We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 S. Front St., Columbus, OH 43215-4145   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Mansfield, Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“In need of renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

The property shows age and lack of care. Does not meet expectations of hilton honors member. Carpet and bedding show wear. Flooring is dirty walls are dusty. Surfaces show damage and I had to clean dust and glitter off the batheoom sink.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    143
    124
    113
    91
See reviews for
133
99
36
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed a week at the Double Tree Suites Columbus Downtown in mid-August. With the exception of just
one incident my experience at this property was one of my best hotel stays in a while.

First, as other reviews say, the location can't be beat. The hotel is in the heart of downtown Columbus
with a covered walkway linking it to the Huntington Bank building (the high-rise behind the hotel in the pictures). All major downtown attractions are within walking distance, including the Statehouse two
blocks behind the hotel, the Supreme Court across the street and the Scioto River with its beautiful
renovated riverwalk two blocks west (See the replica of the Christopher Columbus flagship Santa Maria on the river - open Wed.-Fri. 10 to 4 oin summer). This part of downtown is also home to various theaters and restaurants, and the Brewery District and don't miss German Village arer about a 20-30 minute walk or an easy cab ride (more great restaurants - try Schmidt's in German Village). The ama- zing COSI Science Center is a short walk across the river. Also, the Arena District is walking about 10 minutes north and the chic Short North District (with great shopping and restaurants) is another 15-20 minutes up. So, the location is great - Columbus is a very walkable city - and if you don't feel like walk- ing, the cab rides will be short.

I frankly don't understand the negative reviews I've read - perhaps said guests just had bad luck and
should give the DoubleTree another try if in the area again. I will say now that the building has an un-
usual layout in that the lobby is on the 7th floor and the rooms start on the 10th floor (which guarantees magnificent river and city views from even the "lowest" floors.The downside to this arrangement is that you msut use two elevators, one to reach the lobby level (for check-in and restaurant) and another to reach your room. However, even though the hotel was super busy while I was there - a slew of wedding parties were going on - the elevators were rarely slow. And do expect this hotel to be busy on a regular basis due to the location, which is ideal for both tourists and businesspeople.

My check-in was smooth as silk with the irresistible Double Tree cookie (yummy!) and I was up in my room in no time. Because of my budget, I stayed in a standard suite with a river view. No complaints
here. The suite was huge, exceedingly comfortable and made me feel right at home. The living room is huge, with a kitchenette (with free coffee and tea replenished daily), a large sofa, easy chair with otto-
man, coffee table, desk with phone and a 37" flatscreen TV, and two floor to ceiling windows with jaw-
dropping views of the river (even more beautiful at night with the Broad Street Bridge lit up). The bedroom
had a very comfy king bed, a large dresser, the usual nightstands, a large alcove with a dressing area
including a hairdryer, towels and a mirror, and yes another 37" flatscreen TV on the dresser. A chair in the bedroom would have been good, but this is a personal preference and I didn't miss this. Another plus is that the bedroom and living areas are separated by French doors more more privacy if traveling
with others. Also, the windows have thich blackout curtains to allow hopefully for a little more sleep in the morning. And speaking of the windows, the bedroom features the same terrific river view as the living room! The bathroom was spacoius and fully stocked with all the nesessary items (towels, toiletries, etc.). As mentioned earlier, the fact that the rooms start on the 10th floor means that as long as you are facing the river or have a corner room, spectacular views are a given. I am not sure if there are rooms in the back of the hotel facing the Huntington Bank, so be sure to ask when you reserve - these rooms, if any would not have any sort of a scenic view.

The hotel restaurant was a good option for staying in, but I only used it frr dinner one night. Though the
food is good, the menu is rather limited - there is also a bar which is open the same time as the restaurant. Speaking of hours, please note that as in many small and mid-size Midwesten cities, small
businesses and restaurants (esp. coffeehouses and fast-food places) close at 5 P.M. Mon.-Fri, and at
3 P.M. or 4 P.M. on Saturday abd Sunday. Some smaller establishments are closed completely on these days. Breakfast in the hotel tends to be pricey - I would recommend having breakfast at Danny's
Deli just a couple of doors down from the hotel - just make a right out the door and look for the red awn-
ing. Prices are ridiculously reasonable for a very filling breakfast or lunch and the service is courteous and attentive - Taylor, my server most of the time was especially good. Please note though that this
gem of a diner is only open Mon.-Fri. 7 A.M. to 3 P.M and closed all day Saturday and Sunday.

