We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE: Additional Fees” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8555 Lyra Drive, Columbus, OH 43240 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe - Columbus - Polaris)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #76 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“BEWARE: Additional Fees”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

I booked through hotwire and rate was forty-two plus tax for one queen bed. We require two beds and were charged an additional fifteen dollars, plus tax, for 2 double beds---increasing our original cost by 1/3. Also, there is a FEE for internet. Each room has a kitchenette, so breakfast is limited to coffee, doughnuts, and a bit of fresh fruit. Room was recently renovated, but towels and bed coverings are very frayed and thin. Bar soap is provided, but shampoo, lotion, etc, must be requested from front desk. Located across the street from Polaris shopping Mall and short distance from Interstate 71. This property was not a good value.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-TOH, Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
"I recently received a copy of your review of the Extended Stay Deluxe Columbus - Polaris. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

We specialize in providing clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price. That means we don't set out extra amenities like shampoo, lotions, shower caps, etc, in our rooms. However, our hotel does have a limited supply of sundries at the front desk, and we happily dispense them free of charge upon request. Operating in this way allows us to continue to provide you our great rooms at exceptional rates. I take seriously your concern, however, and assure you that we work very hard to explain exactly what we offer to our guests before they arrive. I am, of course, very sorry that we were unable to make our offerings more clear to you before you checked in, and hope that you will keep our hotel in mind when your future needs are for an accommodation like ours.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    29
    18
    9
    7
See reviews for
20
17
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence Forge, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

Great stay at this hotel, the service was great, the housekeepers were wonderful. We had to stay for almost a month--it was home away from home. Had my 18 month old son and the room worked great

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-TOH, Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
"I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay Deluxe Columbus - Polaris. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a ""home away from home"" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Stayed for a week to attend training. The location was excellent! The motel was newer and nicer and clean and the location could not have been more convenient. All within walking distance, a huge mall and a Target and a Ralphs! And mere bocks from a major highway. Hard to imagine stayinging in Columbus proper would have been more convenient as the travel time was around 15 minutes the location near the college. And a clean gym within walking distance with a low weekly rate.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

Hotel is nice enough in aesthetics and certainly in location. However, the room was not the cleanest and the bathroom verged on grotesque with the overlooked crud in the corners, and hair that clearly belonged to a barbarian of a man, apparently with a highly progressed hair loss ailment. I paid 38 dollars for the room through hotwire, so taking price into consideration, its descent. I WOULD NOT stay here at 70 or 80 or even 90 dollars a night. If you are looking for the best deal on polaris parkway, stay at Cambria Suites. Impeccable, reasonable, and nearly brand new.

we'll see if breakfast bagels redeems the extended stay in the morning!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-TOH, Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this review, May 23, 2010
"Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience at Extended Stay Deluxe Columbus - Polaris. Providing for your total satisfaction, from the moment you arrive to the moment you depart, is my staff's primary duty. Hearing that we failed in your case is truly disheartening, and for that, I offer you my sincerest apology.

I am glad for the opportunity to respond to you in this forum. Given how hard we work to provide our guests with outstanding accommodations, I was troubled to read your remarks about the level of cleanliness in your suite. Please know that we do have strict quality control standards, and that we inspect each room prior to making it available to our guests. In response to your comments, I’ve personally met with our hotel manager and staff in order to investigate your case in more detail.

Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical, and that we have put in place measures to ensure that the type of stay you had won't be repeated. Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction. If there is anything you would like to discuss further with me or our guest relations team, please don't hesitate to contact us by visiting our website and clicking on the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again if future travels will bring you into our area."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Following a good experience during the summer while dropping our daughter off to college, we stayed here again on parent's weekend. This hotel is easily in the three star category (without the free shampoo in the room), but with a lot more space than you get even in the three and a half or four star category. We found it be quiet in the room, non-hectic lobby and large common rooms.

Staying here saved us enough money over other places, that we treated ourselves to a very nice steak dinner at Mitchell's just across the road (excellent wine list and exceptional steaks. not cheap, but well worth it.) Other good eats very close by and very easy to get anywhere due to the location on Polaris Pkwy. Why pay more?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-TOH, Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this review, April 26, 2010
"Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Extended Stay Deluxe Columbus - Polaris. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. We were among the first in the industry to identify a need for a fully functional hotel suite, complete with range top and full refrigerator. We know that this offering is compelling because of the continued compliments we receive from guests like you.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

I obtained my room through Hotwire. I only paid $38.00 per night, and honestly, for the money the room was more than I expected, in terms of size and the extras. There's a mini kitchen, a small living room set up and a seperate bathroom, dvd player..you get the idea.

I arrived mid afternoon with my two kids, we were all exhausted and decided to rest awhile. Not long after I checked in, I received a call from the woman at the front desk and she asked if we were happy with the room. My response was that things were fine and they were, at that time.

A while later I got up to use the restroom and shower and discovered that there were dirty towels and the toilet was stopped up, nearly over flowing. I called the front desk back immediately and this time Ryan answered. When I explained that I needed assistance with the toilet, Ryan coldly suggested that I stop by the front desk and pick up the plunger. Huh? Really, Ryan? I was a tad thrown off by the suggestion that I not only come and pick up the plunger, but I plunge my own toilet. I went on to ask Ryan if a maintenance person was available and Ryan stated there was no maintenance person, and then reminded me again about being able to stop by to pick up the plunger.

Well folks, long story short, Ryan and I go back and forth about the toilet situation for several minutes, then I lay the dirty towel situation on him. Ryan reminded me that when I was called earlier by the front desk staff, everything was fine, and that the room had been triple checked before my arrival. He finally offered another room, but only after a tiring exchange.

Overall, the room had a lot of bang for the buck. However, I have to wonder if it was worth sacrificing the level of customer service that I am used to when staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

In Ohio for the Quarter Horse Congress and wanted to stay far enough from the expo center to miss the crowds. This property was an excellent choice. Easy on/off of I-71which made it a straight shot to the show. Quiet but with plenty of restaurants/fast food within walking distance. Large shopping mall across the street. Hotel staff were very polite and went out of their way to make sure my stay was pleasant. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying on the north side of Columbus.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — small parking area
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-TOH, Hotel Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this review, April 27, 2009
It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Extended Stay Deluxe Columbus - Polaris. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our company motto is ""Excellence Every Day, Every Way"", and my promise to you is that we will continue to operate according to this practice; after all, that's how Extended Stay Hotels(sm) got to be the largest extended stay lodging brand in North America.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Also, know that any of our nearly 700 Extended Stay Hotels(sm) locations is eager to serve you in most major metro areas in the U.S. and in Canada. Search for them at any time by going to our website. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris

Address: 8555 Lyra Drive, Columbus, OH 43240 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe - Columbus - Polaris)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Extended Stay and Orbitz so you can book your Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Columbus - Polaris Hotel Columbus
Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris Ohio
Extended Stay Columbus
Columbus Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.