We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cheap budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus West - Hilliard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus West - Hilliard to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus West - Hilliard
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5510 Trabue Rd, Columbus, OH 43228   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
newquay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great cheap budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Second time I've stayed here and both times been impressed on what I got for my money. The beds were large and comfortable and the T.V was also a nice large size. The bathroom was clean and well laid out with a bath and shower and always a good supply of towels. The couch and desk were a nice touch but the real god send was the microwave and fridge. With the Walmart across the road this can save you a lot of money on eating out. What also swings me is their amazing waffles for free at breakfast.

Only down sides are a few maintenance issues, the bathroom tap broke ( was repaired within the hour) and the paint was peeling under the window.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    61
    22
    6
    12
See reviews for
73
33
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel was easy to find, right off the highway, did not charge us extra for having kittens and provided a good sized comfortable room with space to relax and unwind after 8 + hours on the road. The hotel was clean and had extra touches of ambiance.:the rooms did not smell like harsh cleaners as many pet friendly ones often do.

A " living room/ study area" helped us unwind as did a tall ( I like these best) comfortable bed. a pool , laundry, big, accomodating breakfast room with free spread rounded out the amenities. Staff was very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis, md
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I would have given this property four stars, but I was really disappointed that our "suite" was merely a room with beds and a couch. The last La Quinta we stayed at the suite was two rooms as it should be. This would not have even qualified as a "studio" suite.

We like La Quinta because it has a very liberal dog policy. Most other places would charge a great deal for our 100 lb choco lab to spend the night with us even though all he does is get in the room and lay on his doggie bed. No barking no fuss, but I realize other pets may not be so docile. There was plenty of outdoor space to walk your pet which is aways a bonus. Thanks to La Quinta, our yearly Christmas travel lodging worries are put to rest.

The place was clean, the lobby small, and the breakfast area adequate. They had a nice selection of yogurt, cereal, and even mini Bob Evans sausage biscuits that you nuked in the microwave. All in all a pleasant stay except for paying too much for what turned out to be a standard room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford City,IN
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Larger rooms are nice with couch and coffee table. Have stayed here 4-5 times. Nice pool area.Breakfast is normal fare. Hilliard is higher dollar than Dublin just to the north, but they had triple points on laquinta rewards...so it made sense. Walmart across street. Movie theater too.

Room Tip: Stay on north side of the hotel for less I-70 road noise. Culvers next door, wed nite is kids nite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Iowa, USA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had a very nice as well as clean room with decorating and furniture updates and plenty of space and ammenities (microwave, refrig, sofa, flat-screen HD TV, WiFi). Comfortable bedding and large bathroom with plenty of space to move around. Breakfast was just so-so with the only hot thing on the menu being waffles that you could make yourself. Otherwise, standard breakfast items. Biggest let down was the noise created at 1:30AM in the morning by people across the hallway who were just plain ignorant and rude. Called the front desk to complain and someone did come up about 15 minutes later to tell them to be quite and respect the rest of the guests. That must not have set well with the noise makers so apparently the staff told them that they could come down to the breakfast area if they wanted to party. So, needless to say, we were awakened again about 5AM when these same partiers came back to their room the second time. It would have been nice to have gotten a decent nights rest. When I complained to the management about it the next morning, they said they would have discounted our rate, EXCEPT we had prepaid through HOTELS.COM so they could do that. I emailed HOTELS.COM about that issue and have yet to receive any answer from them.

Room Tip: Make sure to book directly with the hotel and not through some website as you may run into the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardstown, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had already been on the road for almost 7 hours the trip ususlly only takes about 4, there was an accident and we were stranded in traffic, Since we had our pet with us we thought our choices were limited and at that point we were extremley disappointed and discourage,d we arrived at the hotel to freshen up before heading to the in -laws and was told that even though it was almost mid day we would be charged another night's stay because check in time was strictly at 3;00 pm, no exceptions so as weary as we were it made us extremely mad, we were going to stay there for 2 nights anyway, but decided that we would find another hotel that wasn't so money hungry and rude, we stayed across the street at an more civilized hotel that was extremly sympathetic to our delima and the clerk did not even charge us full price for our rooms even though it was a holiday and let us bring our pet for free even though they usually charge.We will not be staying at laquinta inns any longer needless to say.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Enjoyed staying in this hotel. It was clean, well maintained and conveniently located. There were many restaurants nearby and the location was far enough from the freeway to be quiet. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good with breakfast sandwiches in addition to the standard fare. Would definitely stay here again if I were ever in the Columbus area in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus West - Hilliard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus West - Hilliard

Address: 5510 Trabue Rd, Columbus, OH 43228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Columbus
#39 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus West - Hilliard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus West - Hilliard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Days Inn
Days Inn Columbus
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus West - Hilliard Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus West - Hilliard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.