We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive but not comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Worthington Red Roof Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Worthington Red Roof Inn to your Saves list
Worthington Red Roof Inn
7480 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43235-1446   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Ohio City, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Inexpensive but not comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Inexpensive and clean but that is all. Bed was uncomfortable, though that is subjective. No coffee maker in room unless you pay extra and NO hairdryer. When we left for the day we saw 2 housekeepers outside smoking and one asked me if I needed anything. I said fresh towels. When we came back that evening the room was not cleaned, dirty towels on the floor, but we had a stack of clean towels on the chair. Didn't know I had to specifically say "Fresh towels AND clean the room."

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandonlarson, General Manager at Worthington Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thanks for the review. I'm very sorry you were not happy with your stay. Please contact me at the hotel to discuss if you'd like. We would very much like an opportunity to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    41
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
19
17
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I was not satisfied with the stay here. If you're looking for cheap you will get it. Rooms have no refrigerator and you will have the opportunity to watch your grandmother's television. Hair on the bathroom wall and stains on the sheets. The parking lot was also slightly unsafe and is right next to a neighborhood pub.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandonlarson, General Manager at Worthington Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thanks for the review. Since this is your first and only review on Tripadvisor I can only imagine we really upset you in some way. Please contact me regarding your stay and I will gladly refund you. I do not expect you to pay for a room you weren't happy with. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This hotel is definitely showing its age. This last stay was less then desirable.

High Street right outside the hotel is being widened and the interchange with High Street and I-270 is being redone so getting in and out of the area is migraine inducing.

I got a non-smoking room double beds this time and still the blankets used had cigarette smells and burns on them. The beds were heavily pitted in one spot, signs that they were very very old (and uncomfortable).

Overnight several times on the three nights I stayed there a very loud creaking/groaning/moaning noise came from the water pipes either from the next door, or above. I called the front desk about it twice on two separate nights and the front desk staff seemed less than concerned that at 1-2am the pipes were making a noise which prevented any sleep and woke me out of a heavy sleep (making it seem like I was the only one that heard these pipes and that I was making a mountain out of a molehill). Mentioning it to the front desk when I checked out and they simply stated "we'll get someone to check it out".

The wi-fi was fast though this visit, and stable. If I need a budget hotel, I'll stay here but it REALLY needs the upgrades that are coming to the other RRI hotels in the area, and fast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Iowa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Had a business meeting at a nearby hotel - although its company $$ involved - I spend as if it were my own. Decided to stay at Red Roof Worthington due to overall good reviews of others. Those reviews held true to being a nice place to stay for the money. Paid $61/night including taxes for very large business room. vs. $150 night with taxes at nearby hotel. For needing a place to sleep and do work you don't need anything better. Not like your on a vacation with family. No breakfast, but for $$ spent don't expect. Go nearby to the Bob Evans for a reasonable breakfast. BTW, the $150 hotel didn't have breakfast either...that was about $15 -$20 person extra in their restaurant. Room does have a refrigerator and microwave if you have left overs to heat up or bring in some groceries. Found it to be clean and well maintained for an older building. Plenty of things to do and go out to eat nearby. Cody at the front desk will help you in any way he can to make sure your stay is enjoyable. I'd stay here again if traveling through. Some places Its good enough for me but not my family. Here, I would not be afraid to bring my family.

Room Tip: There is a busy street nearby. Ask for a room away from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandonlarson, General Manager at Worthington Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thanks for the review! I'm glad you recognize our value. I'll be especially sure to share your comments with Cody. He's been on the team for years and it never gets old hearing about someone going above and beyond. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This Red Roof Inn is located in a complex of good restaurants and a super deluxe movie theater with almost 20 screens just off Route 23 near the beltway. The rate was very reasonable. I was offered a handicap accessible room without asking for it (probably due to my perceived age). The room seemed clear and adequate. Parking was just outside the door. Very convenient and reasonably priced. Noise was not noticeable. Staff were courteous. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandonlarson, General Manager at Worthington Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thanks for the review! We're glad you had a great stay and we'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I've stayed here for a week now everything has been great the front desk staff (justin and Danielle) are great very personable and always say hi and ask how I'm doing they are assets to this place. Maria at the front desk on the other hand is extremely rude and rolled her eyes while I was talking to her. All because the coke machine ate my money I just informed her that it took my money and she said well there use at your own risk and I said I'm not asking for my money back but maybe u should put a sign up Out of order on it she said no bc there all use at your own risk. While she was arguing with me she did her little head twitch with attitude the whole time. I've never ever been treated or talked to like she did. Also I saw her sleeping on the job while people were just knocking on the front (locked) door to get in to rent a room which they couldn't bc she was sleeping. So she lost money for this place. She obviously doesn't like people or know how to treat them bc when I complained to the day clerk I told them what happened and they didn't look shocked at all I didn't even mention her name and they instantly knew I was talking about her. So all said and done she needs fired and the other front desk clerks Justin and Danielle are great and they are why I still remain here bc I did almost leave bc of here. I had a problem with my mini fridge and I think the maintenance guy was named dragamere came and fixed it he was so funny and great to talk to we instantly got along bc were both german. So def stay here but watch out for the front desk girl maria she's pretty much a miserable person.... thanks

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandonlarson, General Manager at Worthington Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thanks for the review! I'm very sorry you had a bad experience during your stay. I appreciate you contacting me directly so we could speak about it. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I saved $30 by booking this hotel instead of the downtown Red Roof Inn - and parking was free here too... The front desk woman was friendly and efficient and while the rooms are more "old school," everything was clean and worked well. My room had a nice refrigerator, microwave, desk and kingsize bed - all for $54 including taxes (which are cheaper than at the airport or downtown). Best of all, the hotel is located near 270, 315 and 71 and there are some really great choices for dining you can walk to - from a cool bar to primo steak joints, a starbucks and cheap Chinese - not to mention a movie theater... Down the road a short jaunt are groceries and lots of other options -but you could easily park the car and leave it for an entire weekend, just walking to restaurants and entertainment. That plus the friendly service and spotless rooms will get me coming back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandonlarson, General Manager at Worthington Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thanks for the review! It's great to hear guests who go out of their way to share their experience with other travelers. We all appreciate you taking the time and we hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Worthington Red Roof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worthington Red Roof Inn

Address: 7480 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43235-1446
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn and Travelocity so you can book your Worthington Red Roof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Columbus
Columbus Red Roof Inn
Worthington Red Roof Inn Columbus, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Worthington Red Roof Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.