We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8555 Lyra Drive, Columbus, OH 43240 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe - Columbus - Polaris)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #70 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I want to let Travelers know that the Front Desk Team is Awesome.
They truly make you feel welcomed.
Housekeeping Staff is just Wonderful.
I'm here on business and whether you are are here for 2 weeks or 2 months
They give you 5 Star Service!
You can't beat the Price.
The Location is Great!
Polaris is Mall, Restaurants, Bars, its all here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    27
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
17
16
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The hotel is in a great location. You are only a few minutes from shopping and restaurants. This is pretty much the only reason we stayed here, and it is very affordable.

Our check-in took 15 minutes and we were the only people in line. The computer was slow and the receptionist did not seem to be in much of a hurry either.

Once we got to the room, we noticed it had seen better days. What bothered us was that it was not clean. The bed had hair in it and we had to call the front desk to have the bedding changed. Someone came in less than 10 minutes and took care of the issue.The room was dusty and there was evidence of hair in the bathroom as well.

Around 10pm, we came back to the hotel from a restaurant and was with another couple in the lobby. A female was allowed into the hotel without a key card that could not have been anything but a prostitute. We were shocked and decided to call it a night. We got up very early the next morning and left never to return here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Extended Stay Deluxe Columbus - Polaris. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

The experience you described is truly regrettable. We strive to ensure that our guests have an exceptional stay. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have brought each of the issues you expressed to the attention of our staff.

We know that we didn’t get to be a member of America’s number one family of extended stay hotels over night; we did it by focusing on one customer at a time. We know that a totally satisfied customer is one who will come back and stay with us again. That is why we take your review so seriously. It reminds us that despite all of the regular praise we receive, we still have room to improve.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

The location is prime...but I had to pray myself to sleep the first night. The bed was not the most comfortable. The kitchen area was clean; however, the kitchenware was worn and I refused to eat in the room. The front desk employees were nice.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review of the Extended Stay Deluxe Columbus - Polaris. Our company prides itself on excellent guest service, so it was gratifying to read your feedback about our staff. I would like to give you my most heartfelt apology regarding the part of your stay that was not satisfactory.

Given how hard we work to provide our guests with outstanding accommodations, I was troubled to read your remarks about the bed in your suite. Please know how important your comfort is to us. We have chosen bedding that we think best fits our customers' needs, and we continue to look for new ways to satisfy everyone's sleeping preferences.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirtland, Ohio
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel and had two rooms. We were not sure how it would be since we used Expedia to get it, and they did not reveal the name until after the purchase. We were able to upgrade the rooms to 2 beds for a small charge of $5.00 at check in. The front desk clerk, Tito, could not have been any nicer and helpful to us! It is unusual to have such a helpful person working at the front desk! The rooms were large with a kitchen, sofa bed, recliner, and working desk area. A simple continental breakfast is included. They also had a full menu for room service. The furniture was very comfortable, and everything was in good working condition. If you are Japanese or Indian you might enjoy the Janpanese or Indian TV Stations! We had a good night's sleep since it was very quiet. It is located close to just about every kind of shopping and restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

We frequent Columbus about once a month for shopping and use discount sites. I know that every hotel on polaris parkway is upper middle class And for $38 a night I knew it would be an effeciency suit of some sort which is a bargain. If you are not familiar with the area THIS WILL BE HARD TO SPOT since the signage on building is small. It is located off 71 which for us is in between my preferred shopping. It also is located across the street (eight lanes) from Polaris fashion place (very large enclosed mall with lifestyle center and it us also within walking distance (like yards so same side of street) to Wendy's Quaker steak carrabas and go cart game center. And just walk up the street and there is a target and a beginning of a long and large upscale strip mall that has old navy ulta tjmaxx world market beat buy big lots lane Bryant hallmark and thats just a few. This is one of the best exits within Columbus because there is so much and it stretches left and right with choices. Safe surroundings too. Polaris parkway is surrounded by upscale neighborhoods.





NOW ABOUT THE BEDS
YOU WILL WANT TO READ
We got a studio with a queen bed and it was so hard I couldn't sleep until 6 am! And there will be an oversized chair and guess what it is a pull out twin bed! No one told us about this! I discovered it after trying to use cushions as pillows because there are not extras in the room. But I will add that I'm 5'6 170 pounds and anyone bigger or taller will not fit on the pullout. It is a mini twin. And our carpet needed more cleaning as it was stained. The room did have a full size fridge and cabinets but had few pans and had two small burners.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

The staff was very nice and service excellent...very roomy.....location is great....I have stayed in several Extended Stay Hotels and this is my favorite...I am going back Monday 5/30/11 I do however wish they had bigger TV sets. The staff goes out of its way to accommodate you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-TOH, Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this review, May 28, 2011
"Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Extended Stay Deluxe Columbus - Polaris. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. By continuing to provide our valued guests with exceptional value, we know Extended Stay Hotels(sm) will remain the #1 extended stay lodging source in the North America.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

I booked through hotwire and rate was forty-two plus tax for one queen bed. We require two beds and were charged an additional fifteen dollars, plus tax, for 2 double beds---increasing our original cost by 1/3. Also, there is a FEE for internet. Each room has a kitchenette, so breakfast is limited to coffee, doughnuts, and a bit of fresh fruit. Room was recently renovated, but towels and bed coverings are very frayed and thin. Bar soap is provided, but shampoo, lotion, etc, must be requested from front desk. Located across the street from Polaris shopping Mall and short distance from Interstate 71. This property was not a good value.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-TOH, Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
"I recently received a copy of your review of the Extended Stay Deluxe Columbus - Polaris. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

We specialize in providing clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price. That means we don't set out extra amenities like shampoo, lotions, shower caps, etc, in our rooms. However, our hotel does have a limited supply of sundries at the front desk, and we happily dispense them free of charge upon request. Operating in this way allows us to continue to provide you our great rooms at exceptional rates. I take seriously your concern, however, and assure you that we work very hard to explain exactly what we offer to our guests before they arrive. I am, of course, very sorry that we were unable to make our offerings more clear to you before you checked in, and hope that you will keep our hotel in mind when your future needs are for an accommodation like ours.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris

Address: 8555 Lyra Drive, Columbus, OH 43240 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe - Columbus - Polaris)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Columbus - Polaris Hotel Columbus
Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris Ohio
Extended Stay Columbus
Columbus Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.