We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room, loud ac” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1421 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #25 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable room, loud ac”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. Satisfactory breakfast (wife liked the oatmeal). Well configured suite. But very noisy AC - 3rd floor at rear. Very convenient location near OSU, good restaurants, and excellent bike paths.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Mikeandjoni,
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. I’m sorry for the noisy AC and apologize for any inconveniences. I’ll be certain to address your comments with our maintenance staff. It’s great to hear you enjoyed a comfortable stay otherwise and found our friendly staff and convenient location well suited for your travels. We hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    71
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
57
29
3
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Versailles, Kentucky
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

If you have university business, this is a great location. Plenty of room, good restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Breakfast was good although the same food each morning. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
turneraw,
Thank you for your review and recommendations of SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. We're pleased to know you enjoyed your stay, along with the many conveniences and options that our location has to offer. Please plan to visit us again soon. Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is exactly what we needed! We wanted to be away just for a couple of days and the time was great :-) The staff, Carmen, Vickie and the two young men that work the evening shift were the most pleasant staff we have ever encountered in hotel personnel especially after having been treated POORLY by the RENAISSANCE HOTEL DOWNTON COLUMBUS...The layout was convenient for us, shower and sink on one side and another sink on the other. We absolutely loved our stay and will be back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Sherri S,
We're happy to hear from you and pleased to know you loved your stay with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. I look for to sharing your kind comments with our staff regarding the friendly service delivered during your stay. We appreciate you choosing to stay at our hotel and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you again.

Kind regards,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We were in Columbus for a hockey game and college visit so we chose this hotel for the convenient location near both OSU and Nationwide Arena. Springhill Suites is among our favorite brands (Hyatt Place and Hampton Suites, too) because we like having an extra sitting area in our rooms.

One thing we really like about many Springhill Suite hotels is the "split" bathroom where the shower and a sink are in one private area and the toilet and an additional sink are in another area. This hotel offers this kind of layout and it's really nice for a family traveling with older children, teens or young adults because it allows two people to be in different bathroom areas at once when getting ready.

The staff was welcoming & friendly and went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant stay. Another bonus at this hotel was the free shuttle to Nationwide Arena for the hockey game. We signed up for a departure time when we checked in and the driver dropped seven of us off at the front door of the arena. Sadly, the shuttle service ends at 10:00 PM so we had to take a taxi back to the hotel but it was only $15 including tip for three passengers. So much less hassle than driving ourselves, finding a parking spot, walking to the arena and fighting traffic!

The morning buffet was fresh & tasty, consisting primarily of standard continental fare plus scrambled eggs and sausage. The hotel was busy during our stay so we had to wait for food to be refilled a couple of times.

Free parking was plentiful in the lot around the hotel.

This is a great location with nice amenities that I'd recommend to anyone wanting a hotel close to OSU or Nationwide Arena.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
dashulak,
Thank you for your review and recommendations of SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while visiting OSU, and it's great to hear you had an opportunity to attend a Blue Jacket's game as well! I look forward to sharing your kind comments with our staff regarding the level of service, comfort and convenience you experienced during your stay. We hope you'll return for another visit in the near future. Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

But...be aware that train tracks run down the backside of the property and if you are a light sleeper then you may be awakened a couple times per night!

Having said that, the problem I feared was not too bad for me (I had last room in the corridor right at the tracks) and it did not keep me up.

Room was large, very clean and comfortable, and breakfast was nice with a pleasant seating area and constant refreshment of items. Plus coffee was available all day :-)

Fitness room looked useful (but I didn't) with an indoor pool.

Desk staff were very pleasant and helpful.

An enjoyable place to stay, even with the trains, especially if you need to work at OSU or the James Medical Centre.

Room Tip: Avoid the track-side rooms if trains keep you awake, but there were generally only 2-3 per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
pcrosley,
We appreciate your review and feedback from your stay with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. We're pleased to hear that our comfortable rooms, helpful staff, and value added amenities made for an enjoyable stay. We hope to have you as our guest again soon. Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Clean, nicely refurbished, adequate facilities but no "wow" factor.
Some reception staff were excellent others average.
Noisy heater at night.
Bathroom lovely, modern.
Lobby bar not open on Sunday night??

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Chris C,
Thank you for writing a review. I appreciate you recognizing our strengths in cleanliness and service, while providing us some areas of opportunity. Our bar is not open on Sundays because we've traditionally experienced a decrease in demand for that day. However, we do have bottled beverages available for purchase in our lobby.

I would like to extend my apologies for the noisy heater and hope to speak with you directly regarding your room number so we can assure our maintenance staff makes the necessary repairs. We value your feedback and thank you again for writing. We hope you'll visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel is located near the OSU campus and close to the Arena District. I've stayed at this hotel several times and the rooms are always spotless. The hotel has a nicely equipped fitness room, but the pool is very small. The hotel offers a hot breakfast every morning and has a bar on-site which is open in the evenings. Staff have always been friendly and helpful. My only complaint is how busy this hotel is everytime I am there. Due to the hotel being close to OSU many athletic teams stay there while competing at OSU. Otherwise I like this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Ed S,
We appreciate you choosing SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU on your return visits, and thank you for writing a review. I'm pleased to know we consistently deliver friendly service and clean accommodations during your visits. Your feedback is important to us as we strive to ensure our valued guests like yourself enjoy an exceptional stay. We look forward to your next visit and thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Address: 1421 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43212
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Columbus
#28 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU hotel is an all-suite hotel ideally located less than a mile to The Ohio State University Football Stadium, Campus & Ohio State Medical Center and Lennox Town Center on Olentangy River Rd. Just 3 minutes to Downtown Columbus, German Village and Short North area with attractions, dining and shopping. These contemporary hotel suites feature separate living and sleeping areas with microwave and mini-fridge as well as free WiFi. Hotel Amenities include Free WiFi, Cocktail Bar, Fireside Patio, Large Fitness Center, Indoor Pool. A free hot breakfast buffet is included with your rate at this Columbus Ohio hotel. Ask us about our free transportation within a 3 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbus Osu Hotel Columbus
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.