay here during party season.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

My son and I stayed at The Blackwell for orientation at The Ohio State University. You cannot get accomodations any closer to OSU. I have stayed at other hotels on other university grounds that have been standard, clean and acceptable accomodations. The Blackwell is upscale and totally exceeded my expectations. The bedding is wonderful, the rooms spacious and the staff is what you would expect from a very high scale hotel. I will most certainly return for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Can't say enough nice things about The Blackwell. Excellent staff, clean, cozy.
The nicest hotel in Columbus. Staffed by the polite and courteous students of OSU. Keep up the excellent work.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blackwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackwell

Address: 2110 Tuttle Park Place, Columbus, OH 43210
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#1 Business Hotel in Columbus
#1 Family Hotel in Columbus
#1 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#11 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackwell 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Blackwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blackwell Hotel Columbus
Blackwell Hotel Columbus
The Blackwell Columbus, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackwell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.