We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Varsity Inn

Save Saved
You added Varsity Inn to your Saves list
Varsity Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Varsity Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1445 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43212   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed here after being forced to quickly scramble for a room when the hotel I booked couldn't find my reservation.
I'm not one to stay at motels and am a self-proclamined germaphobe. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by the room itself. While small and no-frills, it was clean and looked like it had been updated within the last few years.
Would I stay there again? Not on purpose. But it wasn't bad in a pinch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    9
    7
    18
See reviews for
16
7
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights for the OSU football game. Hotel was busy, alumni weekend. My room was clean and the bed (king) was clean and nice. One of the firmer hotel mattresses I've experienced lately. The room is basic, and small but adequate. So small, actually, that the door bumps the desk when opened. The tv is old (flat screen tube). Building Two is 30 feet from a train track with multiple overnight trains -completely obnoxious. Overall, though, you can't go wrong with the location on a game weekend for well under $100 a night.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I (50's) booked a room last Saturday for a blues music event downtown. We have stayed here about 10 times previous so we know what to expect and it is plenty good for what we need. We recommend this hotel if you looking for a place to sleep and you plan to spend a minimal amount of time in the room.
Cons:
Towels are small
Rooms are clean but in need of update
Close to train tracks (this has never been a problem for us but I guess there is that potential)
A great OSU Buckeye's bar with memorabilia next door was torn down to build another hotel
Prices increase and availability decrease during OSU games
Pros:
Rooms are clean and we have never had trouble with noise
Free parking right outside your door if you are on first floor
$67 per night plus tax
Microwave and medium sized refrigerator included
Close to SR315 ramps and 5th street for easy access to downtown and Ohio State events
Flat screen TV

Room Tip: Ask for first floor away from the train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

First time staying at this motel. Very affordable. Location was close to OSU. Check- in was easy. No breakfast but coffee available 24/7. Room had two queen sized beds which were very comfortable for motel beds. It looked like the motel had been refurbished recently with new bedding and a marble top near the sink. The rugs however were dirty and needed cleaning or replacing. I was uncomfortable walking on them with bare feet .The bathroom lighting was dim and the bathtub needed repair, but the actual shower was very good. There were enough towels and the usual amenities were fine. There was a clean, inviting pool which I did not get to use but I did enjoy being able to walk across the parking lot to shop at to Kohls. Based on the price, comfortable beds and convenience of the motel I will plan to stay there again,thought I do wish that the carpets were cleaner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, IN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I wanted to let travlers know that we stay here every time we go to columbus and we have had great service. Very workable when it comes to us moving rooms around and other needs we might have. If you stay at Varsity you will always be taken care of. Thanks again varsity! Tonia C

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Varsity Inn is very close to the OSU Hospital, and my husband and I often stay when he has appointments at The James Cancer Hospital. The hotel staff do their best to make our stays as comfortable as possible. There are a few things that could be improved, but the hospitality of the employees makes our stays worth it. Any time we've had an issue with anything, the problems have quickly and efficiently been taken care of. I would recommend The Varsity Inn to any of my friends or family needing a place to stay where their comfort and happiness is a top priority. Many of the employees have been warm and welcoming, but Jeffrey, in particular, has gone above and beyond to make us feel right at home! Thank you, Jeffrey, for making our stays at The Varsity Inn feel like a homecoming!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
var1445, General Manager at Varsity Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Wanted to thank you for the feedback. We do take pride in cleanliness and hospitality. I am glad location is convenient and Jeffrey’s customer service was outstanding. Thanks again for recommending us to family and friends. See you again when you are back in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, Ohio, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I thought the staff was very helpful, . The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. It is quite affordable, especially considering my frequent monthly stays. Getting half off after five stays is a nice deal. Being close to the medical center also suited our personal needs. Having the shopping center just across the street also made our trips that much pleasurable.

Room Tip: Room close to office was helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
var1445, General Manager at Varsity Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
I wanted to thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. I am glad we were able to meet your needs. Thanks again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Varsity Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Inn

Address: 1445 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43212
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Varsity Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Varsity Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Hotel Columbus
Varsity Inn Columbus, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Varsity Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.