We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1421 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #35 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Beaver, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel is located near the OSU campus and close to the Arena District. I've stayed at this hotel several times and the rooms are always spotless. The hotel has a nicely equipped fitness room, but the pool is very small. The hotel offers a hot breakfast every morning and has a bar on-site which is open in the evenings. Staff have always been friendly and helpful. My only complaint is how busy this hotel is everytime I am there. Due to the hotel being close to OSU many athletic teams stay there while competing at OSU. Otherwise I like this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Ed S,
We appreciate you choosing SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU on your return visits, and thank you for writing a review. I'm pleased to know we consistently deliver friendly service and clean accommodations during your visits. Your feedback is important to us as we strive to ensure our valued guests like yourself enjoy an exceptional stay. We look forward to your next visit and thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    73
    23
    11
    3
See reviews for
61
31
3
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We were in Columbus for a wedding and this hotel was selected by other family members. It has a nice modern look to it and seemed very nice at first glance. Once in the room we realized how paper thin everything is. Sort of disposable. The toilet room has no fan and the sliding door has a one inch gap from the wall so every bathroom sound and odor is amplified. Awkward when extended family was gathering in various rooms. The mattress was surprisingly thin for any grade of Marriott.
The first night things were reasonably quiet but during the day and the next night the hotel became a sorority house with large numbers of cheerleaders, gymnasts and volleyball teams in house. It's proximity to Ohio State clearly makes it an attraction.
Overall it is average though. We pd $159+ per king room, if it was priced around $110 - $120 it would have impressed me a lot more.
I should say that almost every staff member was very professional and very nice. The bartender however on Friday night was too busy complaining about the supplies she had to work with and she was too busy anxiously texting someone for me to include her with her coworkers.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
thymetotravelthyme,
We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is important to us as we strive to provide exceptional guest experiences in both comfort and hospitality. I can assure you that your comments have been addressed with our staff in an effort to better our hotel, service, and overall guest satisfaction. Thank you again for writing. We hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This place was super! My husband and I stayed for 1 night for the Luke Bryan Concert. Great service with the free shuttle to the venue, but had to find our own way back...no big deal. Too bad they price hiked for one night(Thursday yet to boot). Friday night thru Sunday were almost $60 less per night. Still would stay there again. Ok breakfast, did not swim, but pool was more like an oversized hot tub. Beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
ValerieNKevinMessmer,
We appreciate you choosing SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU while attending the Luke Bryan Concert. It's fantastic to hear you enjoyed a comfortable stay and found our staff's excellence in service to meet your satisfaction. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you again for your great review.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed after a wedding and they hotel staff did an excellent job coordinating for the guests and even had a shuttle to & from the wedding reception. The room was very clean and nicely laid out. We had a fridge in our room as requested. The free breakfast had a great selection and staff was quick to refill items as they ran low.

Only downside was that they do not have a kitchen on-site but you can order room-service from a 3rd party service. The service was pretty slow, but the weather was not the best when we were staying so it could have been a factor.

Room Tip: There are some rooms on the first floor and the possibility of being right off from the lounge area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
NChilicki,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your visit to SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. We appreciate your compliments regarding our staff's excellent service, as well as our clean and spacious accommodations. We're glad you enjoyed your stay after attending a wedding, and we hope you'll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minster, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The entire hotel would get a 5 star rating for business or family travel. The amenities are wonderful, the hotel is in a great location, the rooms, lobby and workout area are modern and most importantly the hotel is extremely clean. Service staff was friendly and engaging. It was a perfect hotel, except the beds are rock hard. Marriott executives need to go spend a night in a Holiday Inn Express, A Westin or a Hampton Inn. They then need to purchase those beds and put them in Marriott hotels.

On the other hand, if you like rock hard beds, this place would be perfect!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Wes F,
Thank you for writing. Your feedback is important to us as our highest priority is guest satisfaction. It's unfortunate to hear about your disappointment in the beds, and I'm sorry for any discomfort you experienced as a result. I'm glad you found our hotel, service, and amenities to meet your satisfaction otherwise. We value you as our guest and hope you'll consider staying with us again in the future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We were so disappointed at our stay that we cancelled the third day and drove home late at night during a snowstorm.. For $179, we expected something special. A large room with a translucent panel divider does not qualify as a suite. The king bed was way too soft and creaked loudly. The covers were so skimpy that they didn't completely cover the two of us. which made it so drafty that we had to wear a sweater and add a blanket. The one who slept closest to the very outdated HVAC unit was blasted with cold air, and we couldn't regulate the temperature with any degree of comfort---either too hot or too cold. The shower did not work properly, but they did fix it promptly the next day. The bathroom doors were translucent panels, so we had to use a flashlight to avoid disturbing each other if we got up during the night.The trains ran close by all night but the HVAC unit did a good job of drowning out the noise. The decor aimed at ultra modern European, but in reality looked cold, cheap, and more like something you'd expect to see in 1950s East Berlin. The hall had loud red, black and grey carpeting and caramel patterned wallpaper.Very ugly. BUT it wasn't all negative. The halls and rooms were quiet, the staff was pleasant, the room was clean, and the breakfast was quite good. We will not be returning anytime soon, though. For a Marriott property it was very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Diane R,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience, and we sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. I appreciate your kind comments regarding our clean accommodations, attentive staff, and complimentary breakfast selection. We value your business and thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Carmen is the absolute epitome of horrible service. She is down right rude. I love this property but she is the reason why I will not come back until she is gone. Other than that the rooms are nice and clean. The night staff guys are wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
vannaabbott,
We appreciate your continued patronage and thank you for taking the time to speak with us directly regarding this review. Please feel free to contact me at either 614-297-9912 or al.schreiber@concordhotels.com to further discuss any concerns. We value your business and look forward to your next stay. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Address: 1421 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43212
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Columbus
#32 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU hotel is an all-suite hotel ideally located less than a mile to The Ohio State University Football Stadium, Campus & Ohio State Medical Center and Lennox Town Center on Olentangy River Rd. Just 3 minutes to Downtown Columbus, German Village and Short North area with attractions, dining and shopping. These contemporary hotel suites feature separate living and sleeping areas with microwave and mini-fridge as well as free WiFi. Hotel Amenities include Free WiFi, Cocktail Bar, Fireside Patio, Large Fitness Center, Indoor Pool. A free hot breakfast buffet is included with your rate at this Columbus Ohio hotel. Ask us about our free transportation within a 3 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbus Osu Hotel Columbus
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.