We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8555 Lyra Drive, Columbus, OH 43240 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe - Columbus - Polaris)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 15% TODAY!
Ranked #79 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Fantastic value!! Andrea leads a great staff that is very much customer focused. Very convenient location - next to Polaris Mall and many restaurants. The rooms were very clean and spacious. We have stayed at this hotel three times - the second time was for seven months. We would stay here again and I recommend this hotel to our traveling customers. Great hotel!!!

Room Tip: Call hotel directly and talk to helpful staff. Rooms on 1st and 2nd floor are non-smoking. Laundry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-BKL, Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Butch C,
I appreciate you taking the time to write such a fantastic review. It's great to hear that my staff and I took such great care of you during each of your stays with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. I look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    30
    20
    10
    8
See reviews for
21
18
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Good Hotel with accessibility for Handicapped people. It has good smoking and Non smoking rooms fully equipped with Kitchen. They have a free Grab and Go breakfast. They have a free shuttle service for guests in the morning and evening. If you belong to companies working out of Polaris, then they have free Morning drops and pickup. Target and Best Buy are just a 100 mtrs away. Very good restaurants serving Pizzas, Mexican Grill and all other continental food are all walkable distance away. Indians do have a good option withing 3-4 miles. They offer weekly one every Thursday a trip to a Indian Store named Bombay Bazaar in the evening. Warning: They have weekly once room service only. Facility is accesible for Pets too.

Thanks from my side to the crew of the Hotel: Andrea, Jade(the best amongst all), Carly, Tito, Amra: You guys Rock.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-BKL, Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear CRDEBATA,
I appreciate you taking the time to write such an excellent review of our hotel. It's great to hear that our staff was able to provide you such great service. I am also happy that that you took the time to share your thoughts with potential future guests. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

WARNING: This is a smoking hotel. Even if you do not get a smoking room (which we unfortunately did) the hallways smell of smoke and your clothes and luggage will too. The nice gentleman at the front desk gave us a bottle of "smoke eliminator" which really did not do much. It was not the cleanest hotel either. This was definitely not a "home away from home" as they would like you to believe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-BKL, Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Jmseymour,
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I sincerely apologize that you were checked into a smoking room when you preferred a non-smoking room. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am going to make sure our front desk verifies that reserved room type with each guest upon check-in. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. I invite you to contact me at CPL@extendedstay.com if you have any additional comments. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

hotel is conveniently located next to interstate 71 next to the Hilton and Wendys. The area is all malls (Saks, Macys, etc), strip malls (TJ Maxx, Big Lots!, etc), fast food and sit down restaurants and office buildings. Nothing notable.

Hotel itself offers free parking grab and go breakfast (instant oatmeal, granola bars, fresh apples+oranges, coffee) and wifi, which was good enough to stream movies. Rooms are clean but this is def a budget hotel and the sheets, towels, toilet paper, shower curtain, and window curtains are all very thin. Kitchen has 2 of everything - dish towels, pans, forks, spoons, butter knives, one steak knive, 2 salad plates, 2 dinner plates, two soup/cereal bowls and 2 drinking glasses. There is also a colander, cutting board, 2 burner stove top, microwave, full fridge and dishwasher. The ktichen light goes out once every hour or so for about 10 minutes. Something about it getting too hot. Weird.

there is a gym but the 4 machines are ancient, though still in working condition and will get the job done.

Room has a dvd player.

Few interactions with staff but they seem friendly and helpful enough. Overall a great value for the money.

Room Tip: if your room is by the service entrance it will be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-TOH, Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a positive review about your stay in Columbus, Ohio. As a valued guest of Extended Stay America. I am delighted to hear of the great value, and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Given our commitment to your satisfaction, we are using your comments as an opportunity to improve our services. We look forward to seeing you again on your return visit to the Columbus area. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had been stuck in Columbus due to weather and stayed her for a few nights. The hotel was great! The staff was extremely friendly. The hotel was relatively quiet. The rooms were comfy and clean. The location is GREAT! The fact it has free Internet was wonderful, too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-TOH, Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of your recent stay at our Polaris location. We are delighted that you gave us an opportunity during your layover in Columbus. We are totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We look forward to seeing you again on your travels to Columbus, Ohio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We used Hotwire.com to make our reservation. When we arrived, they placed us in a non- smoking room which smelled highly of smoke. We also noted hair about the vent above the stove. Looks like they used the same cleaning rag to wash the whole room. The Gentleman at the front desk was nice and upgraded us to another room. The smoke odor was gone from this room, however we counted 10 plus hairs about the bathroom alone. The bed was less than comfortable. But in fairness the hotel is located next to a multitude of shops and restaurants, and just across the street from the Polaris Mall. The purpose of our stay was shopping for Christmas. Hope this review helps.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-TOH, Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I sincerely apologize of the smoke odor and cleanliness in your first room but glad to hear the front office was able to provide you another room. I will also be speaking with our housekeeping department to ensure our guestrooms have the highest quality of cleanliness to prevent these type occurances from happening. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate your feedback. I invite you to contact me at cpl@extendedstay.com if you have any additional comments. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great safe location. The room was nice and clean . The staff were all very friendly

Was here to visit family for Thanksgiving. Did some shopping in which the Mall is a block away.
The rooms were very clean and the exterior was being painted. Nice to have an early morning
place to relax and grab a quick bite to eat. Had reserved a Queen rm which we upgraded to a king for a small fee.........it was 3 x the size. I would suggest this to future guests.

Room Tip: King size bed and room was very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-TOH, Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Bobb,
Thank you for writing a positive review of your stay at our Columbus Polaris location. We are delighted you chose our hotel during the Thanksgiving Holiday. It is wonderful to hear of the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of your guestroom in making your stay your home away from home. We look forward to seeing you again on your travels back to the Columbus area. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris

Address: 8555 Lyra Drive, Columbus, OH 43240 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe - Columbus - Polaris)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Columbus - Polaris Hotel Columbus
Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris Ohio
Extended Stay Columbus
Columbus Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.