We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great manager” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1421 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #27 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great manager”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

As most of the breakfast offerings involved gluten, I checked with the manager (who was in the breakfast area almost continuously making sure everything was in order) to see if the eggs were gluten free. He said that he could not guarantee that they were, but if I didn't mind waiting, he could get some scrambled eggs that he knew were not cooked with gluten. He actually ran to the breakfast restaurant next door and brought back gluten-free scrambled eggs and sausages. I was very impressed and appreciative. The room was clean and modern, and although a former reviewer did not like the mattress or the towels, we had no problem with them. We also did not realize that a train ran by until we looked out of the window in the morning. Nice hotel. If you are gluten-free, call ahead and let the manager know.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Karibu,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. It’s great to hear that our service and accommodations exceeded your expectations and made for an enjoyable stay. We strive daily to provide an exceptional experience for each guest. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    71
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
57
29
3
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because of its central proximity to several Columbus venues. We found the hotel to be clean, service was very timely, and the staff extremely friendly. Our room was very clean and provided plenty of space for our 5 visitors.

Our only complaint would be the lack of fans in the bathrooms. The sliding doors provide viewing privacy however you can hear everything taking place on the other side of the door. This can be uncomfortable when sharing a room with friends.

Overall, our stay was a pleasant one.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
SStrat,
Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. It’s great to know our central location to Columbus venues met your satisfaction and you found our accommodations clean and spacious during your stay. We appreciate your feedback on both positive and opportunities for improving our guest experience. We’re happy to inform you that our bathrooms are equipped with exhaust fans, however, they do not produce a sound while in use. I’m glad you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us, and we do hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed here when we went to visit my sister at OSU. One of the main reasons we picked this hotel was because it was very close to my sister's apartment. When we looked at pictures online, we were impressed and looking forward to our stay. We arrived on a Friday during rush hour, and getting into the hotel was a bit of a pain (if turning left into the hotel), but once we got inside, all went well. Check-in was smooth, and the gentleman checking us in was very pleasant.
We got a room on the ground floor, (later that night I wish I would've asked for the top floor) and the room was clean and very nice. I really like the layout of the rooms. The only thing I will complain about is the bathroom door(s). They do not block light very well. I had read reviews that people complained about being able to actually see figures on the other side of the door, but that doesn't seem to be an issue any more, but they block out very little light and sound. Luckily it was just my daughter and I staying, because my husband has a tendency to get up very early and that would have definitely woke me up. And it's very uncomfortable to use the restroom with visitors, they can hear everything! But, they're pretty.
I was awoken around 11pm on our first night by the air conditioner making funny noises, but that didn't bother me too much. What really bothered me was the jumping around I could hear above us. It sounded like someone doing flips/jumps/leaps until at least 2 in the morning. I know, I should have called the front desk, but I just sucked it up and went back to sleep.
Overall, the stay was very pleasant. Breakfast is your usual free hotel fare - waffles, fruit, bagels, muffins, etc. Before arriving, I looked on Tripadvisor and one of the most recent reviews mentioned seeing a bug in the room. I thought, no big deal. Until our last morning. I was sitting eating our breakfast (in the room, too busy in the breakfast area) and out of the corner of my eye I see this big black bug walking by my foot. Ick. It just creeped me out, and made me lose my appetite. Soon after that, we went to go check out. This time, there were two people working behind the counter, and a couple in front of us asking about the area. I understand helping guests, but I stood there five minutes while both of the employees chit-chatted away. I kept my calm and waited my turn, but it really bothered me. When it was finally my turn, I told the gentleman I was checking out. He asked if I got my invoice under my door, and I did, but they leave them sticking outside the door (that really needs to change for the safety and privacy of your guests). That was the extent of our conversation. He did not ask me if everything was okay with our stay, because I would have mentioned the bug and the noise. Oh well, here I am telling the Tripadvisor world.
The trains aren't really that noisy IMO, but I do live in a town with over 100 trains (bells, whistles, and all) that drive through constantly, so I'm used to that and appreciated how quiet these trains were! LOL.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
jaimieb822,
Thank you for writing a review. It’s great to receive your kind comments about our friendly staff, clean accommodations, and spacious layout of our rooms. We always appreciate our guests taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback both positive and opportunities for improvement. I sincerely apologize for the noisy disturbances encountered during your visit, as well as the bug you saw on your last day. Please know we take any issues of pests seriously and have addressed your comments with our team inorder to improve our guest experience. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope you’ll consider staying with us again the next time you travel to Columbus.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We enjoyed staying with our sister at this hotel; staff was very friendly and helpful.
The rooms were clean and they were very accommodating for our requests for extra towels, etc.

