We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay-cation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1421 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #24 of 141 hotels in Columbus
1 review
“Our Stay-cation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is exactly what we needed! We wanted to be away just for a couple of days and the time was great :-) The staff, Carmen, Vickie and the two young men that work the evening shift were the most pleasant staff we have ever encountered in hotel personnel especially after having been treated POORLY by the RENAISSANCE HOTEL DOWNTON COLUMBUS...The layout was convenient for us, shower and sink on one side and another sink on the other. We absolutely loved our stay and will be back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Sherri S,
We're happy to hear from you and pleased to know you loved your stay with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. I look for to sharing your kind comments with our staff regarding the friendly service delivered during your stay. We appreciate you choosing to stay at our hotel and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you again.

Kind regards,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    62
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
53
23
3
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We were in Columbus for a hockey game and college visit so we chose this hotel for the convenient location near both OSU and Nationwide Arena. Springhill Suites is among our favorite brands (Hyatt Place and Hampton Suites, too) because we like having an extra sitting area in our rooms.

One thing we really like about many Springhill Suite hotels is the "split" bathroom where the shower and a sink are in one private area and the toilet and an additional sink are in another area. This hotel offers this kind of layout and it's really nice for a family traveling with older children, teens or young adults because it allows two people to be in different bathroom areas at once when getting ready.

The staff was welcoming & friendly and went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant stay. Another bonus at this hotel was the free shuttle to Nationwide Arena for the hockey game. We signed up for a departure time when we checked in and the driver dropped seven of us off at the front door of the arena. Sadly, the shuttle service ends at 10:00 PM so we had to take a taxi back to the hotel but it was only $15 including tip for three passengers. So much less hassle than driving ourselves, finding a parking spot, walking to the arena and fighting traffic!

The morning buffet was fresh & tasty, consisting primarily of standard continental fare plus scrambled eggs and sausage. The hotel was busy during our stay so we had to wait for food to be refilled a couple of times.

Free parking was plentiful in the lot around the hotel.

This is a great location with nice amenities that I'd recommend to anyone wanting a hotel close to OSU or Nationwide Arena.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
dashulak,
Thank you for your review and recommendations of SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while visiting OSU, and it's great to hear you had an opportunity to attend a Blue Jacket's game as well! I look forward to sharing your kind comments with our staff regarding the level of service, comfort and convenience you experienced during your stay. We hope you'll return for another visit in the near future. Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

But...be aware that train tracks run down the backside of the property and if you are a light sleeper then you may be awakened a couple times per night!

Having said that, the problem I feared was not too bad for me (I had last room in the corridor right at the tracks) and it did not keep me up.

Room was large, very clean and comfortable, and breakfast was nice with a pleasant seating area and constant refreshment of items. Plus coffee was available all day :-)

Fitness room looked useful (but I didn't) with an indoor pool.

Desk staff were very pleasant and helpful.

An enjoyable place to stay, even with the trains, especially if you need to work at OSU or the James Medical Centre.

Room Tip: Avoid the track-side rooms if trains keep you awake, but there were generally only 2-3 per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
pcrosley,
We appreciate your review and feedback from your stay with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. We're pleased to hear that our comfortable rooms, helpful staff, and value added amenities made for an enjoyable stay. We hope to have you as our guest again soon. Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Clean, nicely refurbished, adequate facilities but no "wow" factor.
Some reception staff were excellent others average.
Noisy heater at night.
Bathroom lovely, modern.
Lobby bar not open on Sunday night??

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Chris C,
Thank you for writing a review. I appreciate you recognizing our strengths in cleanliness and service, while providing us some areas of opportunity. Our bar is not open on Sundays because we've traditionally experienced a decrease in demand for that day. However, we do have bottled beverages available for purchase in our lobby.

