We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonoros Points
Ranked #9 of 141 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed at the Hampton for Red, White, and Boom. Valet parking is expensive at $21 considering nearby hotels charge $12 but they do have their own parking garage and it did look secure. You are very close to the Short North, Arena District, and the North Market. There are a ton of restuaurants in the area. The hotel has 3 or 4 elevator banks making it a quick trip to your room even when the hotel is busy. Our room had a sitting area separate from the bedroom. I wondered how detailed the cleaning was considering I found a pill someone dropped on the floor under the desk area. We couldn't get the shower to give us hot water just warm. The beds were super comfortable and we slept well. The room had two LCD TV's one in the sitting area and one in the bedroom. The room had many windows to let in the natural light, we heard very little street noise due to the constant running of the airconditioning system. The hotel breakfast was above what you normally get as breakfast. The breakfast consisted of waffles, omlets, bacon, hashbrowns, fruit (fresh), etc.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    129
    33
    12
    8
See reviews for
83
86
26
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Location is perfect, however; parking and smelly rooms make this one not worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
130 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

The problem with towns like Columbus is that there is no clear cut winner when it comes to hotels. All the major chain hotels are about the same. You'd think some enterprising hotel manager would pay attention to what people are saying about the hotels in town and strive to move from average to the top of the list, but this does not seem to be the case. The Hampton Inn in the Short North is fine in it's averageness.

First, the people who complain about the valet-only parking should get over it. This part of Columbus has become pretty urban. If you want free parking, stay in the suburbs.

Among the good things about this hotel: the location is close to downtown and to many restaurants. The room and the bathroom is very spacious. There is a nightlight in the bathroom. The breakfast area is nice with plenty of room.

Among the bad things: there is no safe in the room and with most people traveling with laptops, we need someplace to put them when out to dinner. There can be street noise from High Street on weekend nights. The housekeeper didn't replace the tea the second or third morning after I used the one tea bag the first morning. The comforter was so lumpy it was almost funny. It had obviously been laundered, which is a good thing, but not professionally, so every 2 inches there was a big ball (the size of tennis balls) of polyester filling. There was also a whirling mechanical noise every so often. It sounded like it could have been from the elevators but my room was not near the elevators.

I think I will try another average hotel in Columbus next time...in hopes of better.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

I stayed that the Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown hotel for only one night. The hotel is located across from the Convention Center and within walking distance of various restaurants and North Market. The check-in was quick and easy and the receptionist was nice and friendly when I checked in at 8:00pm. Because the hotel was fully booked, I was given a room directly across from the elevator. I'm a Hilton Honors member and I normally request a room as far from the elevator as possible. I believe because I checked in relatively late and on a night the hotel was full, I had no other option but to accept the room. The desk clerk did remove the $21 valet charge from my bill to make up for the room location.

The king room was a nice size and the bed is very comfortable. The flat screen t.v. is very large and it works well. The wired internet works perfectly in the room. The only problem I had was the noise from the hall. The door is about 1-1 1/2 inches from the floor which makes it seem as though people in the hall are in the room with you. I had to place a towel on the floor to fill the game and muffle the noise in order to attempt sleep.

Breakfast in the morning was good with various options of both hot and cold items. Eggs, bacon, sausage, cereal, fruit salad, breads, etc. All the hotel staff from valet to housekeeping seems to be very nice and accommodating. All in all, I like this hotel would recommend it to others, however, I don't think I would stay again unless I was far away from the elevator and the door was cut a little lower.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Very polite staff at check-in. Nice breakfast with lots of choices. We did not valet park-we used the parking structure a short block away that you can see from the hotel. This is a good spot for young adults who want a night out on the town- there were young people everywhere (a Friday night). It is a few minutes drive to COSI. The staff is dedicated to making your stay comfortable. I sent back a short survey and they sent me back a thank you note signed (not stamped) by 6 heads-of -staff.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

Yes, you are forced to valet park, but if you can get over that, it is well worth it. Great space. Clean, staff is very friendly, and great workout room. I was really impressed, and I am on the road 3 weeks of every month. Would go back in a second.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

Started off on the wrong foot with the staff and the hotel generally. We are a family of five. We needed a rollaway. Despite being assured by the 1-800 reservation line that we were all set, I learned the day before our arrival that, according to staff, local codes prevented a rollaway in a two queen bed room. The hotel was full, so no resolution was offered. So that left a bit of a sour taste in my mouth even before we arrived, but things took a decided turn for the better.

First, the staff were absolutely wonderful. Every question was met with a prompt and pleasant answer. Food recommendations were on target. All dispensed pleasantly.

Special mention shoudl be made of the bellman, whose name, I believe, is Clyde. What a wonderfully friendly, helpful guy. Great with the kids. Very, very nice guy.

The rooms, while not large, were very comfortable. Well kept and promptly serviced every day.

The pool is on the small side, but very clean.

Breakfast was great. Always hot, well tended by staff. Great breakfast room that our group used for a pizza party. (Clyde stopped by on his way out after his shift to make sure we were having fun).

Restaurants are plentiful in the area. All within walking distance.

Very convenient to the convention center.

Yes, valet parking was expensive ($21 per day), but the service was excellent.

This was by far the best Hampton we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#3 of 141 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#32 of 141 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
2.4 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#1 of 141 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#62 of 141 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Address: 501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Columbus
#8 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#15 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Hampton Inn Columbus
Columbus Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.