We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad, But a Bit Pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3031 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #65 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
“Not Bad, But a Bit Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I was visiting the area on business and stayed in a SUITE (#429) for two nights. I would consider staying here again, though I would probably shop around online for a better price. In my opinion, the suites are maybe worth $100/night (before tax)... not $140-$170. Non-suite rooms, even less. But maybe that's what you have to pay in that area.

PROS
* Easy checkin, friendly staff
* Lots of parking
* Roomy — suites have almost three separate rooms, if you count the foyer & bathroom as one room
* Desk was quite functional with desk chair and lamp w/ extra electric outlets built in
* Wifi works well
* Comfy loveseat & chair, armoire entertainment center w/ CD & cassette player (?!)
* Comfortable bed w/ lots of pillows of different levels of stuffing (instead of all overstuffed, like some hotels)
* Quiet room -- located next to the elevators & Ice machine, but never heard any noise
* Roomy bathroom
* Hair dryer, iron & board, mini fridge and [very small] microwave
* Pretty good breakfast (scrambled eggs, Canadian bacon, hash browns with onions & peppers, chopped fruit, bagels, Belgium waffles, cold & hot cereals, yogurt, muffins, orange & apple juice, and fairly good coffee... not super weak, like most hotel coffee).
* Workout room is adequate, though quite small (two treadmills, one arc machine, one bench w/ dumbbells, small TV)
* Small indoor pool and jacuzzi
* Kroger grocery store next door, handy for snacks and things you forget to bring
* Late (Noon) checkout time

CONS
* Kind of in a rundown area
* Chopped fruit in the breakfast bar tasted sour the second morning
* No full length mirror (for checking shoes) … there is a 3/4 length mirror in the bedroom
* No close-up/makeup mirror in bathroom
* Shower curtain barely wide enough
* Center room (office/sofa area) is kinda dark
* Noisy A/C unit in bedroom, mostly noticeable when turning on & off. Sounds like street construction!
* Annoying maid service on last day… kept knocking on the door every hour, even though I stated to her clearly (and repeatedly) that I wouldn't be checking out until Noon.
* Seems pricey for what you get, but don't know how it compares to other properties in the area. $100 (plus 17.5% tax) would seem more reasonable, rather than $140-$170 (plus 17.5% tax).

SUGGEST BRINGING...
* Microwavable coffee mug (for reheating coffee in the room... all that's provided are styrofoam & thin plastic cups... which can't be microwaved)
* Night light for middle-of-the-night bathroom visits.. unless you like being blinded.

Room Tip: My fourth floor suite was quiet and the elevators were conveniently located with minimal waits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    58
    26
    7
    6
See reviews for
45
18
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is the worst Fairfield inn I ever stay. ( I am a Marriott Gold member). When I check in, the elevator does not work. The hallway carpet is very dirty, The bathroom tub porcelain is chip, also has rust stain, the edge has mold, The bed is soft, Breakfast potato is cold, orange drink from machine taste like water, the coffee cups cap is wrong size. the hotel is old and dated. I stayed at room 311

Room Tip: do not stay at room 311
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great Fairfield next to OSU which makes it convenient to attend events at the campus. Clean and comfortable rooms with good beds. A large area for breakfast with a large selection of breakfast items and unlike most hotels, they can handle large groups of people at breakfast very efficiently.
Will be back when we are in Columbus to visit our granddaughter this year at OSU. Go Buckeyes!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington KY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a good property, in the heart of the Ohio State University arenas, stadiums, fields. We were upgraded to a suite (small but fine) when we checked in. Rooms very clean, great pillows. Check-in and out very easy, service excellent. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed here on 6/26/14 and were surprised at the generous room size. Ours had a fridge and microwave which is great when traveling with small kids (4 1/2 year old twins, 2 year old). The room had a pull out sleeper sofa and large bed as well. Plenty of pillows but I would have liked more or thicker blankets as I am always cold in hotel rooms.
Great location, lots of parking, nice pool and spa. Enjoyable breakfast spread in the morning. Friendly staff!!

Only complaint would be that the bathroom was dingy- mildew around the soap holder and sink was a bit dirty.

Would definitely return and can safely and confidently recommend this property to others!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel is incredibly damp and moldy, and it's not even that humid outside! When I get up in the morning and get dressed, my clothing are literally damp. When I asked for a dehumidifier ask have asthma, the General Manager (Dean) took two days to get back to me. And replied by slipping a note under my door that indicated the hotel would be happy to pick up a dehumidifier and charge it to my room. I called Marriott corporate who suggested they have a health inspector visit the hotel. I couldn't agree more. Save your health! Select a different hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The location of this hotel is great - close to everything but quiet and relaxing. The beds were super comfy, the bathroom was nice and big (which is good for best girl friends getting ready together) and the pool and hot tub were a great bonus. The breakfast in the morning was nice and tasty. Everything was clean and everyone I encountered were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU

Address: 3031 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus Osu Hotel Columbus
Fairfield Inn And Suites Columbus Osu
Fairfield Columbus
Fairfield Inn Columbus
Columbus Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.