We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a game” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1421 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #25 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for a game”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a great location for an OSU game. Very new hotel and the rooms are pretty big. Only suggestion is to get a room away from the front of the building. Breakfast is pretty good but the hot foods selection is limited.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Jrbb234,
We appreciate you writing a review regarding your stay with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. We hope you had a great time at the OSU game, and we're glad our convenient location and spacious accommodations met your satisfaction. Your feedback is important to us on areas for improving our guest experience. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you'll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    71
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
57
29
3
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Surprisingly nice place to stay in the heart of Downtown Columbus and OSU campus. This hotel very extremely clean and up to date with everything from the lobby and facilities but especially the rooms. The bathrooms were very nice and the rooms were just what my family needed. Very nice time and pleasant experience overall with this property and we will be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
kevin c,
Thank you for sharing your review and complimentary feedback on your experience at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. I’m pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations with our excellence in service and cleanliness. We’re glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and found our hotel perfectly suited your travel needs. We look forward to extending our hospitality to you again in the near future. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We are long time Marriott reward members, so we stay at a Marriott property almost every time we travel. In comparison to other SpringHill properties, this one is just okay. We chose this SpringHill over a Residence Inn so we'd have an indoor pool. It was sooooooo cold though. I cannot even tell you how freezing that pool was. My toddler wouldn't even get in, and the pool was for him. So, that was a real bummer. Our room was hairy, especially around the base boards in the bathroom. We didn't complain, however, because it was only a two night stay. Traveling with a toddler and my gluten-free need, I've realized we really need the full kitchen offered at Residence Inns. The SpringHill (and possibly others) didn't have basic needs in the room like a freezer in the fridge for ice packs. And, washing fruits and veggies in a bathroom sink (where the floor was hairy) was icky. The staff was quite friendly and helpful, however. Especially the staff member who helped me safely toast my gluten free bread at breakfast--she saw me about to freak out when I saw their conveyor style toaster (I had planned for a slotted toaster like at a Residence Inn in which I can use my foil pockets and protect the toast). When we go through Columbus again, of course we'll stay at a Marriott, but at a Residence Inn.

Room Tip: As for a room on a quiet side if you need it. There's a very busy road outside. From the fourth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
amybTexas,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All feedback is valuable to us so that we can perfect our guests’ experiences. The issues you mentioned will be addressed immediately and I will have our Suite Care Manager perform a review to ensure all rooms meet our high Marriott standards. Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope this experience does not deter you from staying with SpringHill Suites in the future.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel looks to be brand new. Everything was in immaculate shape. Very close to both Ohio State and Columbus Crew Stadium. Walking distance to gas stations, fast food and target. The rooms had a modern sleek vibe and were well appointed and comfortable. Staff was courteous and helpful. Short cab ride to just about anywhere you would want to go

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Bubsta,
Thank you so much for your review and recommendation. We are so glad you enjoyed staying with us and found our location to be convenient. We look forward to seeing you again!
Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg PA USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough about this place. Great Place to stay. Walking distance to OSU stadium and great restaurants. Great tailgate near by for games. If you get back to hotel late parking can be a problem on game weekends. Also there is train tracks near by, not the hotels fault, but could hear at night. And toilets are loud, could hear flushes all night. Not a big deal unless you ate a light sleeper. Over a great place and will stay there again.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
jcin,
We appreciate you writing a review about your stay at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. We’re glad our convenient location made for an enjoyable stay and visit to OSU. We sincerely apologize for any noise disturbances you experienced during your stay. Your feedback is valuable to us so we appreciate hearing from you. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest in the near future. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

As most of the breakfast offerings involved gluten, I checked with the manager (who was in the breakfast area almost continuously making sure everything was in order) to see if the eggs were gluten free. He said that he could not guarantee that they were, but if I didn't mind waiting, he could get some scrambled eggs that he knew were not cooked with gluten. He actually ran to the breakfast restaurant next door and brought back gluten-free scrambled eggs and sausages. I was very impressed and appreciative. The room was clean and modern, and although a former reviewer did not like the mattress or the towels, we had no problem with them. We also did not realize that a train ran by until we looked out of the window in the morning. Nice hotel. If you are gluten-free, call ahead and let the manager know.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Karibu,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. It’s great to hear that our service and accommodations exceeded your expectations and made for an enjoyable stay. We strive daily to provide an exceptional experience for each guest. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because of its central proximity to several Columbus venues. We found the hotel to be clean, service was very timely, and the staff extremely friendly. Our room was very clean and provided plenty of space for our 5 visitors.

Our only complaint would be the lack of fans in the bathrooms. The sliding doors provide viewing privacy however you can hear everything taking place on the other side of the door. This can be uncomfortable when sharing a room with friends.

Overall, our stay was a pleasant one.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
SStrat,
Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. It’s great to know our central location to Columbus venues met your satisfaction and you found our accommodations clean and spacious during your stay. We appreciate your feedback on both positive and opportunities for improving our guest experience. We’re happy to inform you that our bathrooms are equipped with exhaust fans, however, they do not produce a sound while in use. I’m glad you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us, and we do hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Address: 1421 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43212
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Columbus
#28 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU hotel is an all-suite hotel ideally located less than a mile to The Ohio State University Football Stadium, Campus & Ohio State Medical Center and Lennox Town Center on Olentangy River Rd. Just 3 minutes to Downtown Columbus, German Village and Short North area with attractions, dining and shopping. These contemporary hotel suites feature separate living and sleeping areas with microwave and mini-fridge as well as free WiFi. Hotel Amenities include Free WiFi, Cocktail Bar, Fireside Patio, Large Fitness Center, Indoor Pool. A free hot breakfast buffet is included with your rate at this Columbus Ohio hotel. Ask us about our free transportation within a 3 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbus Osu Hotel Columbus
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.