We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackwell

Save Saved
You added The Blackwell to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Blackwell
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2110 Tuttle Park Place, Columbus, OH 43210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Alameda, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stayed here while helping my son get set up as a graduate student at Ohio State. This was a great hotel. The rooms were large and clean, the bed extremely comfortable. We had a great view of the Ohio State Campus from our room. The service here is among the best I've had at a hotel. Everyone who we worked with was very young, very sincere, very friendly, and very eager to help. They have a very nice fitness room here, and a very good restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    60
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
68
54
19
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Blackwell, being part of the Ohio State University facilities, offers special diets and a shuttle for anyone staying due to treatment/surgery at any of the OSU Medical hospital systems- you can also drive there in about 5 minutes. All the personnel- most are OSU students- were so helpful and supportive during our 4 day stay there. One day we had to have early morning valet and they were quick to respond to bring car around so we could make 5 AM surgery time. It is within easy walking distance of Panera and a pizza place. Also if you just need to walk out your stress it is very near campus. The large room, refrigerator, expansive desk and table space in the room helped us feel not too enclosed- stir crazy-especially for a stressful medical stay. We did not get to eat there due to our crazy schedule in hospital. Clean, very comfortable beds, helpful personnel- I cannot sing the Blackwell's praises enough!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Nice staff very helpful. Great location. Beautiful rooms and great anticipation of our needs. Some cleanliness issues but nothing major. The shower is great and the tv channel selection is varied. Expect tons of comfy pillows on the bed. Ohio State is such a great campus and the fact that the hotel is literally part of the business school and across from Ohio stadium is awesome. Very easy to get everywhere on campus from the hotel and shuttles take you to and from the airport.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My daughter is an incoming freshman at Ohio State University, and each time we came to campus, we have stayed at the Blackwell. Our trip this month was for new student orientation. It's a little pricier than the chain-type hotel, but it's definitely worth it. It is conveniently located on the OSU campus, our plan included the breakfast buffet (which had a large selection), and the room was very comfortable. The Keurig in the room had a great selection of coffees and hot chocolate, and the evening turn-down service always left fruits and snacks. The bed area and the bathroom are larger than average. No pool, but it does have a fitness room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My son and I stayed here for a visit to The Ohio State University and we were very pleased. Very friendly and helpful staff, easy check in, spacious and clean rooms with two work stations, wi-fi, a large flat screen tv, very comfortable beds and a nice, clean bath room. There is a restaurant in the hotel but we only had room service for breakfast. The food was better than I expected. The location is very convenient, right on the campus. If you plan a visit to the area this is a great place to stay and it's a good value as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were in Columbus to see our niece play in the girls national volleyball tournament at the convention center. The Blackwell was convenient, right on the OSU campus, not far from downtown. The bed was nice, the room was large and clean, and the service was good. There was nothing particularly remarkable about it, just a clean, comfortable, well-run business hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blackwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackwell

Address: 2110 Tuttle Park Place, Columbus, OH 43210
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Columbus
#1 Family Hotel in Columbus
#1 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#11 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackwell 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your The Blackwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blackwell Hotel Columbus
Blackwell Hotel Columbus
The Blackwell Columbus, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackwell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.