We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Chesapeake, United States
1 review
“Pleasant Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I wanted to say that my stay with you was great it was just like staying at a resort I didn't have to lift a finger and everyone was pleasant and friendly. I also wanted to say that I was greeted as a rewards member as soon as I stepped in the building which was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    99
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
59
63
24
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I found myself having to stay in Columbus for an extended amount of time because of my mother being hospitalized at OSU. After sleeping many nights in the hospital waiting room having a hotel room to go to for the weekend was exactly what I needed. I found this hotel to be perfect for my needs. The bed was quite comfortable and the breakfast as well as the coffee, which is served on the second floor was decent enough to get my day started. The staff is what made this hotel such a nice place to stay, more specifically Clifford. He was just such a happy person to be around and it was very refreshing to return from the hospital and be greeted by him. Clifford is certainly a wonderful person and this hotels greatest asset. Hopefully my next visit to Columbus will be under better circumstances. When I do return I will definitely stay in this hotel again. Also, if your looking for a good place to eat I would recommend Barleys Brew House which is located a couple doors down from the hotel. It wasn't a real quiet restaurant but the food was really good as well as the service and it was reasonably priced. The white truffle oil Mac and Cheese was the best Mac and Cheese I have ever had, the sauerkraut balls were delicious, and the beer battered fish was excellent too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Hotel location was excellent and easily accessible. The hotel staff was extrememly friendly and helpful and offered bottled water as we checked in. The room was very clean and smelled fresh. The breakfast buffet was well prepared and very tasty. The items offered were healthy and varied.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very nice hotel close to everything! Rooms are fantastic and service was awesome. Breakfast was ready at 6.00 every morning. I really enjoyed my stay here, and for the price it is hard to beat. Staff is knowledgeable and eager to help.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

clean... convenient. Can't be beat for location, to convention center and the marketplace that has many great food choices. Less than a block away. Also farmers market right outside hotel on Saturdays. Great place, excellent service from ALL front desk folks, friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, Usa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on August 7th with the wife and my two year old.

There was construction going on on the first and second levels. There was no mention of this on their website, which is just wrong and unacceptable. I don't think it would have changed out choice of hotels, but some people might be turned off by this. Be sure to call the hotel first if you think this is a concern.

However, the staff was very nice about it, and apologized. In fact, the staff at this hotel was about as nice as we have ever encountered, and I have traveled extensively for over two decades. My wife even remarked about how friendly everyone was, even down to the construction workers.

The room was remarkably clean and newly updated, I believe. The furnishings and overall look are more in line with a hip W hotel or similar. Loved the wallpaper and tile.

The pool and hot tub are salt water, which was nice. The pool was made out of stainless steel, which created a nice ambiance. Towels are provided in the pool area.

The free breakfast was rather ordinary- Holiday Inn Express, Residence Inn, Drury Inn, Embassy Suites, and Hyatt Place all offer much better breakfasts, for free, and their rooms are priced similar. Plus there was a lot of construction going on in the breakfast area while we were there.

Do yourself a favor, walk a block to the west and visit the North Market. http://www.northmarket.com/ There you will find a few dozen vendors in an enclosed market. Taste of Belgium has some amazing food, and you will find other coffee roasters and the like. Also a great place for lunch.

Speaking of the area, this hotel is right across from the convention center. Surrounding the hotel is some FANTASTIC restaurants, bars and breweries, most locally owned, all within a few blocks walking distance. Be sure to grab some Jennie Spendid Ice Cream if you do dairy.

Also there is a real nice park a few blocks north if you want to grab a lunch to go and eat in the shade outside.

Overall, I still rated this hotel 5 stars because a nice friendly staff just about outweighs any other aspect of our trips, and this hotel definitely provides that.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the west side will be much quieter. Facing the east you see the convention center and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Had a great stay, the hotel is close to bars and restaurants. When we came to the hotel it was currently under construction but they were sure to let you know they apologize for the inconvenience. The hotel is a little pricey, but they all are in that area. I think the parking should be included in with the hotel fee. But it was a good stay other than that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Address: 501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#4 Business Hotel in Columbus
#19 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Hampton Inn Columbus
Columbus Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.