We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   795 Yard Street, Columbus, OH 43212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #17 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Allen, TX
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

6 of us had 2 rooms for Arnold weekend. The hotel is very close to down town, and many area restaurants. Both rooms were very nice. The King bed plus pullout had a bit nicer bathroom than the room with 2 doubles and a pullout. The beds were comfortable as were the pullouts. Breakfast was good. Internet was plenty fast. They had a small business area to print boarding passes, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Will most likely stay again next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for choosing the Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU. I'm glad that you enjoyed the hotel. If there is anything that we can do next time to earn 5 stars please feel free to email me directly at mholtzleiter@columbushospitality.com or call my direct phone number at 614-569-2910.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    50
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
24
4
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I chose the hotel because most others were sold out or jacked the prices crazy high because of all the stuff going on at the convention center. It's a bit far off from everything but they do offer a free shuttle service.
I checked in late and was given a wheelchair accessible room and told there weren't any others which of course, had to be true given the craziness in town. The room is a bit too clinical for my tastes and I do prefer a tub as I am not in a wheelchair. I just hope nobody who actually needed that type of room checked in later than me. But otherwise, the room was adequately comfortable.
The fitness facility is ok and they have only one bench and no mats or ab stuff but if you wanna pay for a day pass you can always go to the gym located just steps away.
The food at the bar was good and everyone there was very helpful and friendly.
Just a few bumps that couldn't be avoided but my overall stay was very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello,

Thanks for your comments about your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU. It sounds like your stay was during the Arnold Sport Classics, which is one the busiest and exciting weekends in Columbus. On your next stay please feel free to utilize our complimentary shuttle. The hotel is only located 1.5 miles from downtown Columbus, 1.5 miles from The Ohio State University and 1 mile from Downtown Grandview Heights. Our shuttle cans usual get guests to the major attractions in Columbus is about 5-7 minutes. Thank you again for staying with us while in Columbus.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Would have gone to five stars but for two issues:

1. Greasy fingerprints on the bathroom door. Looked like someone had been eating french fries, then pushed the door open with their fingers.

2. Sofa cushions coming unstitched along the piping and generally worn-looking.

Other than that, this place is amazing. VERY clean (other than the extremely obvious fingerprints). Super-friendly staff. Great breakfast, comfortable lobby, handy shuttle (free - but be sure to tip your driver!). Bed was comfortable with lots of pillows. Loved the separate sitting area, plus the desk area with the mini-fridge!

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for choosing the Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU. I glad that the staff, complimentary breakfast, and shuttle made it a great stay. I've address the issue that you noticed with the room and I'm extremely confident that you will be able to rate the hotel a 5 out of 5 on your next trip to Columbus.

Please feel free to contact me at 614-569-2910 if there is anything I can do.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent five days here and found that it was one of the nicest, cleanest hotels we have stayed with in a very long time. The public bathrooms were always being scrubbed as were the common areas. The staff was always accomodating and friendly. All of them seemed to work very hard keeping the place top notch. Managers used brooms and mops, etc. Nice to see the combined effort from everyone. Great breakfast, with a newspaper. If you are staying in northwest Columbus, no need to look anywhere else. This place is the greatest and so close to everything. Closets were a little small for our 5 day stay but if you are here only 1-3, they are fine. (My wife brings way too many clothes, thus the problem)

Room Tip: All rooms are great but if you need more closet space, tell them and get the king rooms, they have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hello,

I'm glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU. My entire hospitality family looks forward to seeing you on your next trip into town.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Terrific, awesome, amazing, and oh my goodness.You will love this Hotel its amazing and so so quite. And in a great area.Its perfect.This place is so amazing I had to book another evening this place is wonderful.Staff here are great.And u can take a nice walk around its perfect.U must go and stay at this Hotel.U will fall in love.Come on u can do it.Try it out

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for the great review and I’m glad you loved the hotel and our service. I’ll be sure to share this with my staff. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Columbus.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, NY
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We visit Columbus a few times a year to visit our daughter and the Hyatt is our favorite hotel so far! New, clean, modern, and friendly! The room was spacious and attractive. We loved the L shaped couch and huge tv! Very good mattress and bedding. Beautiful walk-in shower. Decent breakfast, nice location, easy parking. A great value for what you get. You feel like you are in a much more expensive hotel! We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

I’m glad you enjoyed the hotel on your recent stay. I also love the “cozy corner” couch that is in every room. It really makes it nice to watch the 42 inch HD TV. We are in the process of making some improvement to the Breakfast so be on the lookout during your next stay with us.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I rate this hotel four dots because of its excellent value proposition in its category rating. It's clean, new and modern. Plenty of COVERED FREE parking!. Decent bedding and ample room space (with a sit down desk) even for a large family of five. Nice flat screens TV with plenty of channels and HDMI input (pack your Roku and HDMI cable). Breakfast is complete although basic and it's included in the room rate.

There are just a few things that needs attention to make this hotel perfect for its class category (five dots out of five). The hotel needs to improve the room's shower water pressure which is lacking (we stayed in the top floor). Management may want to add one more piece of cardio of equipment in the gym (it was fine during our stay but it could be a problem during busy times). Finally a note to the folk at Hyatt corporate - please consider changing the liquid soap that you provide at Hyatt Place (the ones now don't smell very good). although thanks for the tube of Aquafresh toothpaste (very nice). All in all a very good stay at Hyatt Place OSU Columbus.

This is a great place to stay if you are visiting Ohio State University, but you'll need to have your own transportation to move around and explore the town. There not much around so with out a car you will be stuck.

During our visit, we went to an OSU Basketball game; the opposing team stay at this hotel so looks like is popular with visiting team.

Room Tip: OSU fans will enjoy getting a bite to eat at the Buckeye theme restaurant (menu similar to Chili'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Columbus. You will be happy to know that we are in the process of changing out bathroom soap, shampoo, and conditioner to an updated product. This will be in the rooms starting in February 2013.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Address: 795 Yard Street, Columbus, OH 43212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Columbus
#15 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Columbus/Osu Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.