We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great OSU location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1421 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #26 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great OSU location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel that is located near campus and local restaurants and shops look no further. This hotel is very clean and comfortable. The suites are nicely appointed and have everything you need for a short or long stay. The staff is very friendly and take care of your every need. Very nice fitness room with everything you need from machines to free weights. The breakfast is friendly for just about everyone as they have a large selection that contains alot of healthy choices. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
cweld5,
Thank you for writing a review and letting us know of your pleasant stay with us. We're glad you liked our hotel and found our staff friendly and helpful. Please make plans to visit us again. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    71
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
57
29
3
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend to visit family. The location was clean and very near OSU campus. Wifi signal was excellent. Breakfast had decent variety. Our daughter had left her bear in the sheets that were taken to the laundry. The staff looked for it and unfortunately couldn't find it before we left. However, they called a few days later when they found it and offered to ship it to us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
merf05,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your stay with us at SpringHill Suites OSU. We're glad you chose to stay with us while visiting family, and we're pleased you and your family had a nice visit. I'm glad we found the bear and safely returned him to its owner! He must have wanted to stay a little longer and enjoy our hotel as well. Please visit us again. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Springhill Suites met my expectations in terms of cleanliness and comfort but there were two major drawbacks. First, we chose this place because there was an indoor pool and my children wanted to swim. That evening we were told the pool was broken but would reopen the next morning. No such luck, so no swimming on this trip. The second issue was the layout of the room. The tub/shower is separate from the toilet, which is fine, but there was absolutely no privacy. When someone was in the restroom, you could not only hear everything, but see them through the frosted, sliding (no lock) door. This would be awkward for a romantic getaway.

The breakfast provided variety and was free, so this helped the rating! Also, the location was very convenient for visiting OSU campus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Highexpectation,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your stay with us at SpringHill Suites. I'm glad you liked our hotel and found our location convenient for your visit to OSU. Please accept my warmest apology for our pool being temporarily out of commission during your visit. I can just imagine how disappointed the kids must have been, and I can only hope that their other adventures with you made up for the lost time in the pool. We hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us the next time you're in Columbus. The pool will be open!
Sincerely,
Al Schreiber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night while visiting family, including our niece and nephew who are attending OSU. The hotel is new and clean. Only drawback is that the doors to the bathroom and shower in the room do not block light at night. A bit disruptive in the middle of the night to have the whole room illuminated. Pretty decent freebie breakfast in the am. Nice firepit outside for enjoying a cocktail. Fantastic location for visiting OSU!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
olgabs,

Thank you for writing a review and letting us know of your great visit with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. We're glad you chose to stay with us and enjoyed your visit. I apologize for the lighting you mentioned. This is designed for safety but I understand your comments. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast as well as the outdoor fire pit. I hope you were able to enjoy your family as well as relax and enjoy our great town. Please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

A very nice hotel, lots of space, excellent service, very clean room and bathroom, excellent workspace in my room, great wifi and wired Internet service... Overall a truly excellent hotel, would highly recommend it to anyone who needs to stay near the Ohio State campus

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
v-rage,
We're very pleased to hear from you and learn of your pleasant stay with us. I'm glad you liked our hotel and found our service excellent. I hope you had time to visit our great city of Columbus and enjoy all that it has to offer. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, MI
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here last month and are still upset about the visit. This does not seem to be in the best part of town and security here did not seem up to par. It is located near a large public university and the neighborhoods nearby are filled with varying degrees of students, singles, homeless, and run down townhomes.

As stated by others on here, no ID was required when asking for a duplicate room key. I was simply asked my name and immediately given a key to my room. After that incident, decided to leave a few items of clothing and an old watch I had in my car in the room when I checked out, to see if we would be contacted about our possessions... and to date, no one has ever called, so the housekeepers must have stolen them (or thrown them in the garbage).

Also, we were overcharged for our stay with added fees. Noticed this on my credit card statement a week later and had to call in. They would have kept the extra money if I had not called. Not a very cool way to run a business, when you try to thieve from the guests.

On the plus side, the room was very clean and well lit, although the bathroom was broken up in to two separate rooms which made it awkward to shower and have to use the toilet. I do not understand this other than maybe space, as the room was small, but well appointed. Hall noise was very audible as well, but luckily it did not seem overly occupied. And the breakfast buffet was decent, although it would have been nice if there was an attendant available when items ran out.

Not the best place I have ever been, and definitely not the worst. This location appears to be a balance between very clean, and unsafe.

Room Tip: Do not leave any items behind, they will be lost forever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
MGoBlueBoy,

Thank you for your review. We value your business and appreciate you choosing to stay with us at SpringHill Suites. I'm glad you found your suite to be clean and well appointed. It is our policy to ask our guests for proper identification when issuing a duplicate key. It is also our policy to issue credit when credit is due. Our guests have the responsibility to review their bills while onsite and work with our staff to make any necessary corrections needed. I'm glad to hear that your situation was properly taken care of as I assure you no mistakes in billing are ever intentional. We are located in a safe community surrounded by a very active university setting. We are a clean and safe hotel. If your travels bring you back to the Columbus area, we hope you will consider another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were in town for an Ohio State Football game (as were all guests is seemed:) My husband and I are OSU alumni and we brought our kids to their first game. 15 minute walk to stadium, super clean, convenient shuttle to nearby shops and restaurants, wendys, bob evens and tim hortons all right next door, SUPER friendly staff and bar in the lobby....what more can I say?! In addition to the game, this was a chance for my husband to visit us. He is ii the Marine Corps and away at school for a year. My only complaint is that he arrived late at night so I left him a key at the front desk. When he picked it up, they did not ask to see his ID. I would have preferred they had. Minor issue.........I HIGHLY suggest this hotel if you want to be near campus for game day or any other reason.

Room Tip: avoid the first floor on a game weekend...lobby can get loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Kkgump,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us at SpringHill Suites. We’re glad you and your family stayed with us while attending the OSU game, and pleased you enjoyed your visit. I’m glad you liked our SUPER friendly staff as well. I apologize for the ID check. It is our policy to ALWAYS check ID so I will make sure to reinforce our policies with the team. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Go Bucks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Address: 1421 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43212
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Columbus
#29 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU hotel is an all-suite hotel ideally located less than a mile to The Ohio State University Football Stadium, Campus & Ohio State Medical Center and Lennox Town Center on Olentangy River Rd. Just 3 minutes to Downtown Columbus, German Village and Short North area with attractions, dining and shopping. These contemporary hotel suites feature separate living and sleeping areas with microwave and mini-fridge as well as free WiFi. Hotel Amenities include Free WiFi, Cocktail Bar, Fireside Patio, Large Fitness Center, Indoor Pool. A free hot breakfast buffet is included with your rate at this Columbus Ohio hotel. Ask us about our free transportation within a 3 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbus Osu Hotel Columbus
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.