We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Awesome Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was an extremely nice hotel, with very friendly staff, and a great breakfast. I liked the layout of the rooms, which where modern and very clean and, I would recommend highly. Great location right downton next to Nationwide Arena.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    100
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
60
64
24
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We recently stayed at the Hampton Inn for my daughter's wedding. I can not adequately describe how helpful and wonderful the staff was at this very stressful time. First, I needed to come to Columbus early to help out with last minute plans and unfortunately could not get a room at this hotel as my daughter booked the block of rooms for only 2 nights. Not a problem, I stayed elsewhere. The morning before the day of the wedding I had to check out of my other hotel and inquired if I could have an early check in at the Hampton and they very nicely obliged. Upon my arrival the valet parking was full but they advised me to park at metered parking which was not a problem except I had several items to carry, of which they offered to call a bell hop and I accepted. Out came Clifford. Clifford was the most enjoyable person I have ever come in contact with. By the end of our 2 nights he knew all of our names, offered any assistance that was needed and was just an overall delight. My stress immediately vanished every time I saw him. My other children even missed the complimentary breakfast but Clifford fixed them a plate so they could eat before driving home. I am always pleased with Hamptons but I will be staying here the next time I am in Columbus, the staff is pleasant and accomodating which makes the stay extra pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I want to note that this hotel has a lot going for it. The location is excellent-- near campus but not too close, lots of interesting restaurants and shops in easy walking distance. Our room was very comfortable and had an interesting view looking up High St. The complimentary breakfast buffet was extensive, fresh and actually hot. The front desk staff were unfailingly friendly. However. We left our room at about 10am. The housekeeping cart was two doors down from our room. We returned about 2:30 to an uncleaned room. My spouse's call to Housekeeping brought excuses and eventually a half-hearted offer to send someone up to clean. As we'd been out of the room for over four hours and returned in part because my spouse wasn't feeling well and wanted to take a nap, we declined, choosing instead to tidy up ourselves. A couple of other points you may want to consider. First: parking. Only valet parking at $23/day is available. Otherwise you'll be running out every few hours to feed a meter or parking who knows how far away as I didn't see any other public parking garages nearby. They did reassure us that we could come and go as often as we wished with no extra charge, and honestly we had no need to given the marvelous food nearby. Another point--the bathroom fixtures are lovely, but if you have visions of soaking in a tub, save it for the pool. The room we were in featured a very nice walk-in shower but no tub. There are a nice pool and a small hot tub on the second floor if you must immerse.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAYSVILLE, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We enjoyed the location overall. Right next door the North Market and all shopping/entertainment within walking distance. The staff are friendly but slow to react to problems and not very empathetic. My problems with the staff were specific and I would not hesitate to stay here again. Basically, not that big of a deal in comparison to all of the great aspects of my stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I've stayed here more than a dozen times, and it's a very consistent experience - good location, friendly staff (including the guy who has handled my luggage the last two times, who is one of those people that will just brighten your day, whatever shape it's in), and rooms that have been remodeled and are quite nice for the price. The North Market is right across the street and is a terrific experience, and there has to be 25 restaurants within a five minute walk (including Hyde Park Grille, Bar Louie and Bakersfield, all of which are great options). The hotel itself is classic Hampton - second floor has an extensive breakfast and lounging area, the pool is extremely nice (all metal, which is cool) and the workout area - though small - is well appointed. If you're doing something at the Convention Center, which is directly across the street - this is the place to be (unless you're willing to pay a higher price at the Hilton), and makes for a very easy and quick commute. Only complaint - parking is expensive for a hotel of this kind and only option is valet. Small issue given the overall experience, however, which has been very good on multiple visits.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was a great stay i was here for Cheerleading and the breakfast was worth it. the internet was good for the kids. A littlle on the expensive side for one night but it was easy to get where I needed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This hotel was not originally our first choice for a hockey game at Nationwide Arena, but I'm very glad this is where we ended up. Not only was the front desk and valet staff very friendly, but the hotel was clean, well-maintained, and inviting. What we liked most was the location - a few minutes walk from the Arena district, the nightlife on Park Street, and the restaurants/coffee shops in Short North. Valet parking is $23, but that's about equal to the cost of other hotels in the area, and they were quick to take and return our vehicle and help with luggage. I highly suggest this hotel to anyone looking for the best of Columbus.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Address: 501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#4 Business Hotel in Columbus
#18 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Hampton Inn Columbus
Columbus Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.