We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can walk to stadium on Game Day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1421 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #24 of 141 hotels in Columbus
Monroe, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Can walk to stadium on Game Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Clean efficient hotel with very helpful staff. Originally picked hotel becasue of proximity to OSU campus but return with every visit since the the rooms are new, clean and quiet and staff is very pleasant. Only had a parking issue on "move in" weekend since many other guests took up more than one space due to trailers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Lisa R,
We're glad to hear from you, and we hope all is well. We try our best to provide personal care with genuine concern for our guests, so I'm very glad to hear that our staff was so generous with their time and assistance. It is quite unfortunate for you to fall ill while out of town, so I hope you're feeling better and have recovered fully. We're glad your company chooses SpringHill Suites, and we hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us again. Best wishes.
Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    62
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
52
23
3
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is nice Springhill that is just off OSU campus and is very close to downtown Columbus. There is a dent amount of food selections in the general area for you dinner plans. This location does have beer and wine available of an evening. The lobby is a step up with more of a feel of that of a Courtyard. The only issue that I had with this location was staying on the backside of the hotel as there is a train track on the backside. I did hear the train come by. I am not sure if staying on the front side would help with the noise of the train or not. The train noise wasn't too bad as it didn't make me want to change rooms and probably wouldn't keep me from staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
regionaltraveler,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you stayed with us at SpringHill Suites! I'm glad you liked our property, and I hope you enjoyed your visit to Columbus. Please plan to visit us again. We look forward to it.
Sincerely,
Al Schreiber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Convenient to OSU, Medical Centers. Nice alternative to downtown hotels, at an affordable rate. Nice modern rooms, well appointed, clean and comfortable. Some hallway noise was evident due to slamming doors. On site bar, but it closes at 11pm on weekends, which is inconvenient since there are no options within walking distance. Staff was friendly and helpful with local info.

Room Tip: Not the rear facing rooms as there is an active railroad just beyond the rear parking lot. Front fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
chriscpd98,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you staying with us at SpringHill Suites, and we're glad you enjoyed your visit. I'm glad you liked our hotel, location, and especially affordable rates. Please join us again the next time your travels bring you to Columbus.
Sincerely,
Al Schreiber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I'm a frequent traveler and stay at a lot of Marriott hotels. This is a nice one. I was there on a trip where I coupled business and a college sports activity and the management was very nice as was the hotel. The staff are extremely nice, nice lobby/bar, good workout room/equipment, and the rooms are nice. The hotel is kinda new (2011), which i know because the General Manager visited with me and others in my group. I was able to have some business meetings in the lobby too. Just an overall nice choice!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dan1718,
Thank you for staying with us at SpringHill Suites and writing a review about your visit. It was a pleasure meeting with you and your associates. I'm glad you liked our hotel and enjoyed our wonderful staff. Please plan to stop and visit us again the next time you're in Columbus. Safe travels.
Sincerely,
Al Schreiber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Pros:

Very clean and modern looking hotel. Rooms are very stylish and comfortable.
Desk staff and bar staff are very friendly and keep me coming back.
Building is led certified and environmentally conscious.

Cons:

Price point is a little high.
Not a ton of restaurant options within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Gooch146,
Thank you for being our guest at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. We're glad you liked our hotel, and we're glad you were well received by our desk and bar staff. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Columbus as well. Please visit us again.
Sincerely,
Al Schreiber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a great value for the location, with a free continental breakfast (sparse) and free internet. The rooms are comfortable and modern. There is also a small fitness room and a full service bar off the lobby. If you are in town and looking for a comfortable place to stay for less than $100 a night then you will be in the right place. Olentangy road is a busy road next to the hotel and the rail road tracks run behind the property. No problem if you sleep well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the railroad tracks, the trains run through but are not noisey enough to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Jollymansing,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at SpringHill Suites. I'm glad you found us to be a great value in the Columbus area. We hope you'll return for another exceptional stay.
Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this location four different times. The lobby is very open and there are lots of sesting areas, including a full service bar for those who want a cocktail after a long work day. The free breakfast includes hot cereal and two different hot dishes along with the usual cold items. I have stayed in the double queen suite and the king suite. Both are set up identically as far as the sofa, mini fridge, microwave and desk areas are arranged but the bedroom areas are quite different. The queen suite has 2 beds with a walk-in closet and full bath where the king suite has a king size bed with a free-standing chifferobe and the bathroom has a walk in shower and no tub.
The staff at the front desk are always pleadant and acknowledge you whether you are leaving for the day or returning for the evening.
I never use the housekepping services when I travel so I cannot comment on this area other than the rooms are clean at check-in.
Enjoy your stay...there are a few restaraunts and shopping within walking distance if you need a walk!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
CinCin2Go,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us at SpringHill Suites. We appreciate your continued business, and we're pleased to know that you enjoy staying at our hotel. I'm glad you like our comfortable, spacious suites, delicious breakfast, and wonderful staff. We hope you'll continue to stay with us when visiting Columbus. Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Address: 1421 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Columbus
#30 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU hotel is an all-suite hotel ideally located less than a mile to The Ohio State University Football Stadium, Campus & Ohio State Medical Center and Lennox Town Center on Olentangy River Rd. Just 3 minutes to Downtown Columbus, German Village and Short North area with attractions, dining and shopping. These contemporary hotel suites feature separate living and sleeping areas with microwave and mini-fridge as well as free WiFi. Hotel Amenities include Free WiFi, Cocktail Bar, Fireside Patio, Large Fitness Center, Indoor Pool. A free hot breakfast buffet is included with your rate at this Columbus Ohio hotel. Ask us about our free transportation within a 3 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbus Osu Hotel Columbus
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.