We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Wonderful Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonoros Points
Ranked #9 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Illinois
1 review
“Great Location and Wonderful Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton while in town for a wedding. The hotel was immaculate as were the rooms. All staff members, from valet, front desk, housekeeping and serving staff were very welcoming and friendly. We will be going back to Columbus to visit as the Hampton was situated in a location that was busy with fun things to do and we are anxious to see the rest of the city!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    125
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
77
84
26
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lutherville, Maryland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for the 2013 Columbus Marathon. Staff were very friendly for the most part (one young woman at the front desk was a little dour but others were quite helpful). The staff gave different answers to the same questions asked 90-120 minutes apart (e.g., late check out, breakfast time), but these different answers did not negatively affect my stay. Room was clean, comfortable bed and quiet. Walking distance to many restaurants and 50 yards away from North Market, which is a neat international food court / boutique store mini mall. I would return to this hotel and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
193 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I am a fan of of Hampton Inns in general. Hilton provides a consistent brand across the country. They are really good for families with the free breakfast. This hampton is in a great location in be short north and near the market--and close to 2 Jeni's ice cream shops! There are lots of restaurants and bars within walking distances. Like most Hampton Inns this one has a boutique-y feel. Rooms were clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I found the business center to be comfortable and the equipment in good working order. Would stay here again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis Center, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great facilities, friendly staff who went above and beyond to help me during this stay. Great location and proximity to downtown and short North. Really nice valet staff as well (I was in and out several times throughout the day).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here because we had tickets for the OSU vs. Penn State game, which was a night game. We stayed here once before a few years ago for Red, White and Boom and loved it. I am a bit aggravated at this hotel this time. I figured out (on my own) the week we were to stay there was to be a huge Halloween party right in front of the hotel. The party would close down High street in front of the hotel and the area north and south of it for the entire time of our stay. I assume no mention was made by the hotel because of not wanting to lose business (cause I sure would have found somewhere else to stay). I would have liked the hotel to (at the very least) provid directions to get around this mess to get their hotel. I called twice and spoke to two different front desk ladies. The first woman knew nothing about the party and the only advice to get to the hotel was there would be plenty of signs and police to get us there. The second woman also knew nothing about the party and didn't really think they would close the main street to have it but did give some (although incomplete) directions to the hotel. I can't understand how no one at this hotel knew about an event that would shut down the main way to get to their hotel. Their competitor next door knew about the event because it was on their website offering a package deal to the party goers and all the restaurants in the area knew (when we drove by they all had signs welcoming the party goers). The party was over a 1 p.m. on the dot but then we had to endure (we were on the street side) the clean up crews and their noise which was partially drowned out by the constantly running heating/cooling system in the room. The room this time also had some issues. The bed dipped in the center and although at first I was happy to see a night light in the bathroom the bulb was out. The breakfast was good and well stocked which included: eggs (two ways), sausage, waffles, cereal, muffins, french toast sticks, etc. I would have told the hotel what I thought in person rather than put it on here but they didn't seem interested. We checked out no one asked how our stay was or if everything met our expectations. The positives valet did a great job with a sold out hotel (cost $23) and the challenges with road closures and changes in traffic patterns around the hotel. I think I should have spoken to them on the phone about directions because they are ones that gave us directions to get back to the hotel after the game (one-way streets and traffic pattern changes along with the main street being blocked).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed at Hampton Short North OSU Homecoming - Columbus Marathon weekend. Hotel was extremely busy with guests and displayed stellar service during our stay. Front desk, valet, breakfast buffet staff all helpful and courteous. Our room was a 2 queen suite across from elevators that was quiet, clean, and well appointed in a modern motif. The location allows a short walk to many great restaurants and shops as well as a nice hike to OSU. Nice job !!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our stay at Hampton Inn in Columbus, OH was perfect. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff were friendly and accomodating. For the money spent, getting breakfast each morning was an added benefit. I would book there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#3 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#34 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#1 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Address: 501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Columbus
#7 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#13 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Hampton Inn Columbus
Columbus Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.