We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value; convenient to the OSU campus.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Varsity Inn

Varsity Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Varsity Inn to your Saves list
Varsity Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1445 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43212   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great value; convenient to the OSU campus.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Varsity Inn South was a good value for the price. Our room was a bit on the small side but very clean. The hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is very convenient to the OSU campus. The first room we were put in did smell like cigarette smoke even though we asked for a non-smoking room but it was very clean. I asked the front desk if we could have another room and they gave us a new one without hesitation. The new room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. It was also nice having a refrigerator in the room. The front desk was very helpful in extending our checkout for a few hours when we asked.

Room Tip: Ask for a room farthest from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    14
    9
    19
See reviews for
24
11
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plant city
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have been staying at the Varsity Inn at least 4 times a year for a number of years because of its location close to OSU. We have liked that it is reasonably priced, clean and comfortable. However something has happened to "clean". About a month ago my husband experienced a slow drain with hair coming out of it in the shower. The problem was not resolved during his stay. We are now here again with someone else's dripped shampoo and crud on the edge of the tub, and a a dirty floor. This will probably be our last stay at the Varsity Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
var1445, General Manager at Varsity Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
First of all I wanted to apologize about the recent issue with the bath room situation and also wanted to assure you that we have addressed the issue to maintenance & housekeeping department as well so that they could be more proactive for rooms. Thanks for bringing the matter to our attention. I would request you not to lose trust in us. I would like to discuss further if you could please call me at 614-291-2983.

Thanks,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copley, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I were in town for an event and booked a room at the Varsity Inn. Something should have told us to run when we did our check in through a drive through. When we got to our room, it was discovered that there were train tracks about 30 feet behind us that had trains running at all hours of the night. The room smelled stale and dirty. The one chair in the room had what appeared to be a large blood stain on it. The shower had what appeared to be black mold growing up around the shower edges. My husband and I tried to find another hotel on Saturday but they were all sold out, due to the event. When I told the main desk about the issues when we checked out, they were not very concerned and basically said sorry, have a nice day. We will NEVER stay there again!

Room Tip: DONT STAY HERE unless you are between the ages of 18-25 and dont care about the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My mother in law needed to fly into Columbus as her son was at OSU hospital in serious condition. We searched for a hotel near the hospital. This Inn was a great value cost-wise, clean and close to OSU hospital. It also had restaurants literally within blocks of it. The service by Jeffrey was excellent, courteous and very helpful. She stayed there for seven days and then flew back to Florida when her son was discharged. I'd recommend this place to anyone as it is close to both OSU and Downtown Columbus.

Out Of Towner

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

My room was clean, the bed was comfortable and there were restaurants nearby. The neighborhood seemed decent and the price makes it a good value. Don't mind the fright train that runs directly behind the motel, the train must not operate at night because I never noticed it after going to bed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The motel was close to downtown / convention center..VERY clean rooms, Bob Evans and Wendy's literally 75 feet from my door..GREAT WIFI connection..safe and secure parking right outside my door..close to target and more shopping..5 minutes to OSU campus and OSU medical center.. $50 per nite special rate if you are going to OSU medical center..great king size bed and wonderful pillows and sheets too..fridge and microwave in room..VERY NICE PLACE .. Highly recommended..

Room Tip: get rooms on first floor on the north side of the building to be close to Bob Evan's for breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very nice relative to the low rates. Austin, the guy at the front desk, was really helpful, especially with transportation arrangements after my stay was over.

I also liked how it was quite close to a very nice Bob Evans next door. The walk away only takes literal seconds, and this was very helpful given that it was only about five degrees Fahrenheit during my stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Varsity Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Inn

Address: 1445 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43212
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Varsity Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, EasyToBook and Hotwire so you can book your Varsity Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Hotel Columbus
Varsity Inn Columbus, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Varsity Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.