We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, the best hotel that I have stayed at” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackwell

Save Saved
You added The Blackwell to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Blackwell
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2110 Tuttle Park Place, Columbus, OH 43210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overall, the best hotel that I have stayed at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel is great not only because of the comfortable beds, clean rooms, and great service, but also because of the attention for detail. For instance, in addition to regular room service, evening service is provided where they fill your ice, take out the trash, and provide the evening weather forecast. The hallways are very clean and well-scented, with comfortable music playing everywhere.

Breakfast is great, with several hot items and excellent service. In addition, the restaurant is great for a nice romantic dinner on the cheap. A buffet laundry room is available for $10 for two hours, where detergent is provided. The gym is also very nice, not dank and stinky like the gym of other hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    60
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
68
54
19
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just spent a luscious three nights here for a conference at OSU. Free shuttle from the airport, down duvets and plenty of plumped pillows made for great sleep! Each evening I came home to truffles on my pillow and ice in my bucket. Keurig maker in the room for quick tasty hot beverages. Real plant and great lighting on the desks was helpful as I worked. IHome nice, too. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here for one night while touring campus. We selected this property based on the great ratings on Tripadvisor and our experience only reinforces what the other ratings showed. It was a very nice room with a great desk layout. I've never stayed in a hotel with such a large amount of desk/working surface area. The exercise facility was large, clean, and had a large variety of quality equipment, far and away the best I've seen at any hotel. We only stayed one night and checked out early the next day so can't comment on much other than the room and exercise facility. The front desk was prompt, courteous, and quick to help. The only down side for us was there wasn't a simple continental breakfast included with the room, which is offered at so many hotels now and is convenient for traveling families. There is a restaurant on site and room service available. We knew this going in so just had some stuff in the room which was fine. There was a small fridge and microwave in the room so that helped us. Overall, it was a very nice property and it will be our first choice on future trips.

Room Tip: We requested a higher floor to avoid street noise. That worked well although it may not have been a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FINDLAY
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Had a very nice overnight stay with my parents at the Blackwell. Very impressed with the courtesy and friendliness of the staff. Our waitress Lauren at the Bistro was especially kind and attentive.

Only issue was with the TV in my room. Wanted to watch a game on Sports Time Ohio but video was not working right. This also happened with a couple of other HD channels. Not sure if this was a TV issue or something with the broadcast signal.

Overall a very nice stay and would certainly recommend and visit in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spatsiavos, Director of Sales at The Blackwell, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your terrific review. We are delighted to hear that you took advantage of our orientation package and experienced our friendly staff and convenient shuttle service. Being the only on-campus hotel, we do tend to sell out quickly for some football weekends. However you can plan today for next year, our reservations line opens in January for the 2014-15 season. We will set the official date in December, pending the bowl game announcement. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here on business and The Blackwell is consistently good. The top floor rooms are extra nice. The restaurant is ok but there are so many excellent places to eat in Columbus, not an issue. This is also a great place to stay before/after Ohio State football games if you can get in,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spatsiavos, Director of Sales at The Blackwell, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our spacious and comfortable executive loft rooms. Also, The Blackwell offers a repeat guest program, the iPrefer program, we encourage you to participate seeing as you are a repeat guest of the hotel. Look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed one night to attend a nearby concert. The location within walking distance to restaurants, the university, and athletic venues. The staff was professional. friendly, and offered knowlegdable alternatives for dining and what to see and do. The hotel itself is clean and up to date. Our room was right next to the elevator, so pretty noisy soon after the concert was out, but aside from that it had everything we wanted. There was a wedding the night we stayed there, but aside from running into guests in the elevator and the outdoor setup we wouldn't have known. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms near the elevator are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spatsiavos, Director of Sales at The Blackwell, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us. We are so happy to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one. We hope to be your host again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I chose to stay at this hotel during our son's orientation session at OSU. I always turn to tripadvisor as my official guide before choosing a place to stay. We were not able to check in until around 6:30 pm due to the orientation activities that were scheduled and were worried that might be a problem, however, my husband gave the hotel a quick call and all was well. They were very accommodating and said late check in would not be a problem. We chose this hotel mainly because of the location as well as all the positive reviews. The room was very clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and very much appreciated after a long day of walking around the campus. As an added bonus, they had a special orientation package that included free valet parking and two complimentary breakfast buffets at the Bistro. Everything was wonderful and I'm sure we will be returning to the Blackwell sometime over the next four years while our son is attending OSU.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spatsiavos, Director of Sales at The Blackwell, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
The Blackwell is thrilled to see you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations, from late check in to accommodating staff members to the comforts of your guest room. The Blackwell strives to provide a '4 star' experience and we are happy to hear that we did so with your stay. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blackwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackwell

Address: 2110 Tuttle Park Place, Columbus, OH 43210
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#1 Business Hotel in Columbus
#1 Family Hotel in Columbus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#12 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackwell 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your The Blackwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blackwell Hotel Columbus
Blackwell Hotel Columbus
The Blackwell Columbus, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackwell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;