We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for 1 night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4041 Hamilton Square Blvd, Columbus, OH 43125   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #57 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Lancaster, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Ok for 1 night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Short 1 night stay at this hotel....stayed here on a recommendation from family who has stayed here before, and the fact that its close to Bexley, where my family lives. The hotel is located in an area with multiple sit down and quick service restaurants and right down the street from a grocery store. Check in was a breeze...got 2 passwords for the free wi-fi and off we go to our room.
1 king bed, sofa bed, fridge, microwave, decent sized bathroom...just fine for a 1 night stay. Not long into our stay, we were alarmed to see a woman enter our room, thinking that this was her room. She quickly turned away and went back to the desk to tell the staff "her" room was occupied. Front desk called right away to apologize, but it was still unsettling the system showed that room as empty.
The bed was comfortable, but if you're a light sleeper you may have some difficulties. The noise from the hallways, parking lot, and the thin walls make it tough to get to sleep. Breakfast in the morning was nice...pancakes, eggs, sausage, cinnamon rolls, yogurt, bagels and juices.
All in all, it was just fine for the one night.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmtreeColumbus, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We take these reviews very seriously and use them as a way to improve our customer service. I apologize that there was in an error made that resulted in another person accessing your room. Please know that this type of mistake is not common and we addressed the situation with the employee right away. I am glad to hear that the front desk associate called you immediately to apologize.

I am also glad to hear that you were able to sleep well and enjoyed our breakfast. We take great pride in offering our guests an exceptional breakfast before they head out for the day.

We hope that you will consider us again should your travels bring you back to Columbus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
9
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I took a weekend get away to Columbus, Ohio to check out German Village. We stayed at this hotel being Priority Club members for Holiday Inn. It was very good for the price and the points for members. It was easy to find and not far off the 270 belt way when traveling in and around Columbus, Ohio. I recommend this hotel for pleasure and for business.

~T

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmtreeColumbus, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with our hotel. We pride ourselves on taking exceptional care of our customers. We hope you will return to our location should your travels bring you back to the Columbus area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuppers Plains, Ohio
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here last night for a tournament we had in the Columbus area. This is a very nice hotel. It's very easy to get to, just off the exit and just south of the 270 outerbelt around Columbus, only about 10 minutes from downtown. The rooms were very large, nice and clean! The hotel staff was very polite and helpful. Breakfast was typical for a HIE, pancakes, eggs, sausage, gravy, biscuits, bagels, muffins, etc. There are not a ton of places to eat, but a Bob Evans and Wendy's are next door and a Big Boy is just down the street. There's a Giant Eagle across the street if you need to pick up anything you might have forgetten. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stop here again if we need a room in the Columbus area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmtreeColumbus, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. So glad to hear that you enjoyed our service and would come again. We pride ourselves on continuing excellent service to all of our guests and have many return customers. Not only are we within walking distance of some restaurants, but about 3 miles at the next exit, there are even more dining selections.
Our breakfast is another popular feature. We are glad that we were able to offer you everything you were expecting and hope to see you again on your next stop in Columbus. Again, that you for your review as these reviews do help us gauge our progress, improvements and continuing excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My expectations are high for HIE. I've stayed at several locations and have never regretted the choice (or the extra $10 bucks relative to nearby hotels). However, the crew here in columbus takes the prize. Spotless, spacious rooms, free wi-fi and pet friendly to boot.

The front desk staff also exceeded expectations. Check-in/out was very fast and the team was genuinely eager to satisfy every request (help finding the paper, trays for breakfast, etc. I wish I had gotten names because special recognition is due!

Some prior reviews had me a little worried (e.g., bad pillows, water pressure and temp) but we stayed based on prior HIE experiences and found no sign of these complaints (i.e. they had been completely rectified). Sheets were not 400 count, but who would have expected such at this price point?

Bravo to the team - we have regular trips to Canal Winchester and have found our go-to hotel.

Delighters:
AWESOME breakfast (hot biscuits and gravy, pancakes, bagles etc)
Free Wi-fi
Spotless room (no smells or mold)


A few opportunities for improvement :
*Wi-fi access was complicated, attaching more than one device required a call to the front desk for another log-in ID/password for each device. (although the desk had the issue resolved for me in 30 seconds). Once attached I was getting 5-10 Mb/s - B+ in my book.

*The egg-things at breakfast, nuked until flavor free.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmtreeColumbus, Guest Services Representative at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to fill out a review. We are so very glad you enjoyed your stay. Our staff does their best to make each guest feel comfortable and at home. Thank you for all of the information you provided, as we rely on these reviews to help us continue to improve our service. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay in Columbus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were pretty standard for HIE. They upgraded our room (platinum status). The shower was good - good water pressure. There isn't a ton of stuff near the hotel, but we weren't there except to sleep, so that didn't matter too much for us. The staff at the desk was great! They were extremely helpful with directions and other local questions. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmtreeColumbus, Guest Services Representative at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. We always appreciate feedback , as we rely on these reviews to help us continue to improve our service. Our staff takes pride in valuing our Priority Club members and we are glad you enjoyed your stay! We also work with businesses within a 5 miles drive at the Gender Rd exit and refer our guests to these locations for local dining and entertainment. Again thank you for submitting a review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
276 hotel reviews
Reviews in 213 cities Reviews in 213 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have 183 reviews on here and only 18 of them are excellent ...so I do not give ratings if they are not deserved..this place deserves an excellent rating..I have stayed here quite a few times and have never had an issue with anything..It may not be the newest or the fanciest but it is as clean and comfortable as any brand new motel anywhere..rooms are always clean,beds comfy ,showers are clean,great water pressure and unlimited hot water..nice size parking lot easy to get a semi into and restaurants next door but what really makes this place shine above the rest are the people..everybody I have dealt with here are hands down the greatest people anywhere especially the manager..so if your ever in the Columbus area this is your place...you wont go wrong staying here ..I have stayed in quite a few motels in this area some were good and some were not so good but if you want the best at a fair price this is your stop...

Room Tip: top floor is nice and quiet for a day sleeper..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmtreeColumbus, Guest Services Representative at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We appreciate your review of our hotel and are so glad to become a hotel of choice for travelers to the area. We pride ourselves on friendly staff and excellent amenities and use these reviews to help continue and improve our service. We look forward to seeing you in Columbus at Holiday Inn Express Columbus Southeast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed one night. Looks like every holiday inn express. Friendly staff at check-in. Pillows were poor quality. I did got upgraded to suite which offers lots of space. Got free popcorn at check in. Not a lot to do in the evening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmtreeColumbus, Guest Services Representative at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Holiday Inn Express Columbus SE. We use these reviews to continue to improve our service and pride ourselves on personable staff. We apologize that you did not enjoy your pillows. We now offer four pillows on each bed, two soft and two firm, to optimize your sleeping comfort and flexibility of choices. We also work with local businesses on the Gender Rd exit (5 miles away) to offer our guests dining and entertainment options within a close driving distance. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast

Address: 4041 Hamilton Square Blvd, Columbus, OH 43125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built Holiday Inn hotel located in the thriving South East district of Columbus. only 2 miles from Rickenbacker International Airport, 5 miles to Grovecity and Berliner Park, and 10 minutes from OSU campus and downtown Columbus! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast Hotel Columbus
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Columbus Southeast
Holiday Inn Groveport
Groveport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.