We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not authentic indian food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dakshin Indian Bistro

Dakshin Indian Bistro
8631 Sancus Blvd, Columbus, OH
+1 614-389-2670
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #996 of 2,022 Restaurants in Columbus
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Street Food
Description: Real South Indian, Dum Biryani
Dublin, Ohio
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not authentic indian food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Not fresh, food tastes processed. We asked for ghee and was told Americans don't like ghee and they have to serve what Americans like. Funny we are American and when we eat indian food we want indian food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    0
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The WORST experience till date”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had been to Dakshin last weekend with my family & had horrible experience. There were hardly 2 more guests, & it took more than 40 mins for us to get our food. Once we got the food we ordered, it was all frozen & raw inside. So this was something not fresh. When I showed this to server, he said it was due to AC inside the hall. Are you kidding me??? When I left, I did not leave a tip, but I was charged a $7 tip... This is considered cheating, stealing, the list goes on & on... felt very sad.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tri Cities
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Unsuspecting & Disappointed Customer :(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Well, I did not know it was South Indian food when I went there.
I was just happy and excited to try different Indian food while visiting in Ohio.

So for anyone that loves Indian foods - you should know that most of the restaurants are North Indian or a mix of North & South. This was definitely South Indian.

But I should clarify that I do like some South foods.

It was a buffet and the presentation looked good even though we were late coming in and it was close to afternoon closing time.

The biggest problem for me was that it seemed they put curry leaves in a lot of the dishes that they are not normally used in.

So my usual favorites were all loaded with curry leaves.
Curry leaves are NOT the same as curry spice mixes.

It is a heavily fragrant & pungent leaf. And can be too much for many dishes that usually are not made with them.
It dramatically changes the flavour.

I felt that the cook did not have a mastery of the foods.

The idili was flat and not fluffy as they should be.
The samosas has curry leaf as well. (I have never had that in India, America or Canada)
The chaat was so so but the tamarind sauce for it & samosas was way too sweet.

The carrot halva was so sweet I could not eat more than 2 small spoons of it. Also thin & not usual.
The custard with fruit was flat and tasteless.

The signs were posted on the buffet as to hot / medium and what the dishes were.

Well medium as VERY hot. So there was not much enjoyment going on there for me.

I was so disappointed I could not believe my experience!

Rarely I get bad Indian food in restaurants. Even when Indian friends say it is not very good I usually still like it.

So in trying to be fair I can say that the Tandoori Chicken was good, Chicken Tikka was good but again VERY hot.
The nan was good.
Rice was usual not exceptionally good nor bad.

For being late day buffet the foods were not all dried out.

So it was really all about flavours & spices & too much heat.

If you like heat you will probably like it.
Just do not expect the correct flavours for common dishes!

The place appeared clean and dishes & flatware were clean.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious and cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The server was friendly and the buffet food was so deliciously good and the prices were unbelievable ($7.00)

My favorite was the Chicken Tikki Masala, they use cream in their curries which isn't common at other indian restaurants.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome buffet!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

So awesome! The owner uses cream in his delicious recipes instead of watering down the flavor like many of the Columbus Indian restaurants here. The food is tasty, pefectly spicy and the buffet is constantly being refilled. Must try. I go back for seconds if not thirds every visit!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dakshin Indian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Dakshin Indian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakshin Indian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.