We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service, great location, great price!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay n Park
Ranked #8 of 141 hotels in Columbus
Dallas, Texas, USA
1 review
“Great hotel, great service, great location, great price!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

I don't usually write reviews, but I had such a pleasant experience here! I'm not sure what the person before me is talking about - it's as if they're describing another hotel entirely!

I was in Columbus on business for 5 days and was a bit nervous b/c I just returned back to work now that my 3 kids are in school. The staff there couldn't have been nicer, friendlier, and welcoming. It made being away from my family a lot easier.

The beds are very comfortable and have real down comforters, which probably accounts for the 'lumpiness' the previous reviewer noticed. The beds aren't lumpy at all. My room was kept very clean (and I'm quite a germaphobe - even with 3 kids!) and everything was excellent working order. As far as noise, I didn't notice anything (and I'm a very light sleeper) and the hotel was booked to capacity.

The location is amazing. It's the only hotel within walking distance to great shops and restaurants. And the staff was very helpful whenever I was looking for a specific type of cuisine. I was always greeted with a sincere smile and everyone was always ready to help me with anything. A couple of staff members even took the time to listen to me go on and on (and on - LOL!) about how much I missed my family. They were very sincere and empathetic.

This was a great experience and I highly recommend this hotel. You can't beat the staff, the service, the cleanliness, and the price!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    80
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
47
53
20
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

I had a LONG stay at The Hampton on High Street. During that time, I made many observations. $174 is a lot to pay for a 2.5 star hotel. I honestly don't get it.
Go stay at The Drury Inn - it is close, way nicer, and less expensive than The Hampton. My second choice would be The Westin.

BOTTOM LINE: I would NOT recommend this hotel. For the price, you'd think it would be better. You are paying for location and nothing else. If you want to stay in an expensive shabby LOUD econo-type hotel w/ free icky breakfast across from the Convention Center with $21 valet parking - go for it! (At $187/night this is highway robbery!)

This is a detailed review - so I have broken it down into sections below. Here are some highlights:

The Room - Lumpy blankets and scratchy towels. Get a King or Suite only (**never** do double beds, never.)

Bath - Shallow Tub, non-functional drain, no exhaust fan - very humid, generic toiletries (for single use), hair non-dryer that is attached to the wall (do not use if you like your hair).

Noise - VERY LOUD (loud a/c, loud noises, PAPER THIN WALLS, ice machine, **3** dingdingding elevators, weekly trash pickup, etc..) LOUD!!

Amenities - Free (disgusting) breakfast, small 4.5 foot deep wading pool + whirlpool, gym

Hospitality - Cranky and indifferent, except for the exuberant doorman who LOVES JESUS!

Location - Start of the Short North, directly across from the Convention Center

Parking - $21/night - Valet only. No street parking unless at a meter, no overnight street parking here.


ROOMS:
Double bed rooms very fairly cramped, making it difficult to be in the room with another person. One of the beds was pushed right against the wall with about a 6" gap from the wall. The king rooms are fairly sized and have a seating area - it's not comfortable for actually sitting and watching the TV. Advice - make sure the alarm clock is "off" - mine was "on" at 6:30am.

I agree with the person who called them out on their **lumpy bedspreads** - they look like they have hives. In this heightened "Bed Bug" Hotel-era, I expect the linens to at least look like something I would want near my body, or at least on the bed I'm about to lie down in. This was a lumpy mess - all the synthetic fluff-stuff inside was crunched up into the squares of the comforter resulting in a gridded-off lumpy surface - not cozy looking at all. The only other blanket was a folded up brown velour number on the top shelf of the closet inside a zippered bag. It was not big enough for a queen sized bed, think of it as a throw blanket. During my (long) stay, my comforter was not washed or replaced unless I specifically asked for it. As I said, I was here a long time. I don't know that the blanket is ever washed...

