We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a power outage” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8670 Orion Place, Columbus, OH 43240   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #22 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
624 reviews 624 reviews
211 hotel reviews
Reviews in 220 cities Reviews in 220 cities
369 helpful votes 369 helpful votes
“More than just a power outage”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Arrived at 8pm after a long day of driving in thunderstorms, to find this hotel open for business. At the front desk, we were informed that there was a power failure and thus no power in the rooms. We decided to stay since it was still light out and did not want to travel more to find a hotel in an area with power. We were informed that the hotel had a generator but it only provided power to the front desk, elevator, hallways, and door locks - in essence the minimum to actually sell rooms. They did not even consider one emergency outlet in each room to charge cell phones or run an alarm clock or one lamp. We were told this, but we were not told that there was no hot water which came as a big surprise.

The rooms were actually very nice and ultra modern and spacious. Under other circumstances, I am sure we would have loved them. As it was, we did not get a good nite's rest due to the heat and lack of AC. They told us breakfast started at 7:00 am (which was one hour later than everywhere else we stayed that week) but there was no breakfast. Despite the fact the office had power, there was no fresh coffee either in the evening or AM. The breakfast room ceiling had caved in from the rain (water damage) and was dripping in buckets so it was closed. Obviously, poor construction.

While none of this is the managements fault, what is their fault is how they handled their customers. All of us were treated with a "take it or leave" attitude. No offer of a price reduction or even extra Priority Points was made. They say that the mark of a truly great company is not just how they handle people every day, but how they handle their customer under adverse conditions and this place failed miserably. They appear to be more concerned with making money no matter what happens to the customer. Despite the fact that this was a nice place, we left with a bitter taste about its owners and will definitely not return. We only wished we continued driving on instead of staying.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear drichrx,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback during your stay. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received under this unfortunate circumstance. I have taken note of your valuable comments regarding our staff's attitude. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Irish V
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    52
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
97
23
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We chose the Holiday Inn Express & Suites at Polaris because of the pool. It was great for the kids and wasn't too crowded when we were there (July 3-5). My only complaint is that I thought the floors around the pool and the pool itself were way too SLIPPERY. When I went to step down into the pool, I started to slip while holding my 1 year old daughter. There is no handrail and you immediately have a slope down when you step in the pool.

The room was nice and large. Very clean, we had no issues with the rooms other than you can hear the doors slam and people talking as they walk by.

The breakfast buffet was ok. We only ate there one of the two mornings because it wasn't that good.The eggs were not good and there was no fresh fruit. I would have like to see some apples, bananas or something. Mylene (sp?) who was working the morning we had breakfast, was wonderful. She was very helpful and very apologetic for the broken juice machine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great place to stay ... nice, clean rooms (including bathroom) ... friendly employees ... pretty cool pool area too (kids love it!) Nice to see local scenes in the artwork in rooms and around the hotel. Hot breakfast was included ... good variety. Variety of places to eat and shop close by. Easy on-off at the highway. Parking lot very well lit at night. Quick and easy route to The Columbus Zoo & Aquarium. We were there during the storms that hit the Columbus area, knocking out power to almost the entire area ... so we actually "camped" at the Holiday Inn Express on Friday night. We still had running water and a comfortable bed to sleep in, so no complaints about the hotel. Although there was a very rude couple in the room next door who "made noise" a couple of times during the night knowing that everyone could hear because there was absolutely no noise (no a/c, no tv, etc) because there was no electric. Even when we banged on the wall they wouldn't stop ... I even yelled that we had a child in our room. In the morning the front desk said we could've stopped down to complain and they would've handled the situation (nice to know!) The employees in the morning were still friendly and helpful ... and although we couldn't eat a hot breakfast, we were offered muffins. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington, ky
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We booked this hotel for a quick family/business trip to Columbus. We were very pleased with the location - close to Columbus and attractions but in an area that has everything you need.
The waterpark area was GREAT! We have a five year old and infant twins. The babies loved splashing in the water and our oldest played for hours. Disappointed that the big slide was only opened on the weekends, but understand that it is for safety reasons.
The room was nicely decorated and very clean. We requested two cribs and had to remind them upon arrival, but received them very promptly. The room was a little cramped with two cribs, but that is our fault for not getting a larger room!
The breakfast was very good and the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: We were right next to the elevators and didn't notice any extra noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Austin, the manager, goes out of his way to accommodate you. Secondly the pool area consisted of a waterside, splash mushroom, lap pool area, and large hottub. As a platnum member of the holliday inn this was the best stay I've had!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is a brand new hotel in a great location near the Polaris Shopping Center. Unfortunately, design flaws keep it from being a great hotel.

When I made my reservation, I requested a quiet room; that couldn’t happen. The doors in this hotel are so noisy, every time a guest leaves their room, the door slams behind them and it is heard and felt from 3-4 rooms away. Quiet is dependent on when the last guest near you goes to their room for the night or gets up in the morning.

The bathrooms have no extra towel bars to hang your towel and reuse it. The shower heads are placed so high that the new cone-shaped shower head has a large “dead” spot in the center when the water runs. The water temperature in the bathroom is not hot enough.

The breakfast area looks sleek and new, but has limited counter space for food and the lay-out of food is extremely awkward. At breakfast this morning, the muffins were stale, the hard boiled eggs rubbery, and the bananas over ripe and speckled brown.

Check-in was fast and efficient, but I was not recognized as a priority member, and I had to ask about m\the availability of member amenities.

I don’t know if I’d stay here again.

Room Tip: None are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear ohioteacher,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Member and writing a review about your recent stay with us. We are glad you had a fast and efficient check-in. I am really sorry for any inconvenience the low water temperature in the bathroom and the level of noise created by some of the other guests caused you during your stay. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed for one night while on a business trip in Colcumbus. The hotel is spotless and the front staff was very friendly. The check in went smoothlessly and was a pleasant experience after a long day. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. The bahroom had a large wlak in shower and was also clean and welll stocked. The room had a large flat screen TV with a decent selection of HD channels. There was an I-Pod docking station as well. The air conditoning worked well without being too noisy. I didnt use the pool so I can't say if it is good or bad. The breakfast was plentiful and well presneted. The hotel is in a good location close to shopping and restuarants. Overall this was a great stay It had what I consider to be important: clean rooms, friendly staff, good TV and internet reception. I will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkinnear, Management Company Representative at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Charlie3446,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus/Polaris! We appreciate your comments and look forward to having you as our guest again!

Best Regards,
Betsy Kinnear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway

Address: 8670 Orion Place, Columbus, OH 43240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Columbus
#23 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway Hotel Columbus
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.