We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem on Campus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackwell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Blackwell to your Saves list
The Blackwell
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2110 Tuttle Park Place, Columbus, OH 43210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Little Gem on Campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We pulled in to this Hotel about midnite after a very long drive. Staff was so very nice. Went to our room and it was spotless, well appointed, and we had received turndown service. We had been put on the executive floor, so in the morning, there was a big serving area at the end of the hall with bagels, pastries, juice coffee and tea. This are also has snacks available in the afternoon. All the rooms have coffee makers, and are given a morning newspaper. Housekeeping did a great job cleaning and replacing the wonderful soaps etc. They thought of everything you could possibly forget! The staff at the hotel are extremely friendly and accommodating. I would never expect this right on a college campus. The location is terrific. If we go back to Ohio State, this is definitely where we will stay.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are great, you may want a view of the stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    77
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
98
69
27
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Wife and I were in town for business and OSU. This hotel is nicely located on campus. From the doorman to the value to the front desk associate, all the staff were extremely courteous and helpful. The rooms are nicely done with two work desks with a good number of outlets in our increasingly tablet/laptop/phone dominated world. Bed was very comfortable and the room has all the expected modern amenities. Turn down service in the evening was a nice touch. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was above average and reasonable. If you are in Columbus you should give this place a try.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side of the building that faces the football stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband & I stayed overnight on a recent trip to see German Village. This was close & so suited our needs. The nice thing was that the room card was supposed to let us in & out of the parking garage. The card never worked but when we would hit the call button, we were immediately responded to & let in so that we only ever had to pay once for parking. The room was small but nicely decorated & very clean. We didn't have the chance to eat there but the staff at check-in & check-out was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Silver, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband ,son and I checked in after a long drive from NJ for my sons transfer orientation to OSU. We were checked in promply and greeted with smiles and tons of enthusiastic staff who consisted mostly of OSU students. Needless to say we are excited to be part of the Buckeye family. The valets and drivers Colin and Alex were extremly helpful taking us and picking us up promptly to two of the best restaurants in Columbus. (Marcella's and Martini Modern Italian)The desk staff was welcoming and helpful even with directions around campus. We already have put ourselves on the waiting list for move in and parents weekend which we were sad to hear are fully booked in advance. We will however be back! Go Buckeyes!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I just spent a glorious time at the Blackwell in Columbus. An incredible location touching the OSU campus and across the street from the famous Horsheshoe. A first class hotel with a gorgeous lobby, extremely well appointed rooms, and professional staff. Manager Eric Adelman provided welcoming touches in the room and complete satisfaction during our stay. A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The Executive Level rooms are fabulous, with work areas, sitting room, a mini kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

New Hotel, so very Clean. The Staff was extremely friendly and very attentive. Nice to have Hotel Staff that is not burned out. We felt like the staff were happy to be of service to us. The hotel has complimentary valet parking. The guys working valet were happy and helpful. They unloaded our bags, offered to have someone take the luggage to the room. The car was parked in a parking garage. The hotel offered a free shuttle around the area. We called for our car to be brought up as we were checking out. The valet had it ready and waiting, and even loaded our luggage all while smiling. During our stay we enjoyed the hot breakfast buffet in the Restaurant. It had many choices of hot items, cold items, beverages. The hotel was a little more costly then we usually spend but it was well worth it. The area around the hotel is very well lit, perfect for an evening stroll. As far as the room, Air Conditioning in the room worked very well, which was such a relief since it was so hot and humid while we were there. Room was perfect, we had a great nights sleep. Great Pizza delivered to the Hotel per the Valets suggestions. "CatFish Biffs"

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our family has food allergies, we ordered room service twice and was very happy with the concern the staff showed.
Also, we forgot our little ones favorite stuffed animal in the room and the staff is overnighting it to us as we speak!
Room was very clean. Front desk staff was welcoming.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.5 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#3 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
10.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway
1.0 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackwell

Address: 2110 Tuttle Park Place, Columbus, OH 43210
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Columbus
#1 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#1 Family Hotel in Columbus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#6 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackwell 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Blackwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blackwell Hotel Columbus
Blackwell Hotel Columbus
The Blackwell Columbus, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackwell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.