We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Varsity Inn OSU North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Varsity Inn OSU North to your Saves list
Varsity Inn OSU North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3246 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

We just recently stayed at this motel for one night while attending the Fair. It's a very nice, quiet and CLEAN motel. The pool is a little small, but was very clean. The breakfast in the morning is just right. I would Stay there again with no doubts.

  • Liked — room was very clean and check in/out was very easy
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    11
    3
    11
See reviews for
18
6
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Oh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

Great place to stay. Off of the road so there is no traffic noise. Housekeeping is great. If you have an issue (my water never got hot in the first room) they take care of it immediately. Clean and freshly painted (7/08). Breakfast is good, however the hours are too short (6-9) and (7-10) in my opinion. They can accommodate trailers if necessary.

  • Liked — Hotel service
  • Disliked — Breakfast times
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barboursville, West Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

This is a great hotel that is close to most of the attractions and a few Malls of Columbus. We stayed one night. The room was very clean and had lots of space. We walked to nearby restaurants. The continental breakfast included waffles, bagels, danishes, cereal and fruit. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for the quality at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

We booked two rooms for one night at this hotel as part of a road trip weekend. The hotel's location is great. It is near OSU and the Short North area, which is always lively and fun. Although there was continental breakfast, we were saving up for breakfast at First Watch, so we didn't eat anything at the hotel. There is also a Mexican restaurant across the parking lot. Across the street is a cemetery, so if you don't find that strange, then this hotel is alright. Doors open to the outside, so you can hear everything going on outside. The room was simple and clean. Bathroom was small, but clean. Beds are comfortable. There is internet access and cable TV. There is a small pool and small workout room, 3 cardio machines. The pool was closed. This hotel is great for spending a comfortable night before your next destination while on a budget.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable hotel on a budget
  • Disliked — Outside noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2008

I spent three days at the Baymont attending a conference at OSU and can't understand the objection to it. The room was large, clean, well-heated (Columbus was cold and rainy!) and the beds were comfortable. I had a lot of editing to do between sessions and was able to spend a considerable amount of time in the hotel business room, first editing the texts and then emailing them back to Finland. There was enough to eat for breakfast (especailly if you're into sweet and starchy) and I couldn't find any of the rudeness noted by earlier guests.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

Perfect for us with free wireless, breakfast & cable.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this hotel because we could leave are car for up to 5 days.The hotel was dirty and the water did not get hot.
On top of this when we left their had been snow on the ground.When we got back are car had been towed to a junk yard along with 5 other cars.When the snow melted we had all been in a fire zone.Rather then tow the car some where in the lot he let them take them away.They were suppose to be responsible for are car.Nick said he would pay half the tow and it's been 10 months and he won't do a dang thing about it.He is a lier and a man that does not live up to his word.I would not stay at the Baymont to save my life.
Cust. Service did not help me one bit.I have tried every thing.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Varsity Inn OSU North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Inn OSU North

Address: 3246 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43202
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Varsity Inn OSU North 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Varsity Inn OSU North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Inn Osu North Hotel Columbus
Baymont Inn Columbus Osu
Columbus Baymont Inn
Varsity Inn OSU North Columbus, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Varsity Inn OSU North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.