The only downfall is that we wanted a cot which did not seem to be available. The breakfast is good and my son enjoyed using the wafflemaker; even though he was disappointed it was not available on Monday (appears to be weekend only)

Room Tip: Have your room opposite the side with the train tracks as it gets noisy at times
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
JAMAICANToronto,
We’re happy to hear from you, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. I’m pleased to know you found our clean accommodations and helpful staff to meet your expectations. We apologize for your disappointment in not being able to fulfill your cot request. Since every guest room includes a pull-out sofa bed, the space limitations restricts us from offering cots as well. We value you as our guest and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again in the near future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here one weeknight before an OSU Tour. Check-In was fast, efficient, accommodating and friendly honoring our request of a high floor (4th floor is highest) on a quieter side of the hotel. (The front of the hotel is actually more quiet as a train runs behind the hotel.) The lobby was clean and modern. Staff super. The rooms were spacious, modern and clean. No complaints on noise here but for a new hotel while the bed linens were great the mattress was soft & lumpy (no heavenly bed here) & the towels were thin & cheap. The complimentary breakfast in the lobby looked great (we passed) but it was crowded & seating limited at the 8am time we were there for coffee. Free wifi was a bonus. All in all this hotel is just minutes from OSU and very clean & modern & friendly. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Top floor (4) on front side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
CompassionMomma,
Thank you your review and kind comments about our great hotel and wonderful staff. We’re happy to have had you as our guest while visiting OSU, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is important to us so we appreciate hearing from you. We look forward to seeing you on your return visit with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU.

Kind regards,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here with my family for a softball tournament. The staff was very friendly and competent. The rooms were large, bright and very clean. Location was great. Very close to the OSU campus. Would be a great place to stay for a football game.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
FamilyTravels09,
We appreciate you and your family staying with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU while in town for a softball tournament. We’re glad you enjoyed our great location, friendly staff, as well as our clean and spacious accommodations during your visit. Please plan to visit us again for another family trip or an upcoming OSU football game. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We usually stay in pretty high end hotels but we wanted to be really close to the house of some friends we were visiting and opted for this hotel. We were pleasantly surprised!! We've never stayed at Springhill properties before but I would return to this one and consider others if I had too.

We liked the layout of the room with the separate water closet and separate shower room and sink. The room was really modern even though the sofa was sort of low end looking it provided plenty of comfort and room for us to relax. I sat at the desk a lot while we were there and it was well appointed and laid out. The bed and pillows were just AWFUL!!! We were there for 4 nights and every morning we woke up saying we had slept horribly and that the bed was like a bumpy rack and pillows just flattened the minute your head hit them! But other than that the accommodations were good.

My partner ate in the breakfast area (I did not). He said it was decent but the food didn't look anything like the pictures that were in the elevators or in the pictures we saw online. But he enjoyed getting up and reading the paper and sat there for 90 minutes or so each morning having his coffee. So not a big deal overall. There was a Bob Evans right next door so I always wanted to eat there!

The staff was really nice and always were around to help if we needed anything. I requested extra towels a couple of times during our stay and they brought them up very quickly each time I asked for them.

Overall I would stay there again but we would hope the beds would be more comfortable than the king sized bed we were in during this stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the railroad tracks! We were right along the tracks and heard the rumbl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
scottyhouston,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. I’m pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations with our spacious accommodations and friendly staff. We appreciate your feedback on opportunities for improvement and apologize for the areas that we fell short of meeting your expectations. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Address: 1421 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43212
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Columbus
#29 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU hotel is an all-suite hotel ideally located less than a mile to The Ohio State University Football Stadium, Campus & Ohio State Medical Center and Lennox Town Center on Olentangy River Rd. Just 3 minutes to Downtown Columbus, German Village and Short North area with attractions, dining and shopping. These contemporary hotel suites feature separate living and sleeping areas with microwave and mini-fridge as well as free WiFi. Hotel Amenities include Free WiFi, Cocktail Bar, Fireside Patio, Large Fitness Center, Indoor Pool. A free hot breakfast buffet is included with your rate at this Columbus Ohio hotel. Ask us about our free transportation within a 3 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbus Osu Hotel Columbus
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.