We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel that is perfectly bland” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   795 Yard Street, Columbus, OH 43212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #16 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New hotel that is perfectly bland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Sitting in a new property development the Hyatt Place is underwhelming from the first moment.
I was greeted by a front desk person who was busy and attended to me with a sigh. When she discovered that I had booked third party, Priceline, she almost laughed at me. I asked about certain questionable amenities, she replied, "You get what you get when you book third party."

The decor of this chain hotel is muted browns and beiges. Nothing to spark or tickle or thrill. The rooms are nice and spacious, towels Hyatt quality and thick. The bed was awesome comfortable. The only bad thing in the room was lighting. Tooo bright and no way to really tone it down to relax. My toilet seat was broken.

The complimentary Wi-Fi was awful. In and out the whole stay The network filter was set so high that I felt like I had turned into a societal menace since so many of my sites were blocked. When I tried to unblock through the system network help desk the response was that it would take 3-4 business days to get an answer. OMG!

The location is fantastic if you are working in the city and the parking is plentiful, sheltered and free. Fantastic.

The breakfast was served from 6:30 to 9 a.m. I went at 8:30. The skillet food, english muffin with egg and cheese was dried out and very unappealing. The set up in the room has the cups and plates in insets above the food, confusing before the first cup of coffee. The food for sale was outrageous.....a cesar salad for $10

Unwelcoming front desk arrival, weak wi-fi, broken toilet seat and unappealing breakfast wrapped in muted brown and beige. What a disappointment even for someone poor bloke like me who booked it on Priceline.

Room Tip: try to get a room that is not facing the ongoing construction project next to the hotel I was on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your experience regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you during your next trip to Columbus.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    45
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
50
23
4
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed two nights in this Hyatt Place, that although in an uninteresting neighbourhood is well situated for the city centre and also the ring road.

Our first room was so small that there was nowhere to put our cases as the floor space was so limited. I was really surprised as previous Hyatt Places have had spacious rooms and this room would have been hopeless for a family. I enquired the next day whether our room was especially small and the receptionist said she wasn't aware of this but would be happy to move our belongings to another room if we preferred. She consulted with a colleague who confirmed 'yes, the room is smaller as it is at the end of the corridor. It is one of our studio rooms' (these cost same as full size suite). The offer to help us relocate evaporated and we were told to move ourselves as quickly as possible to another room before new guests arrived.

Our new room was the usual spacious pleasant suite we have come to expect at a Hyatt Place . However we would probably have been better off if we stayed put. The room was hot (heat wave in Ohio) so we had to have air conditioning on when we went to bed. I was sleeping a foot away from the air conditioner (why no integrated air conditioning in a recently constructed building?) that was very noisy and turned itself on and off at regular intervals . Every time it re-started it woke me up...

In some ways breakfast choice was better than average although non meat eaters were not adequately catered for. The skillet food was stone cold.

I am surprised that Hyatt Place provides 'studios' without warning customers - and charging the same.price. Surely they must realise that this is defacing their own brand.

Room Tip: Avoid 'studio' rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel was impressive from the moment we arrived. It looked brand new, with an inviting entrance and friendly staff. Our room was larger than expected with 2 Queens and a sectional sofa-sleeper that you could walk around when open. The complimentary breakfast was great, lots of fresh fruit and Starbucks coffee. They also have a snack bar area featuring Columbus-famous Jeni's ice cream. Don't miss this deliciousness! The pool had folding doors that opened onto a nice courtyard, so we could sit outside while the kids swam and still keep an eye on them. Highly recommended and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Staff was super nice. Even gave us an apple upon request when we checked in : ). So kind. Room was clean and comfortable. Has 6 floors. Nice view of the Columbus city skyline. Breakfast was the standard (very good, hot) Hyatt Place affair which is one of the reasons we selected the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 622 had nice view of Columbus skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your staying with us! We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room and breakfast. Thank you for your comments about our friendly staff, we take great pride in serving you! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Columbus.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Great and caring staff!

The hotel is located within many of the places we planned visiting on our recent trip.

It is a very comfortable hotel and we would recommend it to others, as well.

Delicious breakfast served each morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This was a great hotel. Convienent and safe location.The staff was friendly, the room was big and gorgeous, the full (included) breakfast was fantastic. I booked early and also got a great deal on the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Amy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are happy that you enjoy our hotel and breakfast selections. You also provided a great piece of advice, booking as early as possible will ensure that you get the best deal on your stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Columbus!

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlands california
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Our second stay at a Hyatt Place was a very pleasant experience. The good news is the friendly caring staff especially Maddie and Natalie who made our four-year old granddaughter feel right at home. This hotel is in an excellent location, has a bright and clean lobby with spacious well-appointed rooms including a small refrigerator. There is no microwave in the rooms, but a microwave is available in the common area. We stayed on the top floor and enjoyed a nice view of downtown Columbus. The indoor pool is especially nice and was very safe for our four year old granddaughter. The gym was a bit small but well-appointed and very clean. Free Wi-Fi is a definite plus. Jason’s Deli is within very easy walking distance (maybe 200 steps) and is an excellent family restaurant for soup, salad bar and sandwiches. Our “needs improvement” category at Hyatt Place is the breakfast. If you are a carnivore or want protein you won’t find bacon, sausage or any meat products other than a small bit of Canadian bacon on their breakfast sandwich. The one positive note on breakfast is the oatmeal serving area including an excellent array of oatmeal accoutrements. Construction Alert: There is a bit of construction noise from the adjoining construction area across the street although I would judge the noise as relatively minor. If you are sensitive to noise, I recommend you obtain a room facing the parking lot.

Room Tip: Construction Alert: There is a bit of construction noise from the adjoining construction area across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for returning to Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU and for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed our rooms and pool area. I am happy to tell you that we recently updated our breakfast sandwich selections! We are now offering a garden egg white sandwich that includes turkey sausage, it’s delicious. Be sure to try it on your next stay with us!

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Address: 795 Yard Street, Columbus, OH 43212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Columbus
#14 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Columbus/Osu Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;