The A/C and Heating unit - worked well, but it was hard to get a good temperature. Either it was ice cold or sticky in my room. The thermostat is a dial with a line, like a car from the 70's. Your guess is as good as mine. I would leave the fan on all the time, because when it kicks on and off it is NOISY. Plus, it can be used to drown out your (loud) neighbors.


BATHROOM:
The bathroom has a very shallow tub and mine didn't have a working drain. There is no luxury here - generic toiletries, threadbare and scratchy linens, and the dreaded hairdryer. When I turned on my shower, it screamed LOUDLY. I am serious, the pipes sounded like someone screaming. I tried fidgeting with all of the knobs to no avail. Even the toilet flushed loudly and pathetically. Oh and no exhaust fan in the bathroom - so the moisture hangs in the air forever and everything in the bathroom gets wet after a hot shower.


NOISE!
What?!? It is VERY NOISY in this hotel!
The walls are wafer thin and you can easily hear full conversations going on in the next room. I woke up to someone else's cellphone ringer! If that doesn't get you - then the door that is 1.5 inches off the floor will - making any hallway noise clearly audible. You will be acutely aware of the other guests here. I could smell things coming from the rooms, especially on game nights, dude. Also after a game, it smells like beer.

I strongly advise **against** staying on the second floor due to a number of factors:
-- The traffic caused during the breakfast hours and pool / gym visitors.
-- This is a "family friendly" hotel - which means that if you have kids you let them run and scream all over the hotel, but if you are an adult and have your TV on too loud - you'll get feedback from the front desk in the form of a sharp knock to the door or a phone call (even if you have asked not to receive calls).
-- More on the AWFUL SECOND FLOOR - The trash receptacles are kept on the side of the building facing downtown - the noise from trash collection can WAKE THE DEAD. Seriously, I sat straight up in bed at 5:30AM (!!!)


AMENITIES:
The TV was a flat screen, but the sound was terrible. You have to turn it up pretty loudly to hear over the A/C with the walls being so thin and the gap near the bottom of the door... The cable sucks - there are a lot of channels, but the guide is hard to find and is not printed out ANYWHERE in the room. Have fun. Pay-per-view is $14.99 per movie and there wasn't much to pick from. (I didn't look at kids stuff or porn, but they had both.)

The gym/pool area is actually pretty nice. The gym had some ellipticals, treadmills, weights, medicine balls, etc. The pool is a stainless steel tub. It's not very deep or large - I think the capacity is 15 people max. It is about 4.5 feet deep everywhere. No diving, nothing special for kids. Threadbare miniature towels are lying around on lounge chairs. There is a hot tub.

WARNING / possible BONUS: THERE ARE NO SECURITY CAMERAS IN THE POOL OR GYM AREAS. So no one is watching you - for your safety or privacy concerns. I wouldn't let my kids swim there. Also - the only bottled water in the hotel is here - in the gym. Go here for all your drinking water and extra (small) towels.


LOCATION:
Directly across from the Convention Center and next door to The North Market, location is one of the things this hotel has going for it. you are smack at the end of the Short North, so if you go to your left there are tons of bars, restaurants, bars, restaurants, bars and more bars. (See how this ties into the noise thing...?) If you go to your right, after the highway below, there are more businesses / corporate buildings - if you keep going, you get to the classier side of Columbus. If you want to stay nearby - check out THE WESTIN. Similarly priced, but the Westin has class and grandeur from the sheets to the ballroom. Wow.


HOSPITALITY:
Hit or miss. Some of the people working here seem to be genuinely interested in hospitality, others are more interested in talking to their co-workers in the adjoining office, some are just plain miserable. There are 1 person in particular who just looks like she'd rather be anywhere else - Ashley. She has red hair and a perma-frown. Maybe the Hampton just isn't her dream job, but really - would it kill you to be a little less robotic and angry at the world? They call it hospitality for a reason. Other people on the staff were close seconds to her in the Debbie Downer department or just totally out of it and invisible.

