We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but limited service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location but limited service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011 via mobile

Great location. Across the street from the convention center, and in the midst of Columbus' revitalized art and restaurant district. Room was clean, but each day maid didn't clean up our coffee cups from the morning. Had to handle my baggage by myself, even when the staff could see I was struggling with the luggage and my disabled mother! Free breakfast was a B minus--enough to get me going in the morning, but nothing to wait around for. Would recommend for the independent traveler who needs a safe place to stay in downtown Columbus.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    100
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
60
64
24
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Was in Columbus for a hockey game and this hotel was in the PERFECT location! Nationwide area was a short (less then 5 minutes) walk around the corner. After the game the area immediately surrounding the hotel was lively with night clubs and bars. There is also a farmer's market across the street on Saturday morning.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the public areas clean and nicely appointed. The indoor pool is pretty unique.
The room was clean and everything that's to be expected of a Hampton Inn & Suites. I will definately stay here in the future.
The only downside was the cost of the valet parking. $23 dollars is a little much and there is no self park option.

Room Tip: Use your AAA or other programs benefits to book your room. It saved me more than $50.00 There'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawyer Michigan
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Nice place, clsoe to everything downtown, nice staff, clean rooms, don't stay on the south side of the building as its next to the bar with outdoor music until late at night. Also all rooms have loud air conditioning units so realize that before you reserve.

Room Tip: Stay on north side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011 via mobile

The hotel was excellent for what I needed...close access to the Arena district. Staff were courteous and efficient. Room was clean and quiet. My only gripe was that there were too many people at breakfast for the hotel to accomodate. I would stay here again any time I needed this location.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallmadge, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed at the Hampton Inn on a Friday night with some friends for a 2-day seminar & retreat. Great service, very clean hotel, comfy beds, lots to see & do. The beautiful breakfast area has good food & the pool & hot tub were great for some down time. Nice workout room, but didn't use it. The only complaint was the noisy music from the area bars that kept this light sleeper from getting to sleep--even with ear plugs. If you like the night life, don't mind the music or are a heavy sleeper, this is the place for your weekend stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

I stayed here last night (aug 26th) and it was wonderful. The staff did everything to make you feel like royalty. From the valet parking, bell hop and check in. I would highly recommend staying here as it is close to everything. You have the arena, lc pavillion, north market and I highly recommend going to Martini's for happy hour.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed here while my son attended an event at OSU. Although not right on campus, it was an easy 5-10 min.drive and in a really nice area. We loved the location for walking to the farmer's market and good restaurants. We had a king suite which was beautiful and very quiet. The breakfast area was nicer than most and the food was satisfactory. The only reason I couldn't give 5 stars was the poor maintenance of the workout room equipment. The first treadmill I tried did not work; the second worked but I was unable to change the incline and kept getting shocks through the headphones! Other than that, it was a lovely hotel and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Address: 501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#4 Business Hotel in Columbus
#19 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Hampton Inn Columbus
Columbus Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.