We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay n Park
Ranked #9 of 141 hotels in Columbus
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved this hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Amazing staff and awesome room. Gorgeous bathroom, new, modern, very comfortable bed. Pool was warm and relaxing. Breakfast was great, something for everyone. Location could not have been more perfect. Our stay was very enjoyable and would highly recommend this hotel. Lots of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt K, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Julie D, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us! I am very happy to hear that you like the new bathrooms and our amenities. We have received a lot of great compliments about them! I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    80
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
47
53
20
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a great hotel within walking distance of so many really good places to eat and great bars. It is higher than most Hampton's but the location is worth it. Don't trust your GPS to find this one. Pay attention when you get close. The Knead next door is an outstanding locally sourced eclectic restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt K, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Eskimotrvir, I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay even with the ongoing renovations. Since your stay, the scaffolding has begun to be dismantled and the exterior work is near its end. I will be sure to let the owners of Knead know that you enjoyed their restaurant! I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Location, location, location. The downtown Columbus Hampton Inn & Suites is centrally located steps away from the Greater Columbus Convention Center, a short walk to the restaurants, galleries and shops in Short North and easy walking distance to the Nationwide Arena. It doesn't hurt that Barley's Brewing is three doors down, but that is for another review. The rooms are being remodeled and are very comfortable with the best pillows I have ever slept on.
The complementary breakfast is the best that I have had at any Hampton that I have stayed at.
The other great thing are the friendly and courteous staff.
Great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt K, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Charliegardener, Thank you so much for the great review! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay and the surrounding area! We are very lucky to be located in such a centralized location that our guests have so much to enjoy. I hope you are able to stay with us again next time you are in Columbus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This was our first visit to Columbus and we couldn't have stayed at a better place! We were immediately upgraded to a newly rennovated suite upon arrival. We felt a feeling of luxury that one might expect from a much more expensive hotel. The staff that we encountered were all very accomadating, friendly and willing to go the extra mile. The complimentary breakfast was very good with many choices in what appeared to be a newly rennovated space. The fitness facility and pool also appeared to be newly rennovated with the basics for a good workout. Everything was very clean, including our suite. One qualifier, is that we were there during an off time just before Christmas, but I think we would have received the same great treatment if we had been there during busier times. The location for us was great in as far as we came for an entertainment act on Park Avenue and to explore the Ohio State campus. The only downfalls that I could come up with were 1) the hotel is temporarily wrapped in construction paper (not a good photo op-LOL!) and 2) the parking is strictly valet at $23 per day. Other than that, we couldn't have asked for better place!

Room Tip: Our suite faced the North with a view of a beautiful church next door which to us was the most desir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

The renovation of this property is very impressive. The renovated rooms are very nice and staff service/friendly is just excellent. The location is very convenient if going to the convention center. There are lots of fine restaurants nearby.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have stayed at Hampton Inn and other Hilton Properties all over the US, and this one is fantastic - even while it is completing its renovations. The people that work there are kind and very accommodating. The new rooms are wonderfully appointed. Breakfast is good, with lots of options. I love that coffee and tea are always available. Plus, you can not beat the proximity to the convention center, its even closer to the convention center than the hyatt that is actually connected to the convention center via walkway.

I will be staying here from now on when I come to Columbus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was there for a conference and had a great stay. The location was next to the convention center and beside the Farmers Market. Loads of restaurants and bars nearby. Try the farmers market and Bar Louise at the back for great food and drinks.
Room was comfortable, clean and the toilets worked well.
Clifford was great. Tx

Room Tip: Get the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Address: 501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#4 Business Hotel in Columbus
#16 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Hampton Inn Columbus
Columbus Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.