The staff at the DoubleTreethe hotel was one of the best I have encountered at any time. Special thanks to Amanda amd Michelle for their invaluable sightseeing and restaurant tips and furnishing me with the necessary directions and public transportation schedules ( esp. to the Columbus Zoo, don't miss destination). Alia was freindly and efficient at check-in and check-out and for holding my luggage on my departure day till I was ready to leave (reluctantly), and lastly Sarah Keitt for helping me additionally with all of my above needs and especially for rectifying a housekeeping problem I had over the weekend when my room was not made (to be fair I had mistakenly put out the do not disturb sign outside the door). But when the chambermaid refused to do the room even thohg she was right outside, that's when Sarah came into the picture and fixed this problem. So, thank you again, Sarah and the entire slaff for your excellent freindly service and the knowledge and pride you have in their city.

So if my plans bring me to Columbus in the future, you know where I will hope to stay - the DoubleTree
Suites Columbus Downtown. Others may carp at the furnishings not being super fancy or museum quality, but if you want a comfortable, efficient hotel with all the amenities where you will feel at home
and not out of place, the DoubleTree is the place to stay in Columbus.

Room Tip: Choose standard river view or deluxe corner view rooms for stunning city and river views. If there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel Labor Day weekend. It was great. Booked it at the last minute and got a great deal. The staff was great-hooked me up with an extra cookie at check in! :)
Our room was great- tons of space for me, my husband, and infant; It worked out great having a suite style room. We could out teh baby to bed (in a crib provided my hotel) in teh living room area and close the door to the bedroom...that way we could stay up and watch tv and not bother his sleeping. Also room had a fridge, microwave and coffee pot. The bed was super comfortable...one of the best nights sleep I've ever had in a hotel.
We had some issues with our fridge (the milk we brought for our baby was thawing in the freezer). I called the front desk in a panic- and they had someone in our room with a new fridge in under 10 min. I was impressed.
Honestly the biggest issue we had all weekend was crowded elevators. The hotel was busy it took several minutes waiting on an elevator each time and they were always cramed full...not really anything that could be done though. We enjoyed our stay and will

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great location, large, clean rooms and the staff were friendly and accommodating. The hotel was centrally located and we could easily walk to many places or take public transportation if we decided not to drive. The flat rate for parking was surprisingly fair for a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I recently used HHonors points to stay for an Ohio State game - I'll make sure to go to the Hampton in the Arena District or the new downtown Hilton next time. My wife and I have stayed here before, but I don't remember it being this bad.

The property itself is rundown and needs a renovation soon. This is evidenced by the toilet in our room that wouldn't flush and the shower without hot water. They came to fix the toilet twice and the staff's solution for the shower, "let it run a while." 20 minutes to no avail.

Overall the staff is so-so: the front desk clerk at check-in was nice, but no one else seemed to care if we were there. The bed was ok, and it was nice to have the extra space. The location would be good for business downtown during the week, but is dead on the weekend.

I won't be staying here again and suggest you don't either.

Room Tip: Get a room with working plumbing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have mixed reviews on this Labor Day weekend trip.
The good: Great location. Some of the staff is great Ms. Keitt in particular. The corner suite on our second night was very nice. The DoubleTree cookie is always a plus :)
The bad: The main halls have a less than pleasant odor. The rooms need a more through cleaning, i.e. get the corners and behind / underneath furnishings. Understandably doesn't need to be done on every turn, but should certainly be done often enough to not draw attention. One of the two elevators was out of service making the trip to the lobby time consuming. The majority of the counter staff were less than friendly which overshadowed the staff that were pleasant.

Room Tip: Get a north river corner suite if you can, great view of the river between the two buildings. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The room was filthy. It was straightened and vacuumed but if you looked at it - it was filthy. The refrigerator looked as though it hadn't been wiped off in months. The bathroom tile was filthy, the floors were dirty.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown

Address: 50 S. Front St., Columbus, OH 43215-4145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotels in downtown Columbus, renowned for its cookie, the DoubleTree Suites is the only all-suite hotel in Columbus, OH. Not many hotels in Columbus, Ohio offer access to so much! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Columbus
Doubletree Columbus
DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.