We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hometown favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dirty Frank's Hot Dog Palace

Dirty Frank's Hot Dog Palace
248 South 4th Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 1,972 Restaurants in Columbus
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: It's listed on Google Maps.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“hometown favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I'm torn between wanting visitors to love Columbus and not wanting longer waits at Dirty Franks. Dirty Franks is a great representative of our quirky little midwestern city. The food is not mindblowing--hot dogs with lots of different toppings--but it's tasty and a great deal of fun. Lots of great choices, including vegetarian, vegan, and gluten-free options. there are so many good combinations on the menu it's difficult to choose, the service is friendly, and the beer list is well-chosen. For a really fun night in Columbus, get your dogs here and stop by 16-bit next door for some retro gaming.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    38
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Did not live up to the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Dined here Sunday night with friends. The restaurant is super small and crowded. The menus look like they have been through a war. The tables were not very clean. Our waiter, who was also the bartender, was surly (and that is being nice.) The restaurant has the atmosphere of a run down sports bar, and yet, although the World Cup pregame was on their TV's when we entered, they changed it to the local news just when the USA v Portugal game was to begin. At the table next to us was a screaming child that no one at the table made any attempt to quiet, and sure enough, the brat got other children in the place making noise as well. As for the food? It was adequate. The hot dogs are fine, but nothing you can't get at any good Coney place. The toppings seem unlimited, until you realize that the various listings are simply different combinations of the same 24 ingredients. The tater tots were fine, but the french fries were WAY too salty and the onion rings were WAY too greasy. The mac n' cheese was nothing to write home about. And the vegan brownies are very tasty, I think, but I'm not sure considering how incredibly small they are. A bite and a half, seriously.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“My Favorite Guilty Pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have been a fan of Dirty Franks for many years and have had dogs at both of their locations. I just took my nephew last week and he loved the place so much that he was asking to come back the next week before we left the place. I try to have something different every time I am there but I love the Ohioana dog, Seoul dog and Fire on The Rhine. I love all the spicy toppings. I also love the slushies with hot sauce. I love that they make something so simple as a hotdog, fun and fancy. These dogs are also just really good. A place that takes one of my favorite past times of hot dogs and tater-tots and dresses it all up to feel more adult, is alright with me. It is also a cheap meal. The ambiance is laid back yet colorful. It is pretty much a bar atmosphere but children are welcomed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hot dogs, would recommend to others!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I am very grateful that this restaurant exists - I was at a conference a few blocks away and most of the other dining options in the area close early or over-charge you. Dirty Frank's is different - the staff was very friendly and helpful, the food was delicious, and it was great value for the price. I liked it so much that I went back twice! I would highly recommend this place if you like hot dogs or are in the area and want evidence that not all of downtown Columbus closes at 6 pm.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stupid good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Well I'm glad I don't love closer to this establishment as I'm sure if be grossly over-weight. I had the "puff the magic popper" and it was phenomenal. Jalapeños were fresh and crisp. The cheese fries were mouthwatering, made from fresh cut fries. Great decor, great staff. Will definitely stop by next time we're in Columbus!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dirty Frank's Hot Dog Palace also viewed

 

Been to Dirty Frank's Hot Dog Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dirty Frank's Hot Dog Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.