We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just as expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn North Polaris

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn North Polaris to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn North Polaris
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8400 Lyra Drive, Columbus, OH 43240 (Formerly Baymont Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #40 of 141 hotels in Columbus
Toronto
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“just as expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

On the way south to Florida, we chose the Comfort Inn North/Polaris just north of Columbus. It was easy to find just off I-71 and very convenient to several restaurants. Check-in and check-out were both easy and very pleasant. We asked for a restaurant suggestion since there were many within walking distance or a very short drive and we were told that we could get a 10% discount or free appetizer by showing our room key at Texas Roadhouse right next to the hotel.

Our room was quite large (king bed) and perfectly clean. The hotel is not new, but has been well maintained and perhaps re-furbished in the not too distant past.The only blemish was a small scratch on one of the floor tiles in the bathroom and a tiny trace of mold in the grout just beside the tub. So, nothing luxurious, but certainly clean and adequately appointed. The bed was comfy for both of us. We did hear some noise from above(heavy footsteps or someone jumping), but nothing after about 9:30.

Breakfast (included) was among the better ones we've had in moderately priced hotels. Lots of choices of the usual (cereal, different bagels, breads, English muffins, waffle mix, juices, yogurt, oranges,etc) and in addition were scrambled eggs (real), cheese omelette, bacon(not bad) and sausage(looked too greasy to try). We were here in January and it was not very busy at all, but I was impressed that the breakfast room was fully stocked and carefully tended by a pleasant and helpful staff member.

Overall, we were very pleased and satisfied with everything about our experience, especially considering the excellent rate (CARP) of $64.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolpuhl3, General Manager at Comfort Inn North Polaris, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your stay during your stopover from Toronto to Florida. Our convenient location to I-71 and restaurant choices, and shopping nearby are why many visitors return again and again. Thanks also for your mention of our cleanliness and bountiful breakfast; our associates take a lot of pride in. We hope you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    39
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
40
22
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Western New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My spouse and I stayed here for one night on our way south for the holidays. My only complaint is that I didn't have time to stay another night. We arrived late at night, and were greeted by friendly and helpful staff at the front desk. Check-in was fast and efficient. Our room was VERY clean and comfortable. It appeared to be newly painted and papered, and was nicely decorated. The bed was the most comfy I've slept on at a hotel...for the first time in ages, I slept the night through.
Hotel has a guest laundry room.
While researching this hotel, I read it had a free breakfast with eggs and meat. This is an understatement! While there were plenty of scrambled eggs, there was also western omelets, bacon, sausage and ham! Coffee, juice, cereals, blueberry and regular make-your-own waffles, danishes...I'm sure I'm forgetting something! Far surpasses any other complimentary breakfasts I've come across.
Overall, we were very pleased with Comfort Inn North/Polaris and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolpuhl3, General Manager at Comfort Inn North Polaris, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Great value, clean comfortable accomodations, friendly associates and a great breakfast to start your day. Thanks for noticing all our true value statements that we work so hard at doing. We certainly appreciate the time you took to let everyone know. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Room was clean and comfortable. Slept very well, never heard any noises. The pool and hot tub were very clean and not busy at all. Breakfast was very nice also. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolpuhl3, General Manager at Comfort Inn North Polaris, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Thanks for the great compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back to central Ohio and the Comfort Inn Polaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I just stayed at the Comfort inn North Polaris this past weekend and it was WONDERFUL! The room was very clean and the bed was comfy. We used the pool and the hot tub and they were both very clean and enjoyable. The breakfast in the morning had a wide variety of hot and cold food. All the staff that I came in contact with were very friendly! I am flying out of Columbus in Dec. I was going to stay at a Hilton but I am now going to return here since it was so nice and a lot cheaper!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolpuhl3, General Manager at Comfort Inn North Polaris, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thanks for your kind words on our friendly associates. We pride ourselves in clean, comfortable rooms at a great value and appreciate your taking notice to that! We love our indoor pool and we're glad you enjoyed that experience as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011 via mobile

The hotek was great, great staff, comfortable rooms BUT there was music playing ALL NIGHT at magic mountain next door...i got no sleep at all, and the ac wouldnt stay on?

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolpuhl3, General Manager at Comfort Inn North Polaris, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry the music from next door kept you awake. The management team has assure us this was an isolated incident and they'll make a better effort to turn the music off at night.
We will certainly appreciate the kind words and your suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for our first trip to the Country Living Fair. The front desk personnel were very helpful and seemed genuinely glad to have us. We liked that the hotel was a few miles from downtown and the area had everything you could want or need in close proximity. The continental breakfast had a great selection and food was good. We will most definitely stay here when we come back next year for the 2012 fair. Thanks!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side are quieter. Since the mini golf place is behind the hotel, the music plays...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolpuhl3, General Manager at Comfort Inn North Polaris, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thanks for your kind words about our location and proximity Ohio Village and Ohio Historical Society; site of the 2011 Country Living Fair. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. I would also like to thank you for the compliments on our friendly associates and complimentary hot breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Please note this hotel is not close to downtown Columbus. I needed a place to crash for the night as Columbus was just a stopping point on a longer road trip. This place is in a nice suburb outside of the city, mostly surrounded by other hotels, businesses and shopping centers. It is very close to the highway but not so close that you can hear the noise. The air conditioning was a little loud though. I had a nice stay in this hotel; my room was clean and mostly comfortable. The shower was not very strong, and the hallway smelled a little smokey, but other than that it was a good stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolpuhl3, General Manager at Comfort Inn North Polaris, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thanks for your comments about your nice stay. Also thanks for pointing out our location. Just off I-71 north of Columbus, we're just minutes away from the city, and you can avoid much of the traffic congestion. We appreciate your business, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn North Polaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn North Polaris

Address: 8400 Lyra Drive, Columbus, OH 43240 (Formerly Baymont Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn North Polaris 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Columbus-North/Polaris (I-71 exit 121 at Polaris Parkway) next to Polaris Fashion Place Mall, Magic Mountain Family Fun Center, Quaker Steak and Lube. We are within walking distance to many restaurants including:Texas Road House, Max and Erma's and Carrabba's Italian Grill. Hotel amenities include: Free hot breakfast bar including make your own waffles, free WIFI, indoor heated pool, exercise room and free access to Metro Fitness gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn North Polaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn North Polaris Hotel Columbus
North Polaris Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Columbus
Columbus Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn North Polaris Columbus, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn North Polaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;