We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Columbus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonoros Points
Ranked #9 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Columbus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Location, location, location. The downtown Columbus Hampton Inn & Suites is centrally located steps away from the Greater Columbus Convention Center, a short walk to the restaurants, galleries and shops in Short North and easy walking distance to the Nationwide Arena. It doesn't hurt that Barley's Brewing is three doors down, but that is for another review. The rooms are being remodeled and are very comfortable with the best pillows I have ever slept on.
The complementary breakfast is the best that I have had at any Hampton that I have stayed at.
The other great thing are the friendly and courteous staff.
Great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt K, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Charliegardener, Thank you so much for the great review! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay and the surrounding area! We are very lucky to be located in such a centralized location that our guests have so much to enjoy. I hope you are able to stay with us again next time you are in Columbus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    125
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
77
84
26
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This was our first visit to Columbus and we couldn't have stayed at a better place! We were immediately upgraded to a newly rennovated suite upon arrival. We felt a feeling of luxury that one might expect from a much more expensive hotel. The staff that we encountered were all very accomadating, friendly and willing to go the extra mile. The complimentary breakfast was very good with many choices in what appeared to be a newly rennovated space. The fitness facility and pool also appeared to be newly rennovated with the basics for a good workout. Everything was very clean, including our suite. One qualifier, is that we were there during an off time just before Christmas, but I think we would have received the same great treatment if we had been there during busier times. The location for us was great in as far as we came for an entertainment act on Park Avenue and to explore the Ohio State campus. The only downfalls that I could come up with were 1) the hotel is temporarily wrapped in construction paper (not a good photo op-LOL!) and 2) the parking is strictly valet at $23 per day. Other than that, we couldn't have asked for better place!

Room Tip: Our suite faced the North with a view of a beautiful church next door which to us was the most desir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

The renovation of this property is very impressive. The renovated rooms are very nice and staff service/friendly is just excellent. The location is very convenient if going to the convention center. There are lots of fine restaurants nearby.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have stayed at Hampton Inn and other Hilton Properties all over the US, and this one is fantastic - even while it is completing its renovations. The people that work there are kind and very accommodating. The new rooms are wonderfully appointed. Breakfast is good, with lots of options. I love that coffee and tea are always available. Plus, you can not beat the proximity to the convention center, its even closer to the convention center than the hyatt that is actually connected to the convention center via walkway.

I will be staying here from now on when I come to Columbus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was there for a conference and had a great stay. The location was next to the convention center and beside the Farmers Market. Loads of restaurants and bars nearby. Try the farmers market and Bar Louise at the back for great food and drinks.
Room was comfortable, clean and the toilets worked well.
Clifford was great. Tx

Room Tip: Get the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for an OSU conference and enjoyed it. They handled the mess and potential disruption from major renovations extremely well. Although I saw evidence of construction work I was never disturbed by noise or dust. My room was quiet and newly decorated. The service was wonderful--friendliest hotel staff I've encountered in ages. My only complaint was temperature. I couldn't seem to get the room cool enough to sleep really deeply, but that might just be my quirk. Overall, a great value close to a very cool neighborhood in Columbus. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We love staying at this hotel for the Columbus Marathon. The staff & especially the doorman, Clifford, are the best. The location puts us near both the start & finish & gives us many good food & drink, choices along with being near the convention center.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem great, I don't like being near an elevator. They are currently redoing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#3 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#35 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#1 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Address: 501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Columbus
#8 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#14 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Hampton Inn Columbus
Columbus Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.