We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonoros Points
Ranked #6 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tallmadge, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice Hotel...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed at the Hampton Inn on a Friday night with some friends for a 2-day seminar & retreat. Great service, very clean hotel, comfy beds, lots to see & do. The beautiful breakfast area has good food & the pool & hot tub were great for some down time. Nice workout room, but didn't use it. The only complaint was the noisy music from the area bars that kept this light sleeper from getting to sleep--even with ear plugs. If you like the night life, don't mind the music or are a heavy sleeper, this is the place for your weekend stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    109
    26
    11
    7
See reviews for
69
73
24
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

I stayed here last night (aug 26th) and it was wonderful. The staff did everything to make you feel like royalty. From the valet parking, bell hop and check in. I would highly recommend staying here as it is close to everything. You have the arena, lc pavillion, north market and I highly recommend going to Martini's for happy hour.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed here while my son attended an event at OSU. Although not right on campus, it was an easy 5-10 min.drive and in a really nice area. We loved the location for walking to the farmer's market and good restaurants. We had a king suite which was beautiful and very quiet. The breakfast area was nicer than most and the food was satisfactory. The only reason I couldn't give 5 stars was the poor maintenance of the workout room equipment. The first treadmill I tried did not work; the second worked but I was unable to change the incline and kept getting shocks through the headphones! Other than that, it was a lovely hotel and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My daughter and I have stayed here 7 straight years going to the Origins Game Fair and we love it.

The hotel is great. I can think of nothing physically wrong with this place. It is reasonably quiet, the staff is great (we love Clifford), and the breakfast is awesome. And the 2nd floor lobby (breakfast area in the morning) is great for relaxing, socializing, playing games, etc. after you're done at the convention center.

The location is the best. While the Hyatt is attached to the convention center it's at the far end. The Hampton is across the street and much closer to the halls of the convention center. (My only concern might be (a) the weather and (b) the traffic, but neither have been a problem in all these years.)

In addition to the closeness to the convention center, the access to restaurants is unbeatable. North Market, Barley's, and Japanese Steak House are all essentially next door. Just a short walk up the street (100 yards?) and you're in Short North where restaurants and bars of every type abound.

Just the best place to stay if you have an event at the Columbus Convention Center. We love it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McComb, Ohio
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Our extended family rented a number of rooms for my son's wedding and were extremely pleased with our experience at this hotel. Located right across from the Colulmbus Convention Center and close to the Arena District which is very busy on the weekends.

The breakfast area was well stocked in the mornings and we had no trouble finding a table or available food as others have commented on. Parking is a little pricing at $23 per night but its valet and they always had the car there within several minutes. Really like the feature of texting their valet staff for the car as it was always ready and waiting at the front door.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in downtown Columbus.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

The location of this hotel is good if you're going to the convention center, North Market (only a block away) or the restaurants and shops at Short North which is only a few blocks away. They don't have refrigerators or microwaves, but the bathrooms are large and furnishings are typical Hampton and more than adequate. Rooms here were very clean and I was impressed with the stocking of ammenities in the room.

The design of this hotel is a U shape, so if you want a view make sure you get an even number room. I ended up with an odd number room which meant that when I looked out the window I was looking into another guest's room. These interior rooms give you no view and require you to keep the curtains closed all the time or have people looking in your room.

Staff here is indifferent to the needs of guests. They don't greet you when you walk in and you'll be waited on at the front desk only when they've finished phone calls or take a break from looking at their computers. Requests for help go largely unnoticed. The staff doesn't seem to know the area, I was sent on a wild goose chase for a drug store when it turned out there was one a few blocks down on the same street. I've received much better service at other Hamptons where it felt like the staff actually cared about guest service. Here you feel like you're an inconvenience to the staff, which is echoed in other reviews.

Safety is a bit of a concern, I was harrassed by beggars every night I walked out of the lobby. Staff again didn't do anything to help and the beggars will follow you and persist in asking for money and cigarettes.

Breakfast here is good though and the location was convenient, although I found out I could have gotten a better rate at either the Hyatt or Crown Plaza which has much easier access to the convention center and doesn't seem to have the issue of vagrants outside the lobby. Service might be better there as well, so shop around.

Room Tip: Always go for an even number room for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel a few times and keep coming back. The rooms are comfortable, the shower heads are at a height that works for a 6'5" guy and it is walking distance to a number of great restaurants.

During my last stay, I found a billing error after I checked out. I contacted the hotel and they put it right immediately.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Address: 501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#3 Business Hotel in Columbus
#16 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Hampton Inn Columbus
Columbus Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.