We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad or good as advertised” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Columbus / North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Columbus / North to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - Columbus / North
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4875 Sinclair Road, Columbus, OH 43229   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Savings-Save 15%
Ranked #135 of 141 Hotels in Columbus
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not as bad or good as advertised”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel was not a 5 star resort, but it served its purpose. The hotel seemed to be going through an upgrade and we stayed in the non renovated section. The room had a stale smoke smell that you tend to get in places that "do not" allow smoking in rooms, but never penalize patrons who do. The bathroom was clean and everything worked as it should. The refrigerator needed to be upgraded.
For a guy, the television not having ESPN was difficult to deal with.
The manager gave me the Wi-Fi password, I never logged on.
Would not recommend unless you understand that this is not a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvinorth, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Columbus / North, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments and we are glad to hear you were pleased with your stay. We certainly apologize for the lack of ESPN, we had a satellite issue that effected a handful of stations and unfortunately one was ESPN. We are going through an upgrade and are glad you noticed. The smoke smell in some of the old rooms should be addressed with this. Thanks again and hope to see you back here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    4
    6
    21
See reviews for
6
5
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newville, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Definitely NOT AMERICA'S best. One word "nasty". It would be worth the money to go elsewhere. The "pool" was to be open in season, but I don't think it has been open in years. There were what looked to be hookers hanging outside. Not a good place at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvinorth, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Columbus / North, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We are very sorry that you were not happy with your stay here. And we apologize that the pool was not opened. We did not advertise the pool being opened this year and we are sorry there was a miscommunication. We do not have hookers hanging around our property, we are not that type of an establishment. We are making many nice improvements to our property and will continue to increase our quality and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Online ad states this place has a pool. LIE!!!
Online ad states there is a continental breakfast included. LIE!!!
Free wi-fi. LIE!!!
Do not stay at this motel unless you want to pay for a bunch of lies!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

The room was not clean. The walls were riddled with holes and scratches. Bedding was stained and had cigerette hole burns on them. Bedding was not changed any of the 4 nights that I stayed. The floor in the bathroom was coming up. 9 channels on the TV & only 3 of them were watchable. Parking lot was snow/ice covered. Encountered bed bugs on the last morning. Nasty room for a cheap rate.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I booked online, sight unseen, for a concert at the nearby Alrosa Villa. First impression, very few cars in the parking lot and overgrown weeds everywhere, even in the cracks of the pavement. Upon checking in at 5:15, I was told my room hadn't yet been cleaned. Check-in time is supposed to be 3:00. What happened there? The guy at the front desk was filthy and he took 10 minutes to check each guest in on his 1985 Apple IIe computer. I was given a different room. There were multiple cigarette burns in both comforters and the room reeked of smoke. This was supposed to be a non-smoking room. The baseboard was peeling off and the pillows smelled like bad perfume. The toilet paper holder in the bathroom was falling off and the outlet for the lamp was defective. The TV remote was missing the battery cover and the TV got 2 channels, both of which were too fuzzy to watch. After sitting there for 1 hour and itching all over, I turned in my key and told the dirtbag owner that the place was a dump. He acted totally surprised. While I was in my car waiting for Expedia to get a full refund, I noticed prostitution activity in broad daylight. There were also sveral scuzzy people hanging around the lobby for no reason. I ended up getting a full refund, which was nice. If it hadn't been for the itching and fear of bedbugs, I probably would have stayed, because I generally enjoy watching meth addicts go about their business. If you're going to the Alrosa, spend an extra $20 and get a room where you feel comfortable. These people should be euthanized.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I was in town in business an the location suited my business itinerary for the night.

Upon checking in, I was greeted but a grumpy man who can barely speak English.

The TV is satellite and you're lucky to get 5 out of 20 channels to come in. You don't get local channels.

There is mold in the windows, the bathtub is stained brown. The water isn't hot. There is no water pressure.

The beds are like cocoons. The springs are worn out so bad you have no choice but to sleep in the middle. You will wake up sore, that's if you get any sleep from the 20 trains that run through all night long.

I was only given a few hand towels and a wash cloth. You are not supplied with a blanket either. Only the bed cover.

You are surrounded by hookers and drug dealers.

Best of all...upon checking our, I found a few bed bugs. Needless to say I had to bag all of my things up and treat everything.

The only good thing? It is right across the street from the freeway. But honestly after this scary, dirty and horrible experience, I'll sleep in my car before ever checking into this roach motel again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

we payed 77 bucks for a room that was disgusting it smelled like cheap perfume and body Oder and it had cockroaches and nasty sheets with holes in them and stains and 2 phone books holding the corner of the bed up the blankets smelled like pee and the sink in the room was broke and to top it off i left my wedding ring there by accident i called management 5 times they told me they was gonna talk to housekeeping they wasn't concerned with trying to fix the problem this hotel needs shut down cause so called management and so called housekeepers aren't doing there jobs

Room Tip: dont stay here!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Columbus / North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Columbus / North

Address: 4875 Sinclair Road, Columbus, OH 43229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 141 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Columbus / North 1.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Columbus / North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Columbus / North Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Columbus / North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.