The most friendly person here - by leaps and bounds - is the doorman. He is very cheerful and eager to please. You will hear a lot of "God love you", "God bless you", and other Christian things come out of his mouth. I'm not a religious person myself, but he seems very "joyful" and unable to contain himself. (Sorry un-Christian folk, no separation of Church and State in this hotel.)

-- There are a ton of business visitors that stay here - they are loud, unruly and obnoxious. They run in packs because this hotel is smack across from the convention center.
-- The other kind of guest is a Serious Football Fan. If you are into it, great! If not, you will hear a lot of cheering and drinking long into the night on game days. Also, there will be face paint at the complementary breakfast buffet, which is always fun to see.

Speaking of the breakfast buffet - VEGETARIANS/ BEWARE, Vegans - do not even bother. While breakfast is well stocked it is disgusting. The only thing worth eating is the waffle, which you make yourself. It comes out a little soggy and is basically tasteless, but trust me - nothing else except packaged cereal and light yogurt is worth it, not even the fruit. The bacon literally drips with grease (watch when they put fresh bacon out and see for yourself), the eggs are pre-made and then steamed in back, leaving them a rubbery sponge-like texture, the "home fries" aren't even as good as a crappy diner or a freezer bag. They are grainy salty and "colored to look browned". The "juices" taste clearly concentrated - and are pure sugar, I would liken this breakfast to a school cafeteria. The water they serve is not filtered, it's tap water. The coffee is awful. The toaster barely works. But - seriously - eat up, breakfast goes from 6-10am every day and it's FREE. ALL YOU CAN EAT!

If I have officially grossed you out - take a walk out the front door and take a right - you'll see The North Market. Go inside and have a real meal from any one of a hundred vendors for anything from espresso to curry, homemade ice cream, bratwursts, artisanal cheeses, fresh baked goods - the works. The location is one of 3 things that I liked about this hotel, location, location, location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Very comfortable. The extra room of the suites and mini suites are well worth the minor additional cost. The buffet breakfast is actually quite nice, just ends too early.

I have stayed 4-5 times and will be back next month. The location is great for the Art Walk. Not as nice as the Hyatt, but much better location. Very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morgantown
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

This was my second stay at this hotel since I was so pleased with the first stay. Hotel is nice with a downtown atmosphere. The location is great since some fine eating establishments are within walking distance. Great for a business trip to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

The hotel has a GREAT location in the Short North neighborhood of Columbus! There are quite a few restaurants and bars within walking distance. The hotel is also very clean, but other than that, it is a typical unoriginal chain hotel with a free sub-par breakfast and all.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel for a wedding. The first night we had a junior suite...which was amazing. The second night was a 2 bed regular room. Both were very clean and spacious! The free breakfast was wonderful....huge selection and great seating. The pool is a metal one, which I found weird and the water had a salty taste...but my daughter still loved it. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed at the Hampton for Red, White, and Boom. Valet parking is expensive at $21 considering nearby hotels charge $12 but they do have their own parking garage and it did look secure. You are very close to the Short North, Arena District, and the North Market. There are a ton of restuaurants in the area. The hotel has 3 or 4 elevator banks making it a quick trip to your room even when the hotel is busy. Our room had a sitting area separate from the bedroom. I wondered how detailed the cleaning was considering I found a pill someone dropped on the floor under the desk area. We couldn't get the shower to give us hot water just warm. The beds were super comfortable and we slept well. The room had two LCD TV's one in the sitting area and one in the bedroom. The room had many windows to let in the natural light, we heard very little street noise due to the constant running of the airconditioning system. The hotel breakfast was above what you normally get as breakfast. The breakfast consisted of waffles, omlets, bacon, hashbrowns, fruit (fresh), etc.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Address: 501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#4 Business Hotel in Columbus
#16 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Hampton Inn Columbus
Columbus Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.