I would like to extend my apologies for the noisy heater and hope to speak with you directly regarding your room number so we can assure our maintenance staff makes the necessary repairs. We value your feedback and thank you again for writing. We hope you'll visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel is located near the OSU campus and close to the Arena District. I've stayed at this hotel several times and the rooms are always spotless. The hotel has a nicely equipped fitness room, but the pool is very small. The hotel offers a hot breakfast every morning and has a bar on-site which is open in the evenings. Staff have always been friendly and helpful. My only complaint is how busy this hotel is everytime I am there. Due to the hotel being close to OSU many athletic teams stay there while competing at OSU. Otherwise I like this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Ed S,
We appreciate you choosing SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU on your return visits, and thank you for writing a review. I'm pleased to know we consistently deliver friendly service and clean accommodations during your visits. Your feedback is important to us as we strive to ensure our valued guests like yourself enjoy an exceptional stay. We look forward to your next visit and thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

In town for medical treatment and this hotel made what was a sad trip into a good time. Rooms were comfortable. We were worried about sleeping on a pull-out but it had a thicker mattress on the sofabed than Ive seen before. The staff (with one exc.) was charming and helpful. The guys at the desk were great and got us everywhere we needed to go in the complimentary van (though the van smell like kerocine or something.) Matt made my mom laugh and was very attentive and knowledgible about the area and what was going on. I'd give the hotel an excellent rating if not for the noise of the train on the far side of the building, and the older lady at the front desk when checked in. As we came in, she was complaining about a co-worker loudly and cursed loud enough for my 8 yr old daughter to hear and repeat the Bword. She seemed polite again as she was talking to us, but when we asked to be close to the levator she started muttering to herself and finally told us that because we were checking in 30 min. early, we didn't have any choice where our room was. Thank Goodness the rest of the stay made up for the bad first impression.aq

Room Tip: We were near the end of the back hall and heard the train in the early morning, the room two doors d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Chad K,
Thank you for choosing SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. We appreciate your feedback and compliments regarding our staff's excellence in service that added comfort to a difficult trip. I sincerely apologize for the poor impression you received upon arriving to the hotel. Please know we have shared your comments with our staff on both the positive aspects, as well as opportunities for improving our guest experience. We value you as our guest and we hope to extend our hospitality should you return to the Columbus area in the future. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We were in Columbus for a wedding and this hotel was selected by other family members. It has a nice modern look to it and seemed very nice at first glance. Once in the room we realized how paper thin everything is. Sort of disposable. The toilet room has no fan and the sliding door has a one inch gap from the wall so every bathroom sound and odor is amplified. Awkward when extended family was gathering in various rooms. The mattress was surprisingly thin for any grade of Marriott.
The first night things were reasonably quiet but during the day and the next night the hotel became a sorority house with large numbers of cheerleaders, gymnasts and volleyball teams in house. It's proximity to Ohio State clearly makes it an attraction.
Overall it is average though. We pd $159+ per king room, if it was priced around $110 - $120 it would have impressed me a lot more.
I should say that almost every staff member was very professional and very nice. The bartender however on Friday night was too busy complaining about the supplies she had to work with and she was too busy anxiously texting someone for me to include her with her coworkers.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
thymetotravelthyme,
We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is important to us as we strive to provide exceptional guest experiences in both comfort and hospitality. I can assure you that your comments have been addressed with our staff in an effort to better our hotel, service, and overall guest satisfaction. Thank you again for writing. We hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Address: 1421 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Columbus
#31 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU hotel is an all-suite hotel ideally located less than a mile to The Ohio State University Football Stadium, Campus & Ohio State Medical Center and Lennox Town Center on Olentangy River Rd. Just 3 minutes to Downtown Columbus, German Village and Short North area with attractions, dining and shopping. These contemporary hotel suites feature separate living and sleeping areas with microwave and mini-fridge as well as free WiFi. Hotel Amenities include Free WiFi, Cocktail Bar, Fireside Patio, Large Fitness Center, Indoor Pool. A free hot breakfast buffet is included with your rate at this Columbus Ohio hotel. Ask us about our free transportation within a 3 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbus Osu Hotel Columbus
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.