We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   795 Yard Street, Columbus, OH 43212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #14 of 141 hotels in Columbus
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Terrific hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hyatt Place during an event organized at the Ohio State University. I stayed for 2 nights.

What struck me the most was how helpful and courteous the HP staff was. We had a relatively large group and were utilizing the HP shuttle service and all the staff were fantastic and very accommodating.

My room was very nice and far more spacious then I needed. It felt more like a suite than a hotel room. It was very clean, well maintained, and modern. I had absolutely no complaints about the room. Wifi access was unproblematic.

The breakfast in the morning was also very nice. It was a bit packed in the eating/lobby area in the morning one of the days but generally it was a good experience. There was a selection of hot food, cereal, breads/bagels, juice, coffee, and tea. It was well done, clean, and efficiently managed despite the volume of people.

Overall, I had an excellent experience at the Hyatt Place and would highly recommend it. I will note that OSU covered our accommodations so I actually have no idea how much it cost to stay there. Because of this, I am rating it excellent value, but obviously not everyone is so fortunate!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    40
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
21
4
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed for three nights on business and could not fault it. Very clean and well laid out. We had to go to meetings at Ohio State University and they provided the shuttle bus for us, no charge. Gym is small but it does the job and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they are very friendly and go out of their way to help you. Wifi was excellent, never had a problem getting connected anywhere. There is an excellent sports bar next door, Buckeye Hall of Fame Grill, one of the best sports bars I've ever been to in the USA. Apart from the sports bar there is nothing around the place such as shops etc etc but you are a 20 minute walk into town and there are plenty of decent bars and places to eat. It's an easy walk with a pavement, unusual for the USA.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for staying at the Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU. I agree the Buckeye Hall of Fame is one of the best sports bars around and only steps from the hotel. Hope to see you on your next trip to columbus.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Liverpool, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here May 2013. From check in to getting recommendations to the actual room, everything was great. Rooms was comfortable, spacious, with workcenter and comfy bed with extra pillows. Check in and out was easy and staff were very kind and helpful. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello,

Thanks for the great review. Let me know if there is anything we can ever do inorder to make your stay more comfortable.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i just flew in for the weekend to visit family near by and glad we were able to get a room at the last minute (poor planning on my part). The Hyatt Place team have helped us at every turn. I have to give them an extra big kudo for having Torrefazione (tori-fah-zee-oh-knee) coffee during breakfast; being from Seattle, coffee is king and Tori is our daily cup of choice at home. Thx Hyatt Place, we will be baaaack! Oh yes, next time I will plan ahead;)

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello,

Thanks for the great review. Look forward to talking with you on your next visit.

Best Regards.
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everything was perfect... first time I can really say this about a hotel stay. The staff was warm and welcoming, without appearing to be forced or fake. The hotel was spotless, our room was spotless. Not a stray hair to be found. Towels and sheets were stainfree and bright white. Carpet and furniture were fresh and looked clean. No funky odors. Even the bed spreads and throw pillows didn't creep me out! Plus I loved the view of the city from our room. I will be returning in October and I'm looking forward to staying here again. If it's as good the second time, I'll never stay anywhere but here when in Columbus. Very good experience that stands out in my memory!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for the great review. I’ll be sharing these comments to my staff during our daily meeting today. I look forward to talking with you on your next stay in October.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and had a great stay.

-Room was clean and comfortable with a king bed and pull out couch. Bathroom was large with a walk-in shower.
-Located right next to Buckeye Hall of fame Grill and a deli
-Indoor pool was warm and clean. It got a little crowded and loud as there were several girls basketball teams staying at the hotel.
-Plenty of parking in the parking garage right across from hotel.
-Breakfast was nonexistant from 9am on. No bagels, no breakfast sandwiches, only 1 type of cereal, no clean glasses, etc. It was very crowded and in the 10 minutes we were there, nothing was restocked. This isn't a deal breaker for us, as we don't eat a lot for breakfast, but if this is something you are depending on, keep this in mind.

The only negative I can give this hotel was for the breakfast. Everything else was fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello,

Thanks you for staying at the Hyatt Place Columbus OSU on your recent stay to Columbus. I’m glad that you enjoyed the entire great feature that the hotel has to offer. I’ll be addressing the issue that you saw during breakfast. If you notice anything like this while staying at The Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU ask for me and I will personal make sure the issue is resolved.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is a newer hotel. Everything is clean and updated. The staff is friendly. The rooms are large. We had 2 queen size beds (comfortable) with a large couchwith a pull out bed in a separated area. The vanity was large. It had a small refrigerator and coffee pot. There was a large flat screen tv in the room. Lots of plugs for all of your devices. The hotel has a small exercise room and a nice indoor pool. Also, had a patio off the pool that had sliding glass doors to open when the weather is warm.
The breakfast is included in your stay and they had a nice selection of food to choose from. Probably one of the better free breakfasts i have had when traveling. It is convenient to Easton mall about 10mins away driving. There is a Buckeye's right next door that had good food that wasn't overly expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello,

I’m glad that you enjoyed the Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU while staying in Columbus. It’s great that you noticed how many electric plugs are in the room because it’s a huge pet peeve of mine when hotels don’t have enough plugs for today electronics. Come back when the weather gets warm and you can see how great of an area the pool is when the glass doors are open to the outside pool patio.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Address: 795 Yard Street, Columbus, OH 43212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Columbus
#13 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Columbus/Osu Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.