We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again Would I Stay Here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Columbus Worthington

Motel 6 Columbus Worthington
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Columbus Worthington to your Saves list
Motel 6 Columbus Worthington
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7474 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43235   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Paola, Kansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never Again Would I Stay Here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The pictures online looked wonderful and the price was great. Well all that changed once we checked in - the room was dirty - you could not go barefoot for sure or your feet were black. The back of the main door and bathroom door was also very dirty with some type of black marks. One of the beds the blanket had what looked to be cigarette holes. Outside on the sidewalks they were filthy also. Some of the towels we were given also looked dirty. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. We will never stay at this Motel 6 again. I think what needs to be done is to tear this one down and build a new one.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend any rooms in this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    3
    5
    11
See reviews for
6
3
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

This place is awful! I saw the pictures online it was super cute looking, and we needed a quick last minute trip, plus it was on sale at $49 a night. We quickly booked it and drove the 2 hrs here. When we checked in my price was higher than expected after gently fighting with the front I gave up and payed. We also had a problem due to thinking my card was already charged and how most hotels hold it, which is what I was hoping because I didn't want double charged due to the fact I can not check pending charges on my phone internet or phone by callin, but they kept insisting I pay upfront, so I did and then after I signed asked if I would have rather held it. Really!?! So then I spent time with my credit card anf calling a family member near my bank back home to please go deposit $ in the morning to make sure nothing overdrew or was double charged. I also had an issue with then acting like I wasn't who I was even with my licence and also credit cards. I go by a shortened name of my birth name. But, had to even bring a second perdon to examine it. Finally, we got into the room which parking blows on our side thankfully we didn't have a lot to carry for our walk. Find our room next to a no number room, which we figured was the room horror stories are about jokingly until we walk in ours. First quick glance be like cute decor, but then you see footprints and handprints on the door, flies in the light, and I mean flies so many it blacked out a corner of the light, a hole in the wall with wires sticking in it by the bed (really, can't afford a 1 cover for it from Lowes!), there was a huge dent in the wall where people had slammed the door, the little hole on the "tv stand holder thing" was coming apart, there was a huge ant trucking it around the ceiling (happens,but noticed), so we proceed to the bathroom no toliet seat lid (don't they watch how many germs spew up), grey yucky hairs on sink, the tub was literally so high even my tall 5 foot 9 friend had trouble getting in and out,and it wasn't finished below so looked really snazzy!, I also loved my dirt and cigerette hole bedspreds, we also found a dying roach in the corner of the room, spider webs and spiders by bathroom, definately checked for bed bugs and instead found at least 6 various hairs on my sheets and also my blue blanket covered in some type of grey hair either man made or pet either way yuck!, it smelled awful when we walked in, the bathroom door has been what looks like punched with a nice hole, looks like someone put boogers around the wall and no knob on the shower! I could go on and on we took pictures this is crazy! If only there were hotels left this weekend we spend two hrs looking before booking here and can't afford a 100 a night room. Upsetting as I have stayed in some amazing Motel 6's! Never again will I come here! Oh and funny but the floor is so dirty it doesn't look like I washed my feet they are dirty so my friend wears her sandals inside! And our bathroom door doesn't fit so can't close it without a lot of force. Thankfully, we are friends enough to not matter about that! So upset!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Va
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Good location near 270 and lots of restaurants around. Room was $69.00 a night. The front desk check in werent so swift but OK. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and the TV was very nice. I work for United Airlines and travel a lot and I was a little aprehensive of staying at the MOTEL 6 but it was fine and I will stay at this one again if I go to State Fair next year or just make a visit to Columbus. The outside grounds could have been a little cleaner but really it was fine.

Room Tip: WE got a room facing the other rooms on 2nd floor. It was quiet I think if you get a room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

I wish it was not so inexpensive, that is the only good thing that I can say about this motel. I've stayed here in the past and I hated it, I started staying in the Days Inn across the road but if you're interested in that story you can read the review that I've written for them. I called ahead and reserved a room, I can say that it is not a very painful process to get a room but that's where the good news ends, or you could say, screeches to a halt. Let me start by saying that you should check the forecast before considering staying at this motel, when you walk in at first glance it's fine and then you walk in to the room and if your shoes are wet the hard carpetless floors will be muddy, no need to bring the dirt it is provided for you, I set my bag down and notice the big gap underneath the tv and between two uncomfortable chairs where it looks like a table is supposed to go, I go through my bag to retrieve my toiletry bag and then walk to the sink my socks soaked thoroughly, there is a vanity next to the mirror with a light that is held together with scotch tape and set my toiletry bag on a little table that I believe is supposed to be mounted to something, I only say that because that's what would make sense,I set my bag on the little table and it starts leaning and almost topples over, I retrieve the only hand towel that is available and use it to dry the floor and set my shoes on it so as not to flood the room and then I go to use the restroom, I squeeze into the bathroom (which should not be an issue because im a 'skinny' guy) and notice that the seat for the toilet is dwarfed by the toilet itself, I guess comparable to setting a breath mint on top of a donut, not being able to close the door and not wanting to spend too much time (sitting on a breathmint), I then retreat to the bed to relax, grabbing the remote on the way, the advertised television system that they have in use in which you can rent movies and whatnot, I press the 'moviebeam' button on the remote and nothing happens, finding out that the problem is fixed by replacing the lack of batteries, which Im happy that I've decided to have brought extra with me, I then press the button again and the tv breathes life once again but for some reason the 'moviebeam' system on which I was relying for entertainment dosent work which is okay I guess, I decide to flip to channel two to watch HBO, the channel works, I say work, the definition of work today means that there is audio but on the screen is some kind of screensaver, bummer. Im bored and the tv sucks so I turn it of and decide to get some rest, I go to pull the comforter down, which happens to have some kind of pattern that looks like cigarette burns, which just so happens to be cigarette burns, burns being plural, in excess of four that I can see, the sheets can't be too bad right? I feel like I need to throw up, the sheets may be 'clean' but the stains are more than a little intense. I would not recommend this motel to anyone that has the means to stay somewhere else. UPDATE I asked for clean sheets and was refused.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

Decided to give it a try due to renovations. Paid for my room and then went to check out the bed. Room had very strong medicinal smell upon entrance. Pulled back the mattress cover to check for bed bugs. Saw small brown specks - I don't think they were bed bugs but they were something. Pulled mattress away from platform and saw lots of dust and hair, and also a porno mag. Could not stay here and got full refund. Go across the street to the Days Inn and pay $5 more per night; well worth it. Obviously the standards of the Motel 6 management are not the same as most American travelers.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

The worst I can say about this Motel 6 is that it's a bit worn around the edges outside, but it's not awful. About what you'd expect for a Motel 6.

The rooms are indeed the renovated ones, with wood(-like) flooring, 32" LCD HDTV with expanded cable and inputs, etc. If you've seen the renovated rooms Motel 6 is rolling out, it's the same. The new rooms are presumably easier to keep clean, and that wasn't a problem for me at all in my stay. There is free WiFi - many Motel 6's now offer it free, despite the $2.99/day charge on the website.

You can't beat the location...it's right off I-270, surrounded by various chain restaurants and sit down eateries, and even a short drive from a COTA park-and-ride if you want to take the bus into downtown Columbus (it runs regularly, even on weekends).

You can get this place for under $40 regularly, and at that price, it is well worth the deal. Just don't expect the Ritz, as it is a Motel 6. It's probably the best low-budget deal in Columbus, if you don't mind a bit of outside wear and tear, and can stay up in Worthington.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010 via mobile

Great motel

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Columbus Worthington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Columbus Worthington

Address: 7474 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43235
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Columbus Worthington 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Columbus Worthington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Motel Six
Columbus Motel 6
Motel 6 Columbus Worthington Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Columbus Worthington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.