We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient to OSU and downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1421 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #23 of 140 hotels in Columbus
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very convenient to OSU and downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Convenient to OSU, Medical Centers. Nice alternative to downtown hotels, at an affordable rate. Nice modern rooms, well appointed, clean and comfortable. Some hallway noise was evident due to slamming doors. On site bar, but it closes at 11pm on weekends, which is inconvenient since there are no options within walking distance. Staff was friendly and helpful with local info.

Room Tip: Not the rear facing rooms as there is an active railroad just beyond the rear parking lot. Front fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
chriscpd98,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you staying with us at SpringHill Suites, and we're glad you enjoyed your visit. I'm glad you liked our hotel, location, and especially affordable rates. Please join us again the next time your travels bring you to Columbus.
Sincerely,
Al Schreiber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    58
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
50
22
3
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I'm a frequent traveler and stay at a lot of Marriott hotels. This is a nice one. I was there on a trip where I coupled business and a college sports activity and the management was very nice as was the hotel. The staff are extremely nice, nice lobby/bar, good workout room/equipment, and the rooms are nice. The hotel is kinda new (2011), which i know because the General Manager visited with me and others in my group. I was able to have some business meetings in the lobby too. Just an overall nice choice!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dan1718,
Thank you for staying with us at SpringHill Suites and writing a review about your visit. It was a pleasure meeting with you and your associates. I'm glad you liked our hotel and enjoyed our wonderful staff. Please plan to stop and visit us again the next time you're in Columbus. Safe travels.
Sincerely,
Al Schreiber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Pros:

Very clean and modern looking hotel. Rooms are very stylish and comfortable.
Desk staff and bar staff are very friendly and keep me coming back.
Building is led certified and environmentally conscious.

Cons:

Price point is a little high.
Not a ton of restaurant options within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Gooch146,
Thank you for being our guest at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. We're glad you liked our hotel, and we're glad you were well received by our desk and bar staff. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Columbus as well. Please visit us again.
Sincerely,
Al Schreiber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a great value for the location, with a free continental breakfast (sparse) and free internet. The rooms are comfortable and modern. There is also a small fitness room and a full service bar off the lobby. If you are in town and looking for a comfortable place to stay for less than $100 a night then you will be in the right place. Olentangy road is a busy road next to the hotel and the rail road tracks run behind the property. No problem if you sleep well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the railroad tracks, the trains run through but are not noisey enough to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Jollymansing,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at SpringHill Suites. I'm glad you found us to be a great value in the Columbus area. We hope you'll return for another exceptional stay.
Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this location four different times. The lobby is very open and there are lots of sesting areas, including a full service bar for those who want a cocktail after a long work day. The free breakfast includes hot cereal and two different hot dishes along with the usual cold items. I have stayed in the double queen suite and the king suite. Both are set up identically as far as the sofa, mini fridge, microwave and desk areas are arranged but the bedroom areas are quite different. The queen suite has 2 beds with a walk-in closet and full bath where the king suite has a king size bed with a free-standing chifferobe and the bathroom has a walk in shower and no tub.
The staff at the front desk are always pleadant and acknowledge you whether you are leaving for the day or returning for the evening.
I never use the housekepping services when I travel so I cannot comment on this area other than the rooms are clean at check-in.
Enjoy your stay...there are a few restaraunts and shopping within walking distance if you need a walk!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
CinCin2Go,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us at SpringHill Suites. We appreciate your continued business, and we're pleased to know that you enjoy staying at our hotel. I'm glad you like our comfortable, spacious suites, delicious breakfast, and wonderful staff. We hope you'll continue to stay with us when visiting Columbus. Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLMSTED FALLS
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

For the price, I doubt you could beat this hotel. The lobby is very nice, and the rooms are even nicer.Very modern, and well laid out, this property exceeded pretty much all of my expectations.
The free breakfast was a bit lacking (They don't use real eggs), but other than that, no complaints. I would definitely like to stay here again.

Room Tip: This may seem silly, but the hotel has the smoothest operating elevators I've ever been in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
KEN K,
It's great to hear from you. We appreciate your kind review, and we're glad you enjoyed your visit with us at SpringHill Suites OSU. I'm glad you liked our clean, comfortable rooms and found our hotel of good value. Please come and visit us again soon. We enjoyed having you as our guest.
Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here for the Michigan weekend and my husband was also there for the Purdue weekend. Obviously, football weekends they are completely full and very busy. They are located across the river near the Medical Center and a very easy walk to campus.

It is located by the Budget Car Rental, Target and the Columbus Fish Market (EXCELLENT), plus numerous other eating establishments. Very close to South Campus.

There is a bar in the lobby, even welcome signs for the opponents. The hotel staff and service was wonderful and very accommodating. A Front Desk employee noticed that my husband and friends were waiting a bit long for a cab to the airport and got right on the phone to find out where it was for them. Over and above what you'd expect, little things mean a lot!

The rooms are quite spacious, although the only design "flaw" is the door for the toilet room is frosted glass and the light can be seen through.

We will definitely be staying here again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
ashail,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at SpringHill Suites. We're pleased to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your visit with us, especially on such important football weekends! I'm glad you felt well accommodated and liked our friendly, helpful staff. We appreciate your high recommendation and hope you'll come and visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Address: 1421 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Columbus
#27 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU hotel is an all-suite hotel ideally located less than a mile to The Ohio State University Football Stadium, Campus & Ohio State Medical Center and Lennox Town Center on Olentangy River Rd. Just 3 minutes to Downtown Columbus, German Village and Short North area with attractions, dining and shopping. These contemporary hotel suites feature separate living and sleeping areas with microwave and mini-fridge as well as free WiFi. Hotel Amenities include Free WiFi, Cocktail Bar, Fireside Patio, Large Fitness Center, Indoor Pool. A free hot breakfast buffet is included with your rate at this Columbus Ohio hotel. Ask us about our free transportation within a 3 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbus Osu Hotel Columbus
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.