We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New OSU Student” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackwell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Blackwell to your Saves list
The Blackwell
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2110 Tuttle Park Place, Columbus, OH 43210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
“New OSU Student”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My daughter is an incoming freshman at Ohio State University, and each time we came to campus, we have stayed at the Blackwell. Our trip this month was for new student orientation. It's a little pricier than the chain-type hotel, but it's definitely worth it. It is conveniently located on the OSU campus, our plan included the breakfast buffet (which had a large selection), and the room was very comfortable. The Keurig in the room had a great selection of coffees and hot chocolate, and the evening turn-down service always left fruits and snacks. The bed area and the bathroom are larger than average. No pool, but it does have a fitness room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    63
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
72
59
20
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My son and I stayed here for a visit to The Ohio State University and we were very pleased. Very friendly and helpful staff, easy check in, spacious and clean rooms with two work stations, wi-fi, a large flat screen tv, very comfortable beds and a nice, clean bath room. There is a restaurant in the hotel but we only had room service for breakfast. The food was better than I expected. The location is very convenient, right on the campus. If you plan a visit to the area this is a great place to stay and it's a good value as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were in Columbus to see our niece play in the girls national volleyball tournament at the convention center. The Blackwell was convenient, right on the OSU campus, not far from downtown. The bed was nice, the room was large and clean, and the service was good. There was nothing particularly remarkable about it, just a clean, comfortable, well-run business hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have stayed here once before and was glad to be back! After a disastrous stay at a nearby convention center hotel in May, never again!
The staff, many are OSU students are friendly and capable. The rooms and bathrooms are well appointed with lots of amenities.
We had a Board meeting in a nice little room with tasty snacks. We ordered a late lunch from the Bistro, food was tasty but take out service a bit surly.
The location, value and amenities of the Blackwell make it an excellent choice when in midtown Columbus.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I was at The Blackwell for OSU Orientation in June. This is my 2nd visit to The Blackwell, a year apart and I am happy to say that it was a great visit, as it was last year. This visit, my daughter and I used the complimentary Airport Service and it was on time and great not to have any worries. Upon arrival at the hotel, our room was not quite ready, so they held our luggage while we found our way through campus. The front desk gave us a great map and upon return we were able to go straight up to our room.

Breakfast buffet was included both days which for us being small eaters, was perfect. The food was fine, but if we wanted fresh made to order food, we would have ordered off the menu and payed ourselves, not a big deal. I loved the paper in the mornings and the coffee in the room was great as well.

This is the best hotel to stay in, plus it is really part of the campus. I think it is run by OSU Business School and run very well. All employees are happy, polite and knowledgable especially because I was very unfamiliar with the campus to start with.

There are plenty of walkable restaurants, but the front desk will call a cab for you if needed. Also, there is a complimentary Business Center on the Mezzanine Level where I was able to print out our boarding passes.

We will be frequent visitors here!

Room Tip: Either side of the building is great, although Ohio Stadium was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We had a weekend visit to Ohio State University to see out godsons. The Blackwell has an ideal location to campus, very easy for us all to meet up.

The pluses outweigh the minuses. Although the rooms were clean, they had the wrong sized dust ruffles in the bed. I thought it was just our room, but we checked and other rooms had the same problem. It not only looked bad (they literally were hanging uneven all around), but it gave the feeling of being "unclean". The hotel would be wise to invest in bedding that was simple and well fitting.

The staff was truly wonderful! They were friendly and warm, and went out of their way to be helpful. Definitely got us past the ugly rooms!

There is a shuttle to and from the airport, which was helpful. We asked to use the shuttle for another drop off that was aprox 10 minutes away. Frankly, they could have charged us a fee and we still would have used it. Instead, we had a grumbly driver complaining that we are out of the way. We tipped very generously, and were under no obligation to do so. The hotel would be smart to make the shuttle available for local transit with a fee so the staf were a little happier about doing it.

The restaurant was good. We had a very nice brunch with 10 of us seated quickly and given the same great service we had at the hotel in general.

Overly, a nice stay. Im not a snob, but the hotel isn't cheap for the area, and the aesthetics should be fixed. The great staff made up for it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were in town for the Girls Volleyball Junior Nationals. The league books all the hotels close to the convention center so it was impossible to get a reservation without going thru them. The Blackwell was not on their list, so we were able to get a room. It was not far from the Convention Center if you drive.

The Blackwell was much nicer than I thought it would be. I've been at other Big Ten school hotels and this one is much nicer than, for example, the one at MSU, the Kellogg Center. The rooms are nice, well appointed, and huge. The beds are great. Service is generally good. Our room had a king bed, with two work stations with work lamps & outlets, flat screen tv, built-in drawers, nice closet, relaxing chair (to watch tv). The view is pretty bleak---lots of parking lot and cement around. My husband commented that at least at the Kellogg Center you get a view of trees.

Nice things; students run the place and they are as nice as can be. Parking was free because they didn't have anyone manning the ticket booth (not much demand, so made sense). Place is well kept up.

One problem: we were there when it was about 100 F and 100% humidity. The AC was going full blast and it was really chilly. Because of the AC or HVAC system, the room had a damp, musty smell to it. I smelled it immediately and thought it was disgusting--kind of like wet, dirty socks. My husband (who has no nose I suppose) said it wasn't so bad. I wanted to move, but we decided to see if it improved when you turned the AC down. It didn't--at least to me. The only saving grace is that you get used to the smell after awhile. Everytime you enter the room though, you smell it all over again.

I wouldn't say that the hotel was a really good deal, given that we were in Columbus. We got a OSU Visitor rate of $153/night including 2 breakfast buffets. We forgot about the buffet though and went out to eat! Bummer! Didn't even notice the restaurant!

Food hint: If you love ice cream go to Jeni's near the convention center. This ice cream is to die for!!! Best flavors: plum sake sorbet, grapefruit frozen yogurt. i want to buy their cookbook!

Room Tip: Sniff it out first if the AC is on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blackwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackwell

Address: 2110 Tuttle Park Place, Columbus, OH 43210
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#1 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#1 Business Hotel in Columbus
#1 Family Hotel in Columbus
#10 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackwell 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Blackwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blackwell Hotel Columbus
Blackwell Hotel Columbus
The Blackwell Columbus, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